Grand Theft Auto 2 PlayStation

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 68
  2. Negative: 3 out of 68
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    eu amo esse jogo, foi o jogo que eu mais joguei no meu Playstation 1, lembro que passava horas jogando, os grafico pra mim era perfeito, ainda mais porque eu era criança na época, o mapa era grande, tinha muitas armas e carros, pelo oque eu me lembro nao tinha moto nesse jogo, dava para destruir tudo com o tanque, eu admito que eu nao zerei esse game, mais eu jogava demais, fazia muitoeu amo esse jogo, foi o jogo que eu mais joguei no meu Playstation 1, lembro que passava horas jogando, os grafico pra mim era perfeito, ainda mais porque eu era criança na época, o mapa era grande, tinha muitas armas e carros, pelo oque eu me lembro nao tinha moto nesse jogo, dava para destruir tudo com o tanque, eu admito que eu nao zerei esse game, mais eu jogava demais, fazia muito zueira, na minha opnião so perde pro GTA V como melhor game da franquia, mais claro é so a minha opnião. Nota 9.6 Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2016
    10
    one of the best Top down 2.5D Games ,
    great open world , sand box with rockstar games style
    freedom sandbox , with amazing story telling , Nice job DMA Design
  3. May 21, 2016
    4
    This game is not really good, this game is not really terrible, this game sucked, but not really . Graphics in this game is terrible, even for 1997 and in this game view from above and first really good game in GTA Series this is GTA III . Grand Theft Auto 2 even better than GTA, but not really and other videogame series promoted eg Sonic, Mario, Crash Bandicoot, Metal Gear and other .This game is not really good, this game is not really terrible, this game sucked, but not really . Graphics in this game is terrible, even for 1997 and in this game view from above and first really good game in GTA Series this is GTA III . Grand Theft Auto 2 even better than GTA, but not really and other videogame series promoted eg Sonic, Mario, Crash Bandicoot, Metal Gear and other . Grand Theft Auto sucked but not really because 4/10 . Expand
  4. May 25, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The second GTA game. GTA II is perhaps the most strangest GTA in all of the series. II is set "Anywhere, USA" and its a retrospective game it is really strange, so if all GTA games are connected then II most be the last one since it is set in the future or something. I think the game is really cool and this is also the first GTA to be written by Dan Houser and he wrote the rest of the GTA'S after this and RDR and Bully and Max Payne 3. But is the game better than GTA I no not really GTA I is slightly better but that doesn't mean GTA II is a bad game. Also everybody says that the main character from GTA III is the main character in II but how can he be still alive since II is set years and I mean years after GTA IV, so I don't think its the same Claude. To finish this review I give GTA II, 7/10. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    2
    GTA 2 is a sequel to the first GTA game and was made for the PS, Dreamcast and PC. There is not much to say about this game. It is just like the first game in which it has outdated 2D graphics. Seriously, all SNES games look just as good or better than this game. There is nothing too special about this game. If you're looking for a good GTA game, look for GTA IV because that's the onlyGTA 2 is a sequel to the first GTA game and was made for the PS, Dreamcast and PC. There is not much to say about this game. It is just like the first game in which it has outdated 2D graphics. Seriously, all SNES games look just as good or better than this game. There is nothing too special about this game. If you're looking for a good GTA game, look for GTA IV because that's the only good GTA game ever released. Collapse
  7. TomM.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    You cant give this anything but 10. You cant play the game for your first time in 2007, you have to have tried it when it came out... it was the best of the best, no one can say anything else! Very playable fun game, enough said. I would love to rate GTA I, 10 too, but it isnt registered here probably because metacritic wasnt online then.
  8. MeiLiC.
    Nov 16, 2003
    7
    This Gta 2 is like a classic game but I don't like this game.
  9. GTAguy
    Jan 15, 2003
    8
    Very good but needs a lot more depth.
  10. Sep 25, 2012
    0
    GTA 2 is a sequel to the first GTA game and was made for the PS, Dreamcast and PC. There is not much to say about this game. It is just like the first game in which it has outdated 2D graphics. Seriously, all SNES games look just as good or better than this game. There is nothing too special about this game. If you're looking for a good GTA game, look for GTA IV because that's the onlyGTA 2 is a sequel to the first GTA game and was made for the PS, Dreamcast and PC. There is not much to say about this game. It is just like the first game in which it has outdated 2D graphics. Seriously, all SNES games look just as good or better than this game. There is nothing too special about this game. If you're looking for a good GTA game, look for GTA IV because that's the only good GTA game ever released. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. One of the most controversial games for the Playstation has created a bigger, better, badder, and more f***ed up sequel.
  2. Don't expect a graphical treasure but the gameplay will take take some time to complete while raising a few smiles on the way.
  3. Bangin' drum and bass kicks out of the stolen sports cars super woofers as you prowl the streets for criminal action. Climb behind the furry wheel of a pick-up truck and it's good ole' hillbilly rock. This game knows how to use music and it shows it big time.