Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets PlayStation

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BOBS.
    Jun 4, 2003
    8
    Good, but had much more potential as a game.
  2. BrendanP.
    May 1, 2004
    5
    This is a good game but half the time you are waiting for it to load!!!! And you never get a chance to just wander aroungd Hogwarts!!! And the upgraded flipendo hardly makes any difference. I expected this game to be much better.
  3. KarlD.
    Jan 11, 2003
    9
    Great fun for the psone. This is a great game to play and it is better than the first one.
  4. uagugy
    Jan 15, 2003
    0
    Stupid boring rubbish.
  5. IanJ.
    Feb 7, 2003
    8
    A great game but there are some annoying setbacks which prevent it from getting a higher rating. (1) The instruction manual does not say how many points are needed to win the House Cup. Scoring 100% is not enough to win. In fact the manual is next to useless, walkthroughs on the net are much more informative. (2) Some of the secret passages I simply cannot find despite repeated attempts. A great game but there are some annoying setbacks which prevent it from getting a higher rating. (1) The instruction manual does not say how many points are needed to win the House Cup. Scoring 100% is not enough to win. In fact the manual is next to useless, walkthroughs on the net are much more informative. (2) Some of the secret passages I simply cannot find despite repeated attempts. (3) The House Cup updates points tallies three times. Once the third phase starts you can go back to the Common Room and enter the photo album but there is no chance to access those rooms where you still need to find your missing wizard and witches cards. (4) Often when hitting a touch pad or similar objects the program resumes with Harry facing a different direction. (5) EA Games give out no hints on the game - but charge outrageous phone bills to call them ! Expand
  6. JesseL.
    Apr 29, 2003
    9
    Haven't quite finished it yet but a really great game with the best PS1 graphics I've seen. Good job EA Games!
  7. Clarice
    May 3, 2003
    10
    I think this game was great. when your playing it is like your part of it. I only took me two days to beat.
  8. Evan
    Jul 1, 2003
    8
    I have always liked Harry potter I think the game is good though I think they could have added alittle more non-fiction stuff from the book.
  9. AliciaC.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    I have always loved harry potter and I have loved it's games but there was one set back it loads to much.
  10. DevinY.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    This game was very cool. It was much better then the 1st game. Evan though you have to wait through the loading parts Its worth it I think.
  11. VassilyS.
    May 30, 2003
    9
    I think it's great and all but it's a bit too short. I got the game yesterday and I've finished it except I still got to get one of the cards.
  12. Linda
    Jun 22, 2003
    3
    This has got to be the most mind bogglingly boring game I have ever had the displeasure of playing! Aside from the fact that every two minutes it is loading ,each time you "faint" you have to sit through all the narrative dribble that you have heard ten times already! Then when you are through with the dribble you are stuck playing some boring game before you can move ,then just as you This has got to be the most mind bogglingly boring game I have ever had the displeasure of playing! Aside from the fact that every two minutes it is loading ,each time you "faint" you have to sit through all the narrative dribble that you have heard ten times already! Then when you are through with the dribble you are stuck playing some boring game before you can move ,then just as you think you are free to wander & explore Hogwarts you get stuck with another boring task! My advice ,hire before you buy!!! Expand
  13. RoseS.
    Aug 23, 2003
    9
    I think that its great. Just a bit to slow so it lost one mark. Other than that its my favorite game.
  14. Jessica
    May 15, 2003
    9
    Very good.
  15. CoreyC.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    One of the best games ever and hopfuly make Prizoner of Azkaban even better.
  16. NathanW.
    Feb 21, 2004
    9
    This game was pretty good exept that it takes to long to load and this game was pretty easy but i can not seem to get enough house points to win the house cup.
  17. Sep 30, 2015
    8
    Well this game is only slightly different to its predecessor, except for the storyline of course. They just added some minor features which doesn't affect the game at all. For example players can achieve trophies now, compete in a wizard's duel against other students or replay chapters. The gameplay experience though stays the same, in fact it is the same game since the features which madeWell this game is only slightly different to its predecessor, except for the storyline of course. They just added some minor features which doesn't affect the game at all. For example players can achieve trophies now, compete in a wizard's duel against other students or replay chapters. The gameplay experience though stays the same, in fact it is the same game since the features which made its predecessor one of the most sold PSone games in history, are just recycled in a new enviroment. The game just feels like a remake and nothing more, but it is still a decent game. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Offers enough “Zelda”-type gameplay and production values to make it a PSOne standout.
  2. One of the best titles for the system and a fitting example of how to use a popular license to excellent effect.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    It does have one significant advantage over its big brother: It makes sense. [Jan 2003, p.140]