Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone PlayStation

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tgc
    Dec 29, 2015
    5
    Well it is pretty faithful adaptation of book, which is not very common in games based on books/movies of that era. Gameplay however is completely standard. Controls are horrible, I wish there was strafing and more fluent mouse handling. However minigames like chasing Malfoy and idea of many secret across castle was pretty fun.
  2. Dec 23, 2015
    10
    10 вольвендормртов из 10

    .................................................................................................................................
  3. Sep 30, 2015
    8
    A really solid game coming from EA and Warner Bros. Interactive, even though the game is based on a film which mostly are bad games. This game though has good ideas to keep it entertaining throughout the end, it is literally never the same and is so much fun to play. Players never have the feeling of doing repetitive things or getting bored early in the game. It still has some issuesA really solid game coming from EA and Warner Bros. Interactive, even though the game is based on a film which mostly are bad games. This game though has good ideas to keep it entertaining throughout the end, it is literally never the same and is so much fun to play. Players never have the feeling of doing repetitive things or getting bored early in the game. It still has some issues though, for example the mechanics are so bad even for a game which was released at the early 2000. The controls are very wonky such as the jump mechanics or the Flipendo spell and many many other things. If players get used to the unsteady controls and stupid mechanics then this game can surely be enjoyable to play. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    This game is good, which is surprising, but also beats its self over the head with a giant club with some very bad decisions. I'm currently playing the game on my Vita, nostalgia or something, and I say currently because the whole thing has crashed on me not letting me progress any further. But this is at the very end of the game so, I know ruffly how good it is. The game from the veryThis game is good, which is surprising, but also beats its self over the head with a giant club with some very bad decisions. I'm currently playing the game on my Vita, nostalgia or something, and I say currently because the whole thing has crashed on me not letting me progress any further. But this is at the very end of the game so, I know ruffly how good it is. The game from the very start screams, "You're a wizard harry!" which is great. Magic gives back great visual feedback. You can also explore the whole castle, which bares no resemblance of Hogwarts, and its grounds. Its all fun and games. There's even some cute villain creatures and just some cute creatures, all around the grounds. This would all equal a seven if this is exactly how it is. But unfortunately something holds it back, something really big, those really annoying voice actors! "Oh no! My kitty feel down the well! Please help him!" Stupid child. Why the **** were you throwing your cat down a well in the first place? Get it yourself. "HARRY POTTER CAUGHT THE SNITCH!" I'll punch you in the face mate. "AHHH!" GO AWAY YOU ANNOYING CHILDREN I'M FED UP OF YOUR **** I JUST WANT TO GO TO CLASS AND LEARN MAGIC AND STUFF! Apart from that, its ok. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    I can't argue about it, since, i played way too young and liked, i really would love to have the CD right now to play, such great memories. Though is a guilty pleasure
  6. JethroJ
    Sep 20, 2009
    7
    I picked up this game expecting the worst. Games of films or books are often awful, and I didn't think this would be an exception. However, when I got to playing it, I found that it was a thoroughly enjoyable game, not perfect by any means, but definitely worth checking out, and you can find it very cheap as well. The game revolves loosely around the film and book storyline, but it I picked up this game expecting the worst. Games of films or books are often awful, and I didn't think this would be an exception. However, when I got to playing it, I found that it was a thoroughly enjoyable game, not perfect by any means, but definitely worth checking out, and you can find it very cheap as well. The game revolves loosely around the film and book storyline, but it isn't restricted by it, unlike a lot of film-based games, and you often find yourself completely forgetting the original book or film. The tasks are fairly simple; attend lessons, gain Gryffindor house points and defeat Voldemort. There is a lot of platforming and big dungeon style areas in the game, which are fun, varied and exciting. You collect Bertie Botts Beans and Witches and Wizard cards, which are scattered all around the castle and ground of Hogwarts. This gives you a big task to complete, which will keep you coming back and exploring every last section of the game. The flying sections are where this game begins to frustrate. The control is awkward and often infuriating, so much so that it may bring back memories of Superman 64, and Lex Luthor's rings. However, you do play a few games of Quidditch, which is unvaried but a nice change from the platforming. You complete various side missions before moving on to the secret trap door area, which guards the stone, and Voldemort. You complete the chess mini game as well as fighting the Devil's Snare etc. You then fight the final battle and the game quickly ends, after the house cup winners are announced. The graphics are poor, even for the PS1, but the visual style has a lot of charm. I haven't played many games to the end, but this is one of them, as I found the gameplay to be quite addictive, especially the platforming dungeon sections. One problem with the platforming however is the absence of a jump button. This does make the game a lot easier than it should be. There are other faults, such as the voice acting and the often-repetitive nature of individual dungeons. However, overall I think this game exceeds its expectations. You might be disappointed by the game as a whole, but while playing it never seems to under-perform. I would have given this game a 7.5 if it had included some unlockables at the end of the game, or more spells to use rather than just the Flippendo spell, but I think this game deserves a. Expand
  7. JoniP.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    This is great game! It has got many, many places to explore, lots of good and evil characters and loads of fun mini-games. One of my favorite areas was Diagon Alley. Its replayability factor is pretty high and the game itself is pretty long. I didn't like quidditch very much, but it was created pretty well. Graphics were pretty nice for a playstation 1 game and controls were also This is great game! It has got many, many places to explore, lots of good and evil characters and loads of fun mini-games. One of my favorite areas was Diagon Alley. Its replayability factor is pretty high and the game itself is pretty long. I didn't like quidditch very much, but it was created pretty well. Graphics were pretty nice for a playstation 1 game and controls were also pretty good. Thumbs up! Expand
  8. ChadA.
    Jul 13, 2003
    3
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer?s Stone was not a good game. It was not very fun. It has no replay value. It does not have good controls. It made Quiddich a chore. Most importantly, it butchered the original storyline. Simply put, more time should have been spent on it (it is obvious that they rushed the game as there is a room in the game which is impossible to use. . .among other Harry Potter and the Sorcerer?s Stone was not a good game. It was not very fun. It has no replay value. It does not have good controls. It made Quiddich a chore. Most importantly, it butchered the original storyline. Simply put, more time should have been spent on it (it is obvious that they rushed the game as there is a room in the game which is impossible to use. . .among other glitches). One of the only good things about the game is that there are several mini-games. Unfortunately, most of these are easy and/or tedious. The voiceovers are classic though. Easily the best part about the game, the voiceovers are quite nice. Expand
  9. JonathanF.
    Nov 24, 2002
    10
    The best game on god's earth! why don't you go out an' buy it, Metacritic, to see how good it is!
  10. MichaelF.
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  11. Cody
    Mar 9, 2002
    10
    I think harry rocks, you could say I'm obsessed. I read the books, I've seen the movie, and played the game, and collect trading cards. I woud give it a 100, but I can only give it a 10.
  12. AnthonyP.
    Feb 1, 2002
    10
    I think this game rocks and it also kickes butt Harry Pootter is the man, and the only one in the movie next to my girl Hormany.
  13. BartT.
    Jan 20, 2002
    6
    This game is in one word, disapointing. The graphics are ok but it is way to short and easy. The hardest part is diagon alley. I beat the game in 6 hours on my first try. The quiddich is boring and not true to the book. if only you could play as a beater or a chaser, or even be a bludger and chase people. Also the commentator [lee jordan] only talks about harry and not anything else. And This game is in one word, disapointing. The graphics are ok but it is way to short and easy. The hardest part is diagon alley. I beat the game in 6 hours on my first try. The quiddich is boring and not true to the book. if only you could play as a beater or a chaser, or even be a bludger and chase people. Also the commentator [lee jordan] only talks about harry and not anything else. And there are also about 6 bludgers instead of the books 2. The game could of been a whole lot better! Expand
  14. KarlD.
    Jan 4, 2002
    7
    Well, I bought this game after I've seen and liked the movie of Harry Potter. Well this is a passable game with its qudditch games being the most enjoyable thing. If you are a fan of Harry Potter, buy this game its really passable. If you don't like Harry Potter or do not know a damn about him, opt for something more serious and bloody!!
  15. Jerky
    Nov 16, 2001
    9
    It is a little easy until you get to about 86% done with the game and also can you tell me the sequence of the tenticles??
  16. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    I can't argue about it, since, i played way too young and liked, i really would love to have the CD right now to play, such great memories. Though is a guilty pleasure

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2001
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2001
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. It’s not perfect, but Harry Potter is a sterling, fun play wrapped up in the magic of Hogwarts and it’s enchantments, making it a must have for muggles and wizarding folk alike!
  2. 80
    Potter fans will probably enjoy this more than others, but judging by the slim pickings of good games on the PS one these days, anyone who enjoys a little adventure probably could have some fun with this one.
  3. A good one despite its dated appearance and wonky handling of the character's movement...captures the magical nature of its license quite well.