Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Leave the nonmagical world behind and enroll in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry in Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone. As Harry Potter, you will hone your magical skills and advance through three terms of study during Harry's first year at Hogwarts. Each term will challenge you to meet a number of objectives, such as collecting and mixing potions with Professor Snape or piloting a flying broom through the Forbidden Forest in search of Neville Longbottom's Remembrall. In order to pass the first year of study, players must complete over 29 different objectives, while avoiding enemies and obstacles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. It’s not perfect, but Harry Potter is a sterling, fun play wrapped up in the magic of Hogwarts and it’s enchantments, making it a must have for muggles and wizarding folk alike!
  2. A good one despite its dated appearance and wonky handling of the character's movement...captures the magical nature of its license quite well.
  3. 80
    Potter fans will probably enjoy this more than others, but judging by the slim pickings of good games on the PS one these days, anyone who enjoys a little adventure probably could have some fun with this one.
  4. Plenty playable, even for more experienced gamers. [Feb 2002, p.118]
  5. A PlayStation game that will disappoint Potter fans around the world with its bland graphics, blocky characters, lifeless locales, frustrating challenges, and uninspiring gameplay.
  6. Next-gen games notwithstanding, HP's graphics are well below average. The textures are of the absolutely flat, glued-to-the-wall variety, there's tons of pixilation, and everything is generally ugly.
  7. A lesson in boredom. Without a jump command, the platforming elements are all but wasted, while the spell-flinging portions of the game are equally forgettable.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Cody
    Mar 9, 2002
    10
    I think harry rocks, you could say I'm obsessed. I read the books, I've seen the movie, and played the game, and collect trading cards. I woud give it a 100, but I can only give it a 10. Expand
  2. MichaelF.
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  3. JoniP.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    This is great game! It has got many, many places to explore, lots of good and evil characters and loads of fun mini-games. One of my favorite areas was Diagon Alley. Its replayability factor is pretty high and the game itself is pretty long. I didn't like quidditch very much, but it was created pretty well. Graphics were pretty nice for a playstation 1 game and controls were also pretty good. Thumbs up! Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    I can't argue about it, since, i played way too young and liked, i really would love to have the CD right now to play, such great memories. Though is a guilty pleasure Collapse
  5. JethroJ
    Sep 20, 2009
    7
    I picked up this game expecting the worst. Games of films or books are often awful, and I didn't think this would be an exception. However, when I got to playing it, I found that it was a thoroughly enjoyable game, not perfect by any means, but definitely worth checking out, and you can find it very cheap as well. The game revolves loosely around the film and book storyline, but it isn't restricted by it, unlike a lot of film-based games, and you often find yourself completely forgetting the original book or film. The tasks are fairly simple; attend lessons, gain Gryffindor house points and defeat Voldemort. There is a lot of platforming and big dungeon style areas in the game, which are fun, varied and exciting. You collect Bertie Botts Beans and Witches and Wizard cards, which are scattered all around the castle and ground of Hogwarts. This gives you a big task to complete, which will keep you coming back and exploring every last section of the game. The flying sections are where this game begins to frustrate. The control is awkward and often infuriating, so much so that it may bring back memories of Superman 64, and Lex Luthor's rings. However, you do play a few games of Quidditch, which is unvaried but a nice change from the platforming. You complete various side missions before moving on to the secret trap door area, which guards the stone, and Voldemort. You complete the chess mini game as well as fighting the Devil's Snare etc. You then fight the final battle and the game quickly ends, after the house cup winners are announced. The graphics are poor, even for the PS1, but the visual style has a lot of charm. I haven't played many games to the end, but this is one of them, as I found the gameplay to be quite addictive, especially the platforming dungeon sections. One problem with the platforming however is the absence of a jump button. This does make the game a lot easier than it should be. There are other faults, such as the voice acting and the often-repetitive nature of individual dungeons. However, overall I think this game exceeds its expectations. You might be disappointed by the game as a whole, but while playing it never seems to under-perform. I would have given this game a 7.5 if it had included some unlockables at the end of the game, or more spells to use rather than just the Flippendo spell, but I think this game deserves a. Expand
  6. KarlD.
    Jan 4, 2002
    7
    Well, I bought this game after I've seen and liked the movie of Harry Potter. Well this is a passable game with its qudditch games being the most enjoyable thing. If you are a fan of Harry Potter, buy this game its really passable. If you don't like Harry Potter or do not know a damn about him, opt for something more serious and bloody!! Expand
  7. ChadA.
    Jul 13, 2003
    3
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer?s Stone was not a good game. It was not very fun. It has no replay value. It does not have good controls. It made Quiddich a chore. Most importantly, it butchered the original storyline. Simply put, more time should have been spent on it (it is obvious that they rushed the game as there is a room in the game which is impossible to use. . .among other glitches). One of the only good things about the game is that there are several mini-games. Unfortunately, most of these are easy and/or tedious. The voiceovers are classic though. Easily the best part about the game, the voiceovers are quite nice. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews