Hogs of War PlayStation
Hogs of War Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With four people joining in, the number of onscreen explosions, pig-speech comments, and all-around nuttiness nearly lifts the game into the same sphere of quality as Worms or Bomberman.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. It's not one of those blockbuster games that everyone must have but it is a somewhat original take on a genre that continues to provide fun and entertainment.
  2. The magical animal that provides us with pork, ham, bacon and sausage now gives us a goodly bit of amusement.
  3. The graphics are however, pretty good, the sounds are great and the gameplay is also pretty good.
  4. Although Hogs is far from state-of-the-art, it's definitely fun and worth a look if you want something different and smart.
  5. With four people joining in, the number of onscreen explosions, pig-speech comments, and all-around nuttiness nearly lifts the game into the same sphere of quality as "Worms" or "Bomberman."
  6. Pork is generally one of my favorite foods, but it doesn't seem to translate to much of a game.
  7. The pig jokes get old quick and the gameplay isn't better than most other strategy games. What's left is an average playing game that winds up making you feel like a complete ham.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. LB
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    The funniest and best strategy game ever!
  2. [Anonymous]
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    State of the art! Pigs never seen to loose their sense of humor! Hard but fun. When is HOW 2 coming out?
  3. PiggyJ.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Underrated Classic. Quite funny and really well thought out. Better than Worms etc. Highly recommended.
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    A great game that I play through it again every few years or so. I'm a little baffled by the negative reviews, OK it looks dated and maybe theA great game that I play through it again every few years or so. I'm a little baffled by the negative reviews, OK it looks dated and maybe the Rik Mayall voice-over isn't for everyone but the core game play is great. The single player campaign is a lot of fun and is a decent length, and the multi-player is great too. Collapse
  5. Apr 8, 2015
    9
    Quiet a bit of fun, the single player was great I wanted toplay it multiple times with different teams, a bit annoying the glitch where aQuiet a bit of fun, the single player was great I wanted toplay it multiple times with different teams, a bit annoying the glitch where a medal on Geneva Convention wont come no matter what you do though, makes you fall short of getting a hero which is very helpful for the following stage.

    Pig dialogue sure is original, what is funny is the comments that come from a pig after a turn sometimes on the losing team in multiplayer. Each team is a comical exagerration of a nation 100 years ago, the music themes for each team is so outstanding. It`s fun to play about in multiplayer with NPCs, prefer to use map generator cos that way you can have lots of boxes to pick up, and have vehicles
    Expand
  6. LukasK.
    Apr 4, 2002
    8
    It starts of really easy but it gets harder and funnier as it goes along. You have to know your army ranks to be good at this.
  7. KeenanS.
    Jun 30, 2009
    3
    Was the only reason people actually enjoyed this garbage was because it starred pigs? I hated this game, hated it. Terrible gameplay (Broken Was the only reason people actually enjoyed this garbage was because it starred pigs? I hated this game, hated it. Terrible gameplay (Broken Strategy/RPG gameplay) and controls, ugly graphics (Even for the time period), Hogs of War got practically nothing right and only served to be a game I can belittle for how awful it is. There is no fun to be had, and like people have said, "War is hell." With this game, it sure is. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews