Mega Man X6 PlayStation
  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Dec 4, 2001
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2015
    4
    The worst thing that can happen in a platformer, is when the developers cannot tell the difference between challenging, and cheap, Mega Man X6 falls into the latter with level design filled with obstacles that are extremely difficult to dodge, and they're usually instant kills as well. The control is the same as previous games but the graphics, while visually similar to X5, areThe worst thing that can happen in a platformer, is when the developers cannot tell the difference between challenging, and cheap, Mega Man X6 falls into the latter with level design filled with obstacles that are extremely difficult to dodge, and they're usually instant kills as well. The control is the same as previous games but the graphics, while visually similar to X5, are significantly lower quality. The story is, to put it simply, stupid, Zero died in X5, and it was something that had to happen to restore the balance, apparently, in this game, Zero apparently just hid himself away while he repaired himself, which is stupid. As for the Mavericks, well, you should always start with Commander Yammark who is extremely easy with any character, and his stage is rather easy, but going after any other maverick first is a really bad idea, because they can either destroy you like nothing (Infinity Majinion), or their stage is ridiculously hard and/or tedious (Blaze Heatnix). And then there's the nightmare system, which was made for a nice replay factor, but instead, it makes the game random everytime you play it, you never know how the game will be because one stage that was fairly nice the first time, could be either pitch black, full of annoying blocks, or could make you go to random rooms that you may not want to go to everytime you replay the game, meaning there's no way to plan how to play a stage because it could change up on you at any moment, not to mention the damn nightmare enemies that will kill the reploids forever, even if they had a part that you may need, needless to say, it's not fun. Expand
  2. sdc
    Apr 5, 2015
    0
    A terrible game with cheap level designs and bad difficulty. I love challenging games, but... this is the WRONG type of challenge. Getting blind-sided by enemies, getting dog-piled by enemies, random spawn enemies, this game is among the worst games of all time.
  3. Jan 12, 2015
    2
    *Sigh* I don't know how they screwed this game up. It had so much going for it. This game had so much potential.

    Plot: The plot in this game is bull **** if you played the previous games. It's still bull **** if you haven't. I won't spoil anything, if you wanted that you could look it up. Gameplay: Holy crap, this game did so much right, but had terrible level design that made all of
    *Sigh* I don't know how they screwed this game up. It had so much going for it. This game had so much potential.

    Plot: The plot in this game is bull **** if you played the previous games. It's still bull **** if you haven't. I won't spoil anything, if you wanted that you could look it up.

    Gameplay: Holy crap, this game did so much right, but had terrible level design that made all of the good things not matter. It gave zero an (almost) entirely new set of move he can learn instead of just copying moves from X4. The weapons for X are unique and useful. Zero's buster has been improved making him more effective at ranged combat and X gets a z-saber slash which can be useful, but most of the time your just better of spamming projectiles. The level design is that bad. Despite all these good things, the level design is just crazy. I really wonder what they were thinking designing certain levels.

    Controls: They're a bit more clunky then previous installments, but they work.

    Conclusion: I can see why some people enjoy this game, (As I mentioned, there are good things about it.) but is it a game worth paying money for to see if you like? Heck no! If your truly curious, get the megaman X collection pack for gamecube or PS2. It includes megaman X 1-6, and an unlock able megaman racing game that was never released in the US. It's actually pretty fun.
    Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    Muitos chegam a taxar o game pior que o X4, o problema está justamente aí, foi um primeiro Megaman de PS1 que jogaram, portando o elevam aos céus, o que na realidade não é. Megaman X6 é sim o game muito divertido e mesmo tendo de certo ponto atrapalhado o começo da série Zero, pode ser consierado um dos melhores jogos da série X! O game é fácil para os veteranos, mas as "quests" de salvarMuitos chegam a taxar o game pior que o X4, o problema está justamente aí, foi um primeiro Megaman de PS1 que jogaram, portando o elevam aos céus, o que na realidade não é. Megaman X6 é sim o game muito divertido e mesmo tendo de certo ponto atrapalhado o começo da série Zero, pode ser consierado um dos melhores jogos da série X! O game é fácil para os veteranos, mas as "quests" de salvar os Reploids são bem divertidas e vezes ou outras, bem difíceis. A lista de Powerups herdada do X5 também é uma exelente adição. Mesmo que possua uma atmosfera MUITO sombria, é um genuíno Megaman X (ou melhor, Rockman X). Ótimo! Excelente! E o melhor, o final do game é meio favorito dentre os da série X! AWESOME!!! Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2014
    3
    Level too easy? Just throw more enemies in it. Platforming not tight enough? Just throw in some enemies that don't have the same movement restrictions. Player moving too slow for the enemy trigger traps? Just put in a collectable that both offers items (if any) unknown to the player at time of rescue and make it lost forever if the player can't get to it in time. Bosses too easy? Just giveLevel too easy? Just throw more enemies in it. Platforming not tight enough? Just throw in some enemies that don't have the same movement restrictions. Player moving too slow for the enemy trigger traps? Just put in a collectable that both offers items (if any) unknown to the player at time of rescue and make it lost forever if the player can't get to it in time. Bosses too easy? Just give them more health. Minibosses not challenging enough? Give them tiny weak points. Level design or puzzle too basic? Instantly drop in about a dozen things that can damage the player.

    When a game causes you to lose, a good game will indirectly let you know what you did wrong. If you rushed the enemy and got gunned down, then you deserve to get gunned down. If you miss a powerup because you weren't skilled enough to take out a target while jumping, you don't deserve the powerup. If you miss a powerup and die because on your way to jumping to the powerup the RNG decided to have a rock fall in front of you from the top of the screen, then you just got screwed over.

    This game is brutal, and not in a good way. It has an unnatural affinity for spamming enemies and making the entire screen a "danger zone" where anything can hit you at any given moment (*cough* weapon center 2nd power core *cough*).

    The only reason why I pushed through the game was bragging rights to some friends. Honestly, I'd rather play X7 over this (even with all bad 3D sections and voice acting considered).
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2014
    1
    Mega Man X6 is a misery to play from start to finish. The litany of sins includes boring, tedious level design that relies on cheap insta-kill gimmicks rather than creative or engaging enemy/platform layouts. The graphics use a muddy, ugly color palette that often makes walls and floors blend in with backgrounds (the Central Museum stage is an especially heinous offender in this regard).Mega Man X6 is a misery to play from start to finish. The litany of sins includes boring, tedious level design that relies on cheap insta-kill gimmicks rather than creative or engaging enemy/platform layouts. The graphics use a muddy, ugly color palette that often makes walls and floors blend in with backgrounds (the Central Museum stage is an especially heinous offender in this regard). In contrast to the frustrating deathtrap filled levels, the bosses are pathetically easy and bland to the point of not posing any kind of challenge.

    You wouldn't think a game built on something so fundamental as "jump and shoot" could get bolloxed up so badly, but it can! The Magma Area stage earns a special shout-out for combining lazy, boring enemy design in the form of the stupid ring miniboss you fight FOUR TIMES with onerous instant-kill **** in the form of the purple magma waves(?). Seriously, it looks like you're being drowned in grape jelly or something. Why are the only colors in the "Magma Area" black and purple? I know Capcom knows what magma and fire look like; previous lava stages (Magma Dragoon in MMX4 and Mattrex in MMX5) prove as much.

    An infinitely frustrating "permadeath" system for rescuable Reploid characters can result in some vital items (e.g. "Jumper") being missed forever due to bad luck. The translation is incompetent and incoherent, resulting in a baffling and opaque plot. Even if the dialogue/cutscenes were translated perfectly, the story is still a train wreck. The music, which is normally a high point of any Mega Man title for me, is bland and uninspired.

    The single nice thing I can say about this game is that the navigator Alia's useless advice (carried over from MMX5) is no longer forced on the player; you have to hit "Select" to read her nattering. Oh, I should try to *avoid* being crushed by falling ice blocks, you say? THANKS FOR THE TIP.
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    Megaman X6, the chink in the chain of the X series. All was going well until this game came along. Though the sprite animations are some of the best seen in the series, X6 has many flaws and outweigh what good was done. I felt the puzzles and difficulty in X6 were quite a bit harder and less sophisticated than previous X games. Even though some times the goals felt impossible in aMegaman X6, the chink in the chain of the X series. All was going well until this game came along. Though the sprite animations are some of the best seen in the series, X6 has many flaws and outweigh what good was done. I felt the puzzles and difficulty in X6 were quite a bit harder and less sophisticated than previous X games. Even though some times the goals felt impossible in a cheap kind of way, X6 was hard to put down. I give it a base score of 6 point for consistent solid game mechanics. Level progression was interesting and much more dynamic. So far it is my favourite evolution of the original MegaMan formula that I've seen. The formula that was tried and true for So many iterations. I'll give them a point for trying something other than the usual and in my opinion succeeding. The Nightmare system is something that add's a sense of urgency to game progression. Emergencies and secret bosses are always getting in the way of your master plan. It really makes me feel like there's a crisis at hand. The music was bogus. Nothing compared to the standards of composure set by the original X. It sounded like it was produced entirely on someone's home keyboard, which in an 8bit world is fine. When your playback is full digital audio, synthesizer strings and percussion just sound ugly. I found at critical points the atmosphere didn't fit the moment. The Dr Light moments are noteworthy. I also got the impression that it was trying to dynamically change the music as I went through the level and it just wasn't working for me. The music direction really didn't work. 2 points from X6. Music is really important factor for my immersion, and if it doesn't fit well, it chafes me. As far as story went, it's like the entire thing was a denouement. Where ever there was build up, it was always very anti climatic. Though playing as zero was a good time and all, it messed the canon up. I would've rather you had a different mystery partner the whole time, because with x6 ruined series creator's plans for the Zero series. What would have come of the next evolution if X6 left canon as canon. The Bosses. No style. Pretty flat and easy to be fair. I hardly even remember what bosses were there, because they were boring and flat. What difficulty was created was with cheap patterns that weren't memorable to who they were at all. Pretty much the only reason this game got any points at all was due to the fact the mechanics are fun to control and the sprites were always very responsive to my input. They made me feel powerful like I could take on those impossible challenges... Standing there thinking "Are you kidding me?" while still knowing it was possible with X's upgrades. They did that well. For these reasons, I couldn't put this one down despite it's flaws. Expand
  8. Jul 14, 2011
    7
    Weird, but still the Mega man that we enjoy and hope too see to come in the next couple years, the Japanese translation feels awkward, and do not feel appealing for an already known franchise. But thats not a flaw, the only flaw was the level design and little annoying trends.
  9. Supersean
    May 29, 2005
    5
    Man o man. Ever since X4 it just hasn't felt like megaman x. X4 was the last good one, and 5 was a little worse, but X6 is a disgusting pile of flaws. Picking megaman or zero before every level? Then you get to a point to where the other one is the only one that could pass? The weapons suck, the story is crazy, and high max is a flaw itself. This game got near impossible [you only Man o man. Ever since X4 it just hasn't felt like megaman x. X4 was the last good one, and 5 was a little worse, but X6 is a disgusting pile of flaws. Picking megaman or zero before every level? Then you get to a point to where the other one is the only one that could pass? The weapons suck, the story is crazy, and high max is a flaw itself. This game got near impossible [you only pass some flaws by another flaw in your favor] and full of flaws. I don't know what they were thinking, and just when you think the story is going to change, it just becomes the same again and again and again. Expand
  10. JonL.
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    The best of the PS1 Mega Man X games. I love this game.
  11. AdrianH.
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    This game rocks(as in Rockman tee hee)!I played X5 and using Falcon Armor for start is cool!
  12. MeganD.
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    The iz cool & the voices r n japanese. I think this game iz # 1 & u my think i'm strange but i am not strange,k?
  13. BillyS.
    Sep 13, 2002
    6
    Gull? Whats this zero's in here good he diden't die, O wait my mistake he does die in the end (or should I got killed off) this game is like X meets soup opras! and when zero dies because of his weakend and shamful saber(which can fortunitly be fixed with a power up) he sounds really, realy, really bad another thing can't capcom stick with one voice for zero instead of Gull? Whats this zero's in here good he diden't die, O wait my mistake he does die in the end (or should I got killed off) this game is like X meets soup opras! and when zero dies because of his weakend and shamful saber(which can fortunitly be fixed with a power up) he sounds really, realy, really bad another thing can't capcom stick with one voice for zero instead of changing it all the time! I'm Canadian, eh and I can't possibly understand chinese or whatever it was that they were saying!. The power ups were better than x5's but the levels sure weren't! X's amour sucked more than X5's too. Unless you like megaman (Z fans don't play or you'll pay) Any way don't play (30 bucks for this, they should pay us and for anyone that already got this call the cops you were robbed!) Expand
  14. ZeroWrath
    Mar 10, 2002
    6
    Better then Mega Man X5?... Um... Nah. Better then Mega Man X4? Not at all! The very few problems with the series is... How come X is able to beat Zero? [Like in MMX2 ] in all reality if Zero is as powerful as the Mega Man X storyline makes it look like it is, Zero could slash X in half like a hot knife through butter. Number two [and this got better with MMX6] is that all the words of Better then Mega Man X5?... Um... Nah. Better then Mega Man X4? Not at all! The very few problems with the series is... How come X is able to beat Zero? [Like in MMX2 ] in all reality if Zero is as powerful as the Mega Man X storyline makes it look like it is, Zero could slash X in half like a hot knife through butter. Number two [and this got better with MMX6] is that all the words of each level and conversation should have people say the things in english [or japanese, their choice] as there would be an option to do so. Also, it would be nice if MMX would have to battle Mega Man. As far as the levels go, I do not want them changed at all. [Off the subject, I have a fan fic about Mega Man X story line on www.ezboard.com] with the board called bzeroswrath you are free to read if you would like. I like the levels because of the difficulty. Besides that, give the player something to enhance replayability. Beat the game with Zero unlock X beat with X get Mega Man and so on. The story line would be as follows [Capcom, are you reading this?] X is captured by Dr. Wily while he got a message by Dr. Wily that Mega Man is revived and held captive by Dr. Wily, and Zero must destroy his own creator to save him. And as X, you try again to destroy Sigma, who now has captured Mega Man and that unlocks him and as him you find out that Zero's girlfriend, Iris is captured by Dr.Cain and and once you unlock her you get the rest of the flower battalion, Orchid, Rose... Read my fanfic. Also there should be a battle game for everyone you unlock. Sounds like fun, huh. I expect such a game for the PS2. Remember you heard it here first... By the way, if they let Zero have a son, his name is Kai and he looks like Zero but with a Silver body armor with black [or gold or whatever looks cool] hair. He has a staff and sword instead of a gun. I expect him [or someone like him if Capcom allows it] soon. I said my piece. Expand
  15. Carnage
    Feb 24, 2002
    10
    I played every game with mega man in it's title, from the old NES games to the new playstation games, and I beat every game within one or two days and i've just got to say that this game is my all-time favorite!!! MMX5 was good because of Zero, but this game is good,with Zero just being a secret character!! It even has got it's voice system back, which was missing in MMX5, I played every game with mega man in it's title, from the old NES games to the new playstation games, and I beat every game within one or two days and i've just got to say that this game is my all-time favorite!!! MMX5 was good because of Zero, but this game is good,with Zero just being a secret character!! It even has got it's voice system back, which was missing in MMX5, so what ya going to say now? Gotta go, greetings to all MMfreaks in the whole world-cArn,Germany. Expand
  16. JonoG.
    Feb 17, 2002
    9
    I have been a Mega Man fan ever since I was about 6. I beat them all within a week each. But things sure did change when X6 came out. This game actually took me more then a week to beat. I think the longer the game is lasting and how much you are enjoying it are the main commponents for a good game people say "but it's to hard!"personally I would want a hard game then a game you I have been a Mega Man fan ever since I was about 6. I beat them all within a week each. But things sure did change when X6 came out. This game actually took me more then a week to beat. I think the longer the game is lasting and how much you are enjoying it are the main commponents for a good game people say "but it's to hard!"personally I would want a hard game then a game you would beat in 4 days, because you don't get your money's worth. I rate it a 8 because it was just the right amout of a challege for me and they don't have X's girly little voice anymore. But hearing a languge you don't no can get annoying, but don't get me wronge it's better then the girly voice. In X6 you can finally duck and the armor is cooler. The graphics are good but not the best. But I find the 2d mega mans funner then the legends. Expand
  17. Jul 14, 2011
    0
    Weird, but still the Mega man that we enjoy and hope too see to come in the next couple years, the Japanese translation feels awkward, and do not feel appealing for an already known franchise. But thats not a flaw, the only flaw was the level design and little annoying trends.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. The plot is in badly translated Japanese and makes little sense, but still the game is curiously 'unputdownable'.
  2. Decent-looking and extremely fun,...fast, tough, fun and a solid 2D blast from the past that is priced just right at $30.
  3. The kind of game you can’t get out of your mind. Though frustration may make you set it down (I limited myself to about an hour a run) it’s a game you can always come back to.