Mega Man X6 PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Mega Man X6 Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's been three weeks since Earth's near collision with the space colony Eurasia. The disaster was averted by Zero's heroics. Now, on a bruised and battered planet, tales of rampagning reploids are surfacing. It's up to Mega Man X to investigate these mysteries but it's not going to be easy.It's been three weeks since Earth's near collision with the space colony Eurasia. The disaster was averted by Zero's heroics. Now, on a bruised and battered planet, tales of rampagning reploids are surfacing. It's up to Mega Man X to investigate these mysteries but it's not going to be easy. Mega Man X must battle through a maze of levels and rescure reploids along the way. Return to battle agagin and again with the new Nightmare System, which randomizes level maps, enemies and endings based on how you play the game. Mega man X is back and now it's personal! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. The plot is in badly translated Japanese and makes little sense, but still the game is curiously 'unputdownable'.
  2. Decent-looking and extremely fun,...fast, tough, fun and a solid 2D blast from the past that is priced just right at $30.
  3. The kind of game you can’t get out of your mind. Though frustration may make you set it down (I limited myself to about an hour a run) it’s a game you can always come back to.
  4. The environment designs are not as creative, the stages are way too short, and the boss battles are surprisingly easy. [Feb 2002, p.94]
  5. If you're a Mega Man fan, then you've already purchased the game and have been playing to your hearts content. You can move on to other parts of the web-site.
  6. Actually worse than its recent predecessors. [Feb 2002, p.116]
  7. The once fresh and inviting Megaman franchise has grown putrid.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. AdrianH.
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    This game rocks(as in Rockman tee hee)!I played X5 and using Falcon Armor for start is cool!
  2. Carnage
    Feb 24, 2002
    10
    I played every game with mega man in it's title, from the old NES games to the new playstation games, and I beat every game within one I played every game with mega man in it's title, from the old NES games to the new playstation games, and I beat every game within one or two days and i've just got to say that this game is my all-time favorite!!! MMX5 was good because of Zero, but this game is good,with Zero just being a secret character!! It even has got it's voice system back, which was missing in MMX5, so what ya going to say now? Gotta go, greetings to all MMfreaks in the whole world-cArn,Germany. Expand
  3. MeganD.
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    The iz cool & the voices r n japanese. I think this game iz # 1 & u my think i'm strange but i am not strange,k?
  4. ZeroWrath
    Mar 10, 2002
    6
    Better then Mega Man X5?... Um... Nah. Better then Mega Man X4? Not at all! The very few problems with the series is... How come X is able to Better then Mega Man X5?... Um... Nah. Better then Mega Man X4? Not at all! The very few problems with the series is... How come X is able to beat Zero? [Like in MMX2 ] in all reality if Zero is as powerful as the Mega Man X storyline makes it look like it is, Zero could slash X in half like a hot knife through butter. Number two [and this got better with MMX6] is that all the words of each level and conversation should have people say the things in english [or japanese, their choice] as there would be an option to do so. Also, it would be nice if MMX would have to battle Mega Man. As far as the levels go, I do not want them changed at all. [Off the subject, I have a fan fic about Mega Man X story line on www.ezboard.com] with the board called bzeroswrath you are free to read if you would like. I like the levels because of the difficulty. Besides that, give the player something to enhance replayability. Beat the game with Zero unlock X beat with X get Mega Man and so on. The story line would be as follows [Capcom, are you reading this?] X is captured by Dr. Wily while he got a message by Dr. Wily that Mega Man is revived and held captive by Dr. Wily, and Zero must destroy his own creator to save him. And as X, you try again to destroy Sigma, who now has captured Mega Man and that unlocks him and as him you find out that Zero's girlfriend, Iris is captured by Dr.Cain and and once you unlock her you get the rest of the flower battalion, Orchid, Rose... Read my fanfic. Also there should be a battle game for everyone you unlock. Sounds like fun, huh. I expect such a game for the PS2. Remember you heard it here first... By the way, if they let Zero have a son, his name is Kai and he looks like Zero but with a Silver body armor with black [or gold or whatever looks cool] hair. He has a staff and sword instead of a gun. I expect him [or someone like him if Capcom allows it] soon. I said my piece. Expand
  5. BillyS.
    Sep 13, 2002
    6
    Gull? Whats this zero's in here good he diden't die, O wait my mistake he does die in the end (or should I got killed off) this Gull? Whats this zero's in here good he diden't die, O wait my mistake he does die in the end (or should I got killed off) this game is like X meets soup opras! and when zero dies because of his weakend and shamful saber(which can fortunitly be fixed with a power up) he sounds really, realy, really bad another thing can't capcom stick with one voice for zero instead of changing it all the time! I'm Canadian, eh and I can't possibly understand chinese or whatever it was that they were saying!. The power ups were better than x5's but the levels sure weren't! X's amour sucked more than X5's too. Unless you like megaman (Z fans don't play or you'll pay) Any way don't play (30 bucks for this, they should pay us and for anyone that already got this call the cops you were robbed!) Collapse
  6. Supersean
    May 29, 2005
    5
    Man o man. Ever since X4 it just hasn't felt like megaman x. X4 was the last good one, and 5 was a little worse, but X6 is a disgusting Man o man. Ever since X4 it just hasn't felt like megaman x. X4 was the last good one, and 5 was a little worse, but X6 is a disgusting pile of flaws. Picking megaman or zero before every level? Then you get to a point to where the other one is the only one that could pass? The weapons suck, the story is crazy, and high max is a flaw itself. This game got near impossible [you only pass some flaws by another flaw in your favor] and full of flaws. I don't know what they were thinking, and just when you think the story is going to change, it just becomes the same again and again and again. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2014
    1
    Mega Man X6 is a misery to play from start to finish. The litany of sins includes boring, tedious level design that relies on cheap insta-killMega Man X6 is a misery to play from start to finish. The litany of sins includes boring, tedious level design that relies on cheap insta-kill gimmicks rather than creative or engaging enemy/platform layouts. The graphics use a muddy, ugly color palette that often makes walls and floors blend in with backgrounds (the Central Museum stage is an especially heinous offender in this regard). In contrast to the frustrating deathtrap filled levels, the bosses are pathetically easy and bland to the point of not posing any kind of challenge.

    You wouldn't think a game built on something so fundamental as "jump and shoot" could get bolloxed up so badly, but it can! The Magma Area stage earns a special shout-out for combining lazy, boring enemy design in the form of the stupid ring miniboss you fight FOUR TIMES with onerous instant-kill **** in the form of the purple magma waves(?). Seriously, it looks like you're being drowned in grape jelly or something. Why are the only colors in the "Magma Area" black and purple? I know Capcom knows what magma and fire look like; previous lava stages (Magma Dragoon in MMX4 and Mattrex in MMX5) prove as much.

    An infinitely frustrating "permadeath" system for rescuable Reploid characters can result in some vital items (e.g. "Jumper") being missed forever due to bad luck. The translation is incompetent and incoherent, resulting in a baffling and opaque plot. Even if the dialogue/cutscenes were translated perfectly, the story is still a train wreck. The music, which is normally a high point of any Mega Man title for me, is bland and uninspired.

    The single nice thing I can say about this game is that the navigator Alia's useless advice (carried over from MMX5) is no longer forced on the player; you have to hit "Select" to read her nattering. Oh, I should try to *avoid* being crushed by falling ice blocks, you say? THANKS FOR THE TIP.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews