Metal Gear Solid PlayStation
  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 1998
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 542 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 542

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    The grandfather of the stealth game is a masterpiece of engaging story and thrilling gameplay. What makes MGS so special is the unique features which were never seen before and haven't been seen since. Having Psycho Mantis "read the players mind" by accessing the memory card and switching controllers to beat him. Looking at the back of the CD case in order to progress through the game, These are truly iconic moments giving Metal Gear Solid a special place in gaming history. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is one of the first cinematic games ever created. I remember playing this game as a kid, it took me hours, HOURS, to get past the first part. But I loved every second of it. I've since replayed the game once a year, and when I lost my Playstation, I downloaded it off of Playstation store for my PS3. I remember going to Gamestop, buying Call of Duty Black Ops, coming home then seeing that Metal Gear Solid was available on the Playstation Store. I didn't even open the Black Ops case, I bought MGS, downloaded it and played it for hours that night. I eventually played Black Ops, two days later after I beat MGS for the ninth time. Even if this game had terrible gameplay (It DID NOT!), I would still play it for the story. The plot is so complex, interesting and engaging, that it took me quite a while to really wrap my head around it. Of course, when I was a kid, I had no clue wtf was going on, plot-wise! But, years later I figured it out, and it's better than any novel or movie I've ever seen. I recommend this game to anyone that wants to experience an amazing story. Hideo Kojima is a genius, and a master storyteller. I'm actually a little embarrassed to say this, but, I cried at the end of every Metal Gear Solid game. They are just so powerful, and so immersible. Thanks for reading. Signed- Culture F. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game was a masterpiece. Metal Gear revolutionized the game industry with it's idea of: "You don't have to kill them, just sneak past them!" Many gamers like the idea that you can slip past people. Others like the idea that you can just blow through them like a steamroller. While that isn't impossible in MGS and it's sequels, it isn't recommended. The story is deep, enthralling and full of twists and turns. Some might find it hard to grasp.
    I give this game a 10/10 for a astounding story, great gameplay, and above par voice-acting.
    Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    One of the most imaginative and original games of its era only let down slightly by the longer than necessary cut-scenes. Nowadays you’d be better off buying the Twin Snakes remake on the Gamecube but this easily ranks amongst the greatest PSone title and is arguably still the best in the series.
  6. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Fun, cool, and unique. The characters, the story, the gameplay.... its all just top notch.
  7. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the finest action games ever made. MGS launched the stealth action genre in a was that no one expected. For it's time nothing like it had ever been made and it's legacy certainly lives on. I can think of no better game that deserves an update to the current generation.
  8. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    i remember playing metal gear back on the NES long ago . now it returns to the PS1 and solid snake is kicking some major ass . this game has a solid story and great voice acting in a day when pretty much any and every games voice acting was rancid crap. a great gun selection fun boss fights and really well i cant think of any thing negitive to say about this game . its a game that feels like a kick ass movie . Expand
  9. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid can safely be called the cream-of-the-crop stealth game. It looks amazing (even though it has PlayStation graphics) because of every layout and background is crafted so beautifully. The music really fits the scene and the score was well done. The gameplay immerses you so deeply that it goes beyond the TV screen and involves you, the player. It tells you to find hints on the CD case, the Psycho Mantis boss can read your memory card for other games by Konami or tell you if you have saved in a while, or the way to beat Psycho Mantis, or when you get tortured; you and your thumbs actually feel like they are getting tortured. This immersion can only be found in this title, and not even with games today. The game has so many "little things" that really make it stand out. For example, if you hide in a box in a truck, you will get driven to the place on the box. No one told you that would happen and that is the beauty of it when you discover it. The bosses are numerous, challenging, and truly a fun experience. Metal Gear Solid is just plain ground-breaking and the reviews show it. As of this date, there are no user reviews under a "9" on Metacritic and only one yellow critic score. I would like to think that the one yellow review was a mistake and was supposed to be intended for a different game because then I would have to question it's sanity. There are only two problems that made this title not quite get a perfect "10." First, aiming most the weapons were a pain and I do not understand why I could not shoot in first-person mode. I wish that the entire game was a first-person-shooter after you beat it once. That would definitely make me have to play it again! The second issue was the many moments when a long cutscene appeared and I was just watching and waiting. I would skip them if it were another game, but the story is hard enough to follow, as is, due to the number of plot twists. The game consists of a total of a little over three hours of cutscenes, by the way! I finished normal mode in twenty hours, so 15% of my game was pure cinematic video! To be fair, the cutscenes were well done, but the thing is I didn't buy a movie. Overall, a very involving game that will go down in history for its originality and beauty with very few flaws. Expand
  10. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is not a perfect tittle, but equal to Zelda is almost perfect . The ten that i give to games it's because it top's superb tittles. During the time the game was ( and always will be) creative, genius and awesome. Who will forget the time you fought Psycho - Mantis with the reading memory card and also changing slots, no other game did that at the time, many other game copy that features on their own . A classic master piece. Expand
  11. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Even today it is still the best title of the series. The stealth system was new and unique, it had voice action and a complex story with twists to think about.
  12. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Plain and simple, MGS1 proves that games with limitations and discretion are more often the most entertaining and the most meaningful. I read through the whole metal gear storyline before playing MGS4, but after finishing the latest installment I knew I was missing something, and so I purchased the PSN Ps1 version of Metal Gear Solid 1 for PS3. Not only was this thirteen year old game more than worth the $10, it probably wound up being the best deal on a video game I ever made. The simple gameplay mechanics are intuitive and human - it rewards common sense and natural thought processes more than any other game I've ever played. What's nowadays considered "miscellaneous" aspects here are the most charming and important - the character development is immediately rich, although it bares a little to close to cliche anime writing which was a slight personal turn off; the puzzles are bar none infinitely more clever than any other game ever made; even the no-doubt-about-it outdated graphics provide the right charm and connotation for everything you encounter. The point of this review is less to praise this game and more convince anyone wondering whether or not this game lives up to hype that it undoubtedly does. I'm extremely cynical when it comes to games (Bioshock and Portal were the only games I ever even considered worth a glance), and this pushes me only more so. Metal Gear Solid is not a video game; it's a masterpiece of contemporary culture, and exceedingly well worth anyone's (even/especially non-gamers') time. Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    There literally wasn't any or still isn't any video game like this game, it mastered the stealth genre like no other, one of the best video games on the Play Station or on any video game system, a Masterpiece.
  14. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Firstly, i need to point out that i'm not one of those people who gives 10 scores to every half decent game. In fact this is the only game i've deemed worthy of a perfect 10 so far on Metacritic. So yeah, i consider Metal Gear Solid very special indeed. It's just one of those games that only comes along perhaps once every 10 years. Even now, ten years later it's still a rollercoaster thrillride that will have you sweating with tension one minute and your mouth hanging open in awe the next. It was also full of more invention and brilliant ideas then any other action game i've ever played. If not the best game ever then certainly a contender. Expand
  15. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This is a wonderful game. It serves as a great start to the legendary Metal Gear Solid series. Even in modern days it is still one of the best single player games around.
  16. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Finishing Metal Gear Solid is not an easy task. Yes, it's not brutally difficult, but it requires a lot of patience. But the patience is worth it. Nearly every aspect of MGS is fantastic, even today. The graphics might be a bit dated but all the same hold much charm and simplicity. The gameplay mechanics defined the stealth/action genre and indeed the MGS series are still the best stealth games out there. The story is ridiculous, with so many plot twists and turns, and Kojima doesn't care one bit. You can sit for ten minutes listening to a new met enemy rambling on and on about philosophy, politics and everything else, and it's worse when Snake is cooporating with them which leads to many awkward conversations. Dialog is what Kojima couldn't handle right, and that's a shame because that was actualy the only real gripe I have had with the game, but I guess that it's part of the magic that this series has. The bosses are fantastic, the mood is great. The game forces you to think about your next move and be on your toes. You constantly have to stay alert and learn to use your gadget arsenal wisely. I also loved the characters, as childish and silly some of them might be, because their personalities are interesting and unique. The codec conversations can be really good and it's especially nice that you can contact characters and get advice or perspective from them. I can safely say that every gamer should experience this game. It might seem dated but it really holds up after all this time, for some strange reason, and is stil perfectly playable. It's humorous, difficult, and fun.But most importantly , It's a fascinating creation that Hideo and his team managed to make. The game is very unique and has many small nuances that really make it an unforgettable experience. Expand
  17. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This masterpiece deserves the attention of all gamers. With Its incredible story and a very accessible control scheme, It won't take long to learn the stealth and action elements from MGS. Don't have a ps1? The game is now downloadable through the Playstation Store. Buy it play it 'ya won't regret it!
  18. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I recently had a conversation about this game and I should say: everything about this game is memorable. The SMG, figuring how to get the stealth suit, unlimited ammo. The bosses all have their own story without being corny, some of them are utterly scary -Psycho Mantis, Raven, Gray Fox- while others demand tactic play -first tank, Sniper Wolf-. So there's a story that could easily be a novel, the gameplay fits and had extra's that made you replay the game, the bosses have everything you could possibly wish for, so one question remains: what's bad about this game. Well, some would say graphics. Personally, people who start nagging bout graphics don't know what games are about. It's a stealth game, I can understand some would rather just run into the building and shoot like a war pig or go nuke-crazy. However this game has defined stealth games to what they are and should be and it spawned -so far- three great sequels that were innovative in their own way and that's why it deserves no less than a perfect 10. Expand
  19. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Stealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feel like you're sneaking around enemies and learning more about the mission, and you learn to not always believe what you're told. It's a game that feels real, the story feels plausible despite how unlikely it is, it's a piece of fantasy set in the real world. The graphics may not hold out, but the soundtrack, gameplay, story and characters make up for it Expand
  20. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Usually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's a cinematic masterpiece and one of the greatest stealth games ever made. Expand
  21. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is the measuring stick that I use to judge all other games by. It's the best that's ever existed. I was 15 years old when I first played it and I remember not wanting the story to ever end. Luckily, it's continued on. And now, there's a rumor that Kojima wants to have the original MGS re-made using current-gen graphics. Can't wait for it.
  22. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Phenomenal game. I had enormous expectations for this game and franchise because I was very late to the party. My first experience with the series was with the Legacy Collection that just game out a month ago, but I've been playing almost nothing but MGS, MGS2, and MGS3 (haven't beaten it yet) in that time frame. I honestly don't have anything negative to say about the game. It's amazing. I understand these games aren't for everyone, but I still very much believe they are deserving of full 10's. I believe everyone should at least give it a try. Expand
  23. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazing game. But this shocked me about how defied all my expectations. To start, the controls are great. Gameplay is very stealth driven, especially at the start. They also included a mechanic where when you beat the bosses, you where able to carry more items and got a health increase. This made you feel like you were progressing through the game. Anyone who says anything bad about graphics don't deserve to call themselves a gamer. You can't blame Konami for them because they only had that at the time. Even so, the visuals look amazing with so much attention to detail all throughout. Voice acting is top notch, definitely movie quality. As for the cutscenes, yes they are long, but it's a better movie then Heavy Rain. The cutscenes help to paint a beautiful and amazing story. The soundtrack is also awe inspiring. From the high energy of Escape, to the desperation of Encounter and finally to the beauty of The Best is Yet to Come, the soundtrack will grip you by the sheer fact that the Playstation could handle it. The soundtrack is so fitting and just so amazing, that it leaves me speechless. I have saved the best for last. Enemy AI is smart. If they notice any trace of you, the will look for you, and if they find you, they will pull the alarm and you better hide. Next, the boss battles. Metal Gear Solid is known for it's boss fights. This game contains easily some of the best in the franchise. From the gun duel with Ocelot, to Psycho Mantis who must be applauded for destroying the fourth wall throughout the fight, to the sniper duel with Sniper Wolf and lastly the final duel with Liquid Snake, the boss fights will amaze you, because they are some of the best. And lastly, and easily the best part of this game, is the story. As I have said, the cutscenes are long because they help paint such a deep plot. Hideo Kojima is the master of storytelling. The story is top notch and will keep you engaged all throughout. The story is deeply riddled with themes such as war and nuclear annihilation. The only thing that I can truly say about the story is that only way to truly experience it is to play the game yourself. The story has numerous plot twists that make it worth watching. The plot rivals that of many of the films and movies that have praised for their story. This game deserves nothing more then a perfect 10/10. Hideo Kojima has outdone himself and has proven that he is the king of storytelling. I feel pity for anyone who plays the XBox because unless they are willing to buy a PS3 or a PS2, they will not be able to enjoy the sheer masterpiece that this game is. It is worth any price and is a must own for anyone who likes stealth games or deep stories. Kojima, I salute you. Expand
  24. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Playing this game for the first time felt unreal. There was no game like it back then, and there won't ever be (unless of course you take the sequels into consideration). Great gameplay, great atmosphere, great dialogues and voice acting, plenty of cutscenes and of course the talent of Hideo Kojima are the key elements to its success.
  25. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    A brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players a lot of fun Expand
  26. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This best game I've ever played. and it's still easy to say that. This game defined a whole genre on its own. The first game on a great series and also the best.
  27. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    with maybe the exception of the original deus ex in 2003 and the mass effect games, i have simply have not played a better game in my life. with stunning art work and graphics, well-developed characters, compelling dialogue, masterful story-telling, and next-to-level game play, the metal gear solid of 1998 took console gaming by a relentless firestorm that left embers and ash to everything else. from 1985-1999 there was every other game, then there was metal gear solid: a consumate work of gaming genious, perfection, and the nirvana of video gaming. i cannot say enough good things about it. Expand
  28. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. one of the best PS 1 game of all time.. HANDS DOWN..!!! :) the first time i played the demo of this game i'm so excited and can't wait to play the full version of the game.. i remember clearly when the first time i played this game, i have no idea at all what this game about and really didn't know that this game was the franchise of an old game from late 80's, Metal gear which featured on NES.. but hell of that.. :D this game makes me instantly a fan of stealth game. and i kind a agree if this game called "The grand daddy of modern stealth game" the storyline, the gameplay, the voice acting, all of that makes this game one of the best at that time.. and i'm so dissapointed that this game would not featured on the upcoming MGS collection later in this year on X-BOX 360 and PS 3.. but still this game to me have a special place in my heart.. GO SNAKE GO.. :) Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Metal Gear Solid not only stands as one of the best stories in gaming history, but it is also hands-down one of the most influential games of all time. Its plot is riddled with philosophical and moral issues that resonate with gamers strongly in modern society, its stealth game play is intense and balances risk and reward, the challenge of surviving the odds is high but fair to players who put in effort and patience and the production values are well worth the price you pay. The soundtrack is hauntingly memorable, changing when the situation intensifies or during major cutscenes. The voice actors are very convincing, giving extra life to the characters they portray, with special mention for David Hayter's world-weary take on the veteran soldier and protagonist Solid Snake. The game offers, in addition to the short but emotional campaign, a variety of Virtual Reality bonus missions and training, as well as unlockables and secrets for playing the campaign in certain ways. If there is anything to complain about, it could be that the game's graphics haven't aged as gracefully as they deserve, and thus look dated and basic by present standards. However, to mark a game as unplayable for older graphics is a travesty. This game was the inspiration for many current conventions in its genre, and it still holds up over a decade later. Whether you're a veteran fan with an original PlayStation copy or a new Metal Gear Solid fan who's purchased the game off of the PlayStation Network, this is a game that you should be proud to own. Expand
  30. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite on the Playstation. There is a reason why i call hideo kojima "The Stanley Kubrick of Video Games". The story is the most cinematic one you'll find on the PS, but i can't help but find myself feel like a spectator and just watching a movie. The music is great, and the voice acting is surprisingly good due to the Playstation 1 games having a history of **** voice acting. (I'm looking at you Megaman 8 and Resident Evil.) But if you look pass the whole movie thing, i still recommend it. Expand
  31. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. The story is so damn good that never gets boring. The graphics are nice for a ps one game and the sound is great and catch perfectly the game's atmosphere. The characters are memorable and the dialogues are nice. One of the best ps one games ever.
  32. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid is closer to perfection than any other game in PlayStation's action genre. This is more of a work of art than an actual game. Hideo Kojima has produced one of the finest games ever.
  33. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    IF YOU, reader, IS A FAN OF STEALTH GENRE, you don't have the obligation to like Metal Gear Solid, but AT LEAST, YOU MUST HAVE RESPECT FOR WHAT THIS GAME REPRESENTS TO THE STEALTH GAMES. I know that the game-play may not be too frenetic, but it happens because of the title game: TATICAL ESPIONAGE ACTION. The graphics aren't good, in fact, I THINK THE GAME MUST A REMAKE. The story is one of the mayor points of all MGS, the dialogues, the climax, the bosses, the supporting characters, the protagonist, no negative comments. Expand
  34. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Replayed just now after all these years (I hadn't played it since at least 2005) and it' still one of the best. Words are meaningless. This is the definition of classic and a game to be remembered.
  35. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time it is the grandfather of modern gaming it is cinematic and a first of its kind and it began the voice acting in gaming and it has amazing soundtrack and gameplay the story is amazing in this game even now you'll enjoy playing this game even if you have a PS3 or Xbox 360
  36. May 18, 2014
    9
    The Metal Gear series grows from 2d to 3D the graphics of the game were great but not as perfect as The legend of zelda Ocarina of time character models and Banjo Kazooie amazing textures. But the gameplay is classic lovable Metal Gear which is faster and more exciting than ever before; psycho Mantis blew us away with is memory card reading of what game we played before. And making the controller vibrate, but the biggest accomplishment for the original Metal Gear Solid is the extensive story with movie like cut scenes created some of the best stories ever told in gaming. It's biggest flaw was simply the lenght of the game that prevented it to become almost perfect gaming experience that is why I gave it a 9.255 OUT OF 10 IN 1998. Expand
  37. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    There is nothing new to say about this game that you don't already know. But almost 20 years later you can see how much it affected and raised the standards for both the game industry and the movies.
  38. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics

    For me Both ending is crap and useless solid snake was not solid snake anymore find a new path and bblablablabla,Solid snake laughing is creepy lol,and its don't even connect to mgs2 story, If somebody gonna remake this game its need another new
    ending for this game. Expand
  39. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Top notch stealth genre with mixed action/adventure, professional cinematic cutscenes, voice acting and brilliant soundtrack, It's a game which I hold dear to my heart and one which I will always remember for being one the reasons I grew up to love video games.
  40. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    The First in a series of reviews for the "Metal Gear Solid" Saga. starting with the MSX2 titles and of course the legendary "Metal Gear Solid" for PS1.

    Japan 1987, a young inexperienced yet incredibly ambitious Game designer Hideo Kojima was given the reigns to a franchise entitled "Metal Gear", due to hardware limitations the heavy inspired full on action "Metal Gear" promised would
    undoubtedly hinder the games overall success.

    Kojima an experienced film buff, inspired by the likes of "The Great Escape" suggested a game where stealth would be better suited, though Konami had doubts the game performed extremely well on play tests and ultimately "Metal Gear" saw great success. however the West was treated to a very altered version in the form of an NES game that Kojima had nothing to do with was ridiculous in comparison, also a shoddy unofficial sequel had spawned "Snake's Revenge" .

    "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake" saw the light of day in 1990 again on the MSX2 computer system this time with better graphics, crawling and hiding spots were included as well as a deep anti-war story with plenty of philosophy still relevant today.

    "It doesn't matter who wins here. Our fight will continue. The loser will be liberated from the battlefield, and the survivor will live out the rest of his days as a soldier."

    These two games continued to provide an excellent challenge and still hold incredibly well for today, considering that many games at the time were about trying to achieve a high score, the MSX "Metal Gear's" were something special but only the beginning of something truly industry changing.

    Originally planned for the 3DO console in 94, Development began on the third installment, backed by a skilled artist (Yoji Shinkawa) and a dedicated team, Kojima suddenly saw larger potential in SONY's forthcoming PlayStation console, "Metal Gear Solid" saw release on the PS1 in 1998, backed with cutscenes, superb voice acting, tight controls, cinematic camera placement, unforgettable characters and a superb Anti-Nuclear weapon story filled with deceit, plot twists and multiple endings.

    You play as Solid Snake (a unforgettable voice performance from David Hayter) an ex-soldier of special forces unit Fox-Hound, pulled out of self exile by his old associate Colonel Roy Campbell (Paul Eiding) forces Snake to infiltrate an Antarctic Nuclear Disposal Island (Shadow Moses) were the soldiers have formed an uprising and threaten to nuke the U.S government if they do not exceed to their demands. The soldiers are no other than Snake's old Unit Fox-Hound led by colourful commanders Revolver Ocelot, Sniper Wolf, Psycho Mantis, Decoy Octopus, Vulcan Raven and leader of the revolt Liquid Snake (who bares an uncanny resemblance to Solid Snake). With the aid of Campbell's supposed niece Meryl Silverburgh, Mei Ling, Dr. Naomi Hunter, Otacon, Master Miller and a mysterious Cyborg Ninja. Snake must rescue two hostages who are heads in weapon development, face his past demons and thwart the giant nuclear Bi-pedal tank METAL GEAR REX.

    Considered to be an obvious Quasi remake-sequel to "Metal Gear 2" to rob you of experiencing the full story of "Metal Gear Solid" would be criminal, then again as the PlayStation's defining stand alone game to not have experienced it yet is ridiculous, At the time nothing had ever looked or played like this, every pixel is bursting with atmosphere made all the more impressive by the little things such as Snake's breath in the harsh cold, optional codec conversations, lighting once discovered, constant breaking of the fourth wall and the devilishly good music cues all build this unforgettable experience.

    Being the age of 6 at the time of this games release, it changed me, considering that "Ocarina of Time" is my overall favourite game for all ages, "Metal Gear Solid" treated you like an adult, considering all that was to follow in the later sequels, "Metal Gear Solid" still had (has) everything that made the game whole and to me that was the games villians.

    Solid Snake is hands down my favourite character, but how deep they got with the enemies still hasn't been surpassed, motives and development change throughout the story, upon certain death lifestyles are reflected, final words of wisdom are uttered and above all a mutual respect for each others will, that and REX will always be my favourite Metal Gear model.

    I could go on forever (sadly there's the 5000 character max. and I'm running out) One minor gripe to be had is the amount of backtracking that takes place, also for a series known for absurd cutscene length, it never bothered me here (MGS4 a little).

    That said everything else is sublime, Mr. Shinkawa's art is amongst my favourite, the fact that Lego's helped build the area's is a fun fact. and having Mantis read your mind (Memory card save files) really helps make this game one of a kind and cement it's status with gusto.

    Ultimately my 2nd favourite game ever, Unputdownable and Unforgettable. 10/10
    Expand
  41. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    I have always been under the charm of this game, even at my most frustrated. It is truly a work of art and a defining moment in games as a whole, but it is not totally without its flaws. The controls are tight, but they lack a certain intuitiveness since the game was created in a time when controls had not yet truly adapted to 3-D environments. The gunplay can be frustrating, and much of the game has strange choices of camera angles, switching from the classic view of the NES titles to more cinematic and angled views, which doesn't lend itself to aiming a weapon. Stealth is something this game still does well, and provides a similar tension to most recent games while sneaking around. The AI can be a little sketchy and inconsistent, but they still serve their purpose.
    What I have found to be the core of this title's survivability is its script and unique approach to the gamer. It breaks the fourth wall on several occasions, which highlights a certain respect and acknowledgement Kojima has with the participants of his art. While not all of the concepts within the script hit their mark on a believable scale, it is made sure that they are coherent and carry the underlying themes of war and identity. In short, it is a game that knows its a game, and celebrates it.
    Though it can be gimmicky, and hasn't dated the way I always thought it would, it remains perfectly playable and engaging, often forcing me to remember a day where games were less accessible and had a more severe learning curve. While bordering the line of reality and 90s cheese, it is unapologetic. It doesn't care if you like it or not.
    Expand
  42. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Apart from a few bugs and glitches, this game for its time and arguably even today is near perfection. The character's, the story, the gameplay. Each vital piece of the game sewn together to make THE game that defined the stealth genre. The characters are realistic and heartfelt, each having an interesting past and secretive ulterior motives. The story, one of the best in games of that time. Dramatic, engaging and mind-blowing, it raised the bar for other games to beat. Then there's the gameplay, espionage orientated. Sneak past your enemies, fight them, it was your choice. Definitely a game built to stand the age of time, along with its sequels. To anyone having not played it, do so. Expand
  43. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    La perfeccion existe? si, es este juego no podes hacerte llamar gamer si no jugaste este señor juego, los q dicen q los graficos no son buenos no tienen idea de nada, era play 1 man los personajes la historia de pelicula, simplemente excelente
  44. CGU
    Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Je n'ai jamais retrouvé l'ambiance et l'intensité de MGS ailleurs... Le meilleur jeux pour encore longtemps. Même les autres épisodes auxquels j'ai joué ne parviennent pas son niveau.
    From France.
  45. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    No words are needed here, you can see the overall score. This game combines excellent graphics (for PlayStation standards), fantastic story, amazing music and the best voice acting ever. This is a masterpiece every player have to experience to understand.
  46. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Metal gear solid was a innovative game
    it was one of the first game in history to use tactical espionage action
    i mean, one of the first game to use stealth gameplay
    what can i say about a game that everyone have been said
  47. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    I played through this game for the first time a few days ago, I had to catch up with the story, as I bought the Metal Gear HD Collection for Vita.
    The first time you play this game, there is this like "aura" thing that only the good games have. You know you are playing a good game, and you wanna see more. The fact that you're pretty much thrown out in the game without knowing much about
    the commands is pretty exciting too, and you'll die several times in the first area, without frustration. Yet.
    The first let's say two hours of the game are really cool. You're learning how to go with the horrible commands and it's actually pretty satisfying to be stealthy with such bad controls, the music is very nice, the scenario a priori classic but efficient so far... And then comes the first punch in the throat.
    After two hours of great rythm, the game tells you to go through the whole map again to pick an item in one of the very first rooms. Utch, cringe. And a big one. But still, you do it, because hey, the game was really good so far and you wanna see what's next. Once you did that, it's all cool 'cause you can finally get back to the game and its story... Nope, just kidding Like an hour after the first trip, you gotta do it again, but this time, you explored even more of the map, so it takes even longer. And now, the is launched.
    The terrible sequences, made worse by the bad commands, keep going and going. Fights in elevators, keep-runnin'-and-shootin' in stairs sequence, not even-fun-to-beat bosses, re-used sequences,... You thought you were in for an Infiltration game How cute, it's just a shooter bro. A shooter with bad camera angles, outdated commands and overall very, very tedious gameplay.
    To try to keep it as short as possible, I would say that Metal Gear Solid is not a bad game, but is not the masterpiece some people would like it to be because of nostalgia and how stupid they were when they first played it back in the 90's. The scenario is great and so is the story behind all characters, and that's pretty much it. That's what keeps you going through all the tediousness of the rest of the game, 'cause boy is it tedious.
    I couldn't bring myself to score this game a 6/10, 'cause they say it's a classic, and the story was pretty damn good, so I'll give it a 7/10, +1 because it's an old game.
    You can try to go through Metal Gear Solid for two reasons one is nostalgia, second is to be able to understand everything that's going on in the sequels. But if you're just willing to play good old games because you like good old games, I would say there are way more games that deserves your attention. Everything that comes from the PS1 in 2013 feels not as good as it did in the 90's, in other words outdated.
    Expand
  48. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    The third installment of the Metal Gear series is a revolutionary video game involving espionage. The game is far from perfect, despite the nostalgic approach that many use with bias. Outdated A.I. for its time and awkward controls are the only issues that one could have with Metal Gear Solid.
  49. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    A profound classic that started a legacy. To this very day it doesn't cease to impress me and is one of few games I have witnessed to aged with excellence. A game you should at least get the chance to experience, because it may change how you see games today.
  50. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    It's my first game and my favourite game. The music is just amazing. The game is very pleasurable and the boss are just mythical. This game is a must have this game is THE GAME
  51. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    I played this game from start to finish, and it is simply a masterpiece.

    From the beginning to end, the story keeps you captivated with interesting characters (though it gets a bit on the cheesy japanese side from time to time) and great gameplay.

    The fact that I'm writing this with full confidence in 2014, should say how much of game it was for the 1990s.
    Two words: Perfect. Play (it)
  52. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    To this day it is one of the most groundbreaking games of all time. You can sit down and play this game 16 years after it's release and still be completely blown away. The storytelling and characters are excellent. The graphics and gameplay mechanics are of course outdated, but again the game is 16 years old. Top 10 game of all time.
  53. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    People may say there are too many cutscenes and not enough gameplay, but that is definitely not a problem. The story in this game is one of my favorite stories of all time in video games, and the gameplay is still incredibly fun after all these years. I'm 15 years old and have played all the new Xbox 360 and PS3 games, and this game is still able to compete with the new releases.
  54. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This game blew my mind in such a significant way that it changed my perception of video games. Metal Gear Solid has easily one of the best stories in any game I have ever played and it`s presented perfectly thanks to an amazing soundtrack, great visuals, fantastic voice acting and stunning directing. This game has the best tactical espionage gameplay I have experienced so far but for me, that wasn`t what made it so special. What made this game a true classic that will be written in video game history is how it all blends together to create an experience. Metal Gear Solid is more than just a game, it`s an emotional journey that atleast showed me that video games are more than just entertainment, it`s high art with MGS being at the pinnacle. The emotional impact it had on me aswell as how intrigued I was in the story that was presented to me, I`m speechless. Metal Gear Solid is easily one of the finest video game masterpieces out there. Expand
  55. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years Expand
  56. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    I was always uninterested in this game, but after hearing an over abundance of praise I thought I would try it. Man this game is amazing! this game set the bar for all future cinematic video games and despite being well over 10 years old, it holds up as one of the best games ever and is still fun to play. deep characters, deep plot, fun gameplay that still manages to satisfy even though its a ps1 game. with that being said, I cant imagine how great this game must have been on its release. probably one of the greatest video game franchises of all time. Expand
  57. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Great! Worth to play any time anywhere by anyone. Everybody have to play this game. Its 100% classic, never gets old. Storyline, dialogs, gameplay, its awesome!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. 100
    It is literally full of those 'classic' moments that are all too rare these days. Whether it's the first time your footprints are discovered, the first time you perform a stealth kill, finding out the identity of the 'Ninja', solving the method of defeating Psycho Mantis, obtaining the camera and seeking out your first 'ghost'... there are so many classic memories.
  3. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.