Metal Gear Solid PlayStation

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 1998
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1028 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, dangerTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game was a masterpiece. Metal Gear revolutionized the game industry with it's idea of: "You don't have to kill them, just sneak past them!" Many gamers like the idea that you can slip past people. Others like the idea that you can just blow through them like a steamroller. While that isn't impossible in MGS and it's sequels, it isn't recommended. The story is deep, enthralling andThis game was a masterpiece. Metal Gear revolutionized the game industry with it's idea of: "You don't have to kill them, just sneak past them!" Many gamers like the idea that you can slip past people. Others like the idea that you can just blow through them like a steamroller. While that isn't impossible in MGS and it's sequels, it isn't recommended. The story is deep, enthralling and full of twists and turns. Some might find it hard to grasp.
    I give this game a 10/10 for a astounding story, great gameplay, and above par voice-acting.
    Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Fun, cool, and unique. The characters, the story, the gameplay.... its all just top notch.
  4. MarkD.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Possably the greatest game ever, certainly the greatest PSX game! The stealthy gameplay made it more tense, gripping and non liniar then any aciton game before it (and not to mention revolutionary). It also had more unforgettable "classic moments" then any other game i've ever played.
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the finest action games ever made. MGS launched the stealth action genre in a was that no one expected. For it's time nothing like it had ever been made and it's legacy certainly lives on. I can think of no better game that deserves an update to the current generation.
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    i remember playing metal gear back on the NES long ago . now it returns to the PS1 and solid snake is kicking some major ass . this game has a solid story and great voice acting in a day when pretty much any and every games voice acting was rancid crap. a great gun selection fun boss fights and really well i cant think of any thing negitive to say about this game . its a game that feelsi remember playing metal gear back on the NES long ago . now it returns to the PS1 and solid snake is kicking some major ass . this game has a solid story and great voice acting in a day when pretty much any and every games voice acting was rancid crap. a great gun selection fun boss fights and really well i cant think of any thing negitive to say about this game . its a game that feels like a kick ass movie . Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid can safely be called the cream-of-the-crop stealth game. It looks amazing (even though it has PlayStation graphics) because of every layout and background is crafted so beautifully. The music really fits the scene and the score was well done. The gameplay immerses you so deeply that it goes beyond the TV screen and involves you, the player. It tells you to find hints onMetal Gear Solid can safely be called the cream-of-the-crop stealth game. It looks amazing (even though it has PlayStation graphics) because of every layout and background is crafted so beautifully. The music really fits the scene and the score was well done. The gameplay immerses you so deeply that it goes beyond the TV screen and involves you, the player. It tells you to find hints on the CD case, the Psycho Mantis boss can read your memory card for other games by Konami or tell you if you have saved in a while, or the way to beat Psycho Mantis, or when you get tortured; you and your thumbs actually feel like they are getting tortured. This immersion can only be found in this title, and not even with games today. The game has so many "little things" that really make it stand out. For example, if you hide in a box in a truck, you will get driven to the place on the box. No one told you that would happen and that is the beauty of it when you discover it. The bosses are numerous, challenging, and truly a fun experience. Metal Gear Solid is just plain ground-breaking and the reviews show it. As of this date, there are no user reviews under a "9" on Metacritic and only one yellow critic score. I would like to think that the one yellow review was a mistake and was supposed to be intended for a different game because then I would have to question it's sanity. There are only two problems that made this title not quite get a perfect "10." First, aiming most the weapons were a pain and I do not understand why I could not shoot in first-person mode. I wish that the entire game was a first-person-shooter after you beat it once. That would definitely make me have to play it again! The second issue was the many moments when a long cutscene appeared and I was just watching and waiting. I would skip them if it were another game, but the story is hard enough to follow, as is, due to the number of plot twists. The game consists of a total of a little over three hours of cutscenes, by the way! I finished normal mode in twenty hours, so 15% of my game was pure cinematic video! To be fair, the cutscenes were well done, but the thing is I didn't buy a movie. Overall, a very involving game that will go down in history for its originality and beauty with very few flaws. Expand
  8. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is not a perfect tittle, but equal to Zelda is almost perfect . The ten that i give to games it's because it top's superb tittles. During the time the game was ( and always will be) creative, genius and awesome. Who will forget the time you fought Psycho - Mantis with the reading memory card and also changing slots, no other game did that at the time, many other game copyMetal Gear Solid is not a perfect tittle, but equal to Zelda is almost perfect . The ten that i give to games it's because it top's superb tittles. During the time the game was ( and always will be) creative, genius and awesome. Who will forget the time you fought Psycho - Mantis with the reading memory card and also changing slots, no other game did that at the time, many other game copy that features on their own . A classic master piece. Expand
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Even today it is still the best title of the series. The stealth system was new and unique, it had voice action and a complex story with twists to think about.
  10. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Plain and simple, MGS1 proves that games with limitations and discretion are more often the most entertaining and the most meaningful. I read through the whole metal gear storyline before playing MGS4, but after finishing the latest installment I knew I was missing something, and so I purchased the PSN Ps1 version of Metal Gear Solid 1 for PS3. Not only was this thirteen year old game morePlain and simple, MGS1 proves that games with limitations and discretion are more often the most entertaining and the most meaningful. I read through the whole metal gear storyline before playing MGS4, but after finishing the latest installment I knew I was missing something, and so I purchased the PSN Ps1 version of Metal Gear Solid 1 for PS3. Not only was this thirteen year old game more than worth the $10, it probably wound up being the best deal on a video game I ever made. The simple gameplay mechanics are intuitive and human - it rewards common sense and natural thought processes more than any other game I've ever played. What's nowadays considered "miscellaneous" aspects here are the most charming and important - the character development is immediately rich, although it bares a little to close to cliche anime writing which was a slight personal turn off; the puzzles are bar none infinitely more clever than any other game ever made; even the no-doubt-about-it outdated graphics provide the right charm and connotation for everything you encounter. The point of this review is less to praise this game and more convince anyone wondering whether or not this game lives up to hype that it undoubtedly does. I'm extremely cynical when it comes to games (Bioshock and Portal were the only games I ever even considered worth a glance), and this pushes me only more so. Metal Gear Solid is not a video game; it's a masterpiece of contemporary culture, and exceedingly well worth anyone's (even/especially non-gamers') time. Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    There literally wasn't any or still isn't any video game like this game, it mastered the stealth genre like no other, one of the best video games on the Play Station or on any video game system, a Masterpiece.
  12. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Stealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feelStealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feel like you're sneaking around enemies and learning more about the mission, and you learn to not always believe what you're told. It's a game that feels real, the story feels plausible despite how unlikely it is, it's a piece of fantasy set in the real world. The graphics may not hold out, but the soundtrack, gameplay, story and characters make up for it Expand
  13. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Usually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's aUsually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's a cinematic masterpiece and one of the greatest stealth games ever made. Expand
  14. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This is by far the best PS Game.

    If today game industry have investment so much money in actors, cinema directors, guionist, writers, IT'S ALL BECAUSE OF THIS GAME!!!. I don't remember any game with so much trama before this. The games was created for play and for having fun, especially for kids to play (Super Nintendo, SEGA genesis era). Playstation created the best platform for
    This is by far the best PS Game.

    If today game industry have investment so much money in actors, cinema directors, guionist, writers, IT'S ALL BECAUSE OF THIS GAME!!!.

    I don't remember any game with so much trama before this. The games was created for play and for having fun, especially for kids to play (Super Nintendo, SEGA genesis era). Playstation created the best platform for Kojima to make this piece of art.

    I became a Metal Gear and Playstation fan by this game, iplay the game first as a demo version on the Demo Vol.9 on the PSOne i have only 8 years old and don't speak english, and i remember me and my dad watching this and i remember that this was the most amazing thing, if you compared this game to any of that year and years before the difference it's so much bigger, even many ps2 games aren't that good like this. Pure quality
    Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. It’s an absolutely must-have. If you have never played, buy it now and start playing as there is no tomorrow!!!
  16. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazingThis game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazing game. But this shocked me about how defied all my expectations. To start, the controls are great. Gameplay is very stealth driven, especially at the start. They also included a mechanic where when you beat the bosses, you where able to carry more items and got a health increase. This made you feel like you were progressing through the game. Anyone who says anything bad about graphics don't deserve to call themselves a gamer. You can't blame Konami for them because they only had that at the time. Even so, the visuals look amazing with so much attention to detail all throughout. Voice acting is top notch, definitely movie quality. As for the cutscenes, yes they are long, but it's a better movie then Heavy Rain. The cutscenes help to paint a beautiful and amazing story. The soundtrack is also awe inspiring. From the high energy of Escape, to the desperation of Encounter and finally to the beauty of The Best is Yet to Come, the soundtrack will grip you by the sheer fact that the Playstation could handle it. The soundtrack is so fitting and just so amazing, that it leaves me speechless. I have saved the best for last. Enemy AI is smart. If they notice any trace of you, the will look for you, and if they find you, they will pull the alarm and you better hide. Next, the boss battles. Metal Gear Solid is known for it's boss fights. This game contains easily some of the best in the franchise. From the gun duel with Ocelot, to Psycho Mantis who must be applauded for destroying the fourth wall throughout the fight, to the sniper duel with Sniper Wolf and lastly the final duel with Liquid Snake, the boss fights will amaze you, because they are some of the best. And lastly, and easily the best part of this game, is the story. As I have said, the cutscenes are long because they help paint such a deep plot. Hideo Kojima is the master of storytelling. The story is top notch and will keep you engaged all throughout. The story is deeply riddled with themes such as war and nuclear annihilation. The only thing that I can truly say about the story is that only way to truly experience it is to play the game yourself. The story has numerous plot twists that make it worth watching. The plot rivals that of many of the films and movies that have praised for their story. This game deserves nothing more then a perfect 10/10. Hideo Kojima has outdone himself and has proven that he is the king of storytelling. I feel pity for anyone who plays the XBox because unless they are willing to buy a PS3 or a PS2, they will not be able to enjoy the sheer masterpiece that this game is. It is worth any price and is a must own for anyone who likes stealth games or deep stories. Kojima, I salute you. Expand
  17. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Playing this game for the first time felt unreal. There was no game like it back then, and there won't ever be (unless of course you take the sequels into consideration). Great gameplay, great atmosphere, great dialogues and voice acting, plenty of cutscenes and of course the talent of Hideo Kojima are the key elements to its success.
  18. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    I played this game from start to finish, and it is simply a masterpiece.

    From the beginning to end, the story keeps you captivated with interesting characters (though it gets a bit on the cheesy japanese side from time to time) and great gameplay.

    The fact that I'm writing this with full confidence in 2014, should say how much of game it was for the 1990s.
    Two words: Perfect. Play (it)
  19. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    To this day it is one of the most groundbreaking games of all time. You can sit down and play this game 16 years after it's release and still be completely blown away. The storytelling and characters are excellent. The graphics and gameplay mechanics are of course outdated, but again the game is 16 years old. Top 10 game of all time.
  20. Me
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    Very good game.
  21. ErikG.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    this game is totally awesome for a playstation game it keeps you guessing all the way through defintley a 10 on my vote!
  22. JohnD.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Best game ever, even today. A must have!
  23. RickN.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Gaming classic. 'Nuff said.
  24. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    When this game first came out, I was seriously amazed. A classic and probably the best in the series.
  25. AlC.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    One of the best for PS1. Innovative in almost every aspect, Kojima doesn't disappoint. An engaging storyline, fantastic character development, and gameplay that is varied and just plain fun.
  26. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    A brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players aA brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players a lot of fun Expand
  27. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Firstly, i need to point out that i'm not one of those people who gives 10 scores to every half decent game. In fact this is the only game i've deemed worthy of a perfect 10 so far on Metacritic. So yeah, i consider Metal Gear Solid very special indeed. It's just one of those games that only comes along perhaps once every 10 years. Even now, ten years later it's still a rollercoasterFirstly, i need to point out that i'm not one of those people who gives 10 scores to every half decent game. In fact this is the only game i've deemed worthy of a perfect 10 so far on Metacritic. So yeah, i consider Metal Gear Solid very special indeed. It's just one of those games that only comes along perhaps once every 10 years. Even now, ten years later it's still a rollercoaster thrillride that will have you sweating with tension one minute and your mouth hanging open in awe the next. It was also full of more invention and brilliant ideas then any other action game i've ever played. If not the best game ever then certainly a contender. Expand
  28. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This is a wonderful game. It serves as a great start to the legendary Metal Gear Solid series. Even in modern days it is still one of the best single player games around.
  29. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. The story is so damn good that never gets boring. The graphics are nice for a ps one game and the sound is great and catch perfectly the game's atmosphere. The characters are memorable and the dialogues are nice. One of the best ps one games ever.
  30. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    Metal Gear Solid could be coined as the first modern video game. It was the game that set the trend for high quality cinematic storytelling in a videogame as well as being a revolutionary game for the stealth genre.
    Set after Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2, Metal Gear Solid once again places you in the shoes of Solid Snake. This time he is sent in to infiltrate a facility on Shadow Moses
    Metal Gear Solid could be coined as the first modern video game. It was the game that set the trend for high quality cinematic storytelling in a videogame as well as being a revolutionary game for the stealth genre.
    Set after Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2, Metal Gear Solid once again places you in the shoes of Solid Snake. This time he is sent in to infiltrate a facility on Shadow Moses island, there he finds a private military guarding nuclear weapons as well as a superweapon codenamed Metal Gear REX. The brains behind the operation is Snake's brother, Liquid Snake; as well as his team of terrorists called FOXHOUND. It's up to Snake to stop the operation on Shadow Moses and save the world from nuclear disaster.
    Raising the bar for not only stealth games, action games and storytelling in a video game, but also setting the standard for mature video games and giving the original PlayStation a serious advantage over the competition.
    If you're a gamer and you have not played this game, you owe it to yourself to do so.
    Expand
  31. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Finishing Metal Gear Solid is not an easy task. Yes, it's not brutally difficult, but it requires a lot of patience. But the patience is worth it. Nearly every aspect of MGS is fantastic, even today. The graphics might be a bit dated but all the same hold much charm and simplicity. The gameplay mechanics defined the stealth/action genre and indeed the MGS series are still the best stealthFinishing Metal Gear Solid is not an easy task. Yes, it's not brutally difficult, but it requires a lot of patience. But the patience is worth it. Nearly every aspect of MGS is fantastic, even today. The graphics might be a bit dated but all the same hold much charm and simplicity. The gameplay mechanics defined the stealth/action genre and indeed the MGS series are still the best stealth games out there. The story is ridiculous, with so many plot twists and turns, and Kojima doesn't care one bit. You can sit for ten minutes listening to a new met enemy rambling on and on about philosophy, politics and everything else, and it's worse when Snake is cooporating with them which leads to many awkward conversations. Dialog is what Kojima couldn't handle right, and that's a shame because that was actualy the only real gripe I have had with the game, but I guess that it's part of the magic that this series has. The bosses are fantastic, the mood is great. The game forces you to think about your next move and be on your toes. You constantly have to stay alert and learn to use your gadget arsenal wisely. I also loved the characters, as childish and silly some of them might be, because their personalities are interesting and unique. The codec conversations can be really good and it's especially nice that you can contact characters and get advice or perspective from them. I can safely say that every gamer should experience this game. It might seem dated but it really holds up after all this time, for some strange reason, and is stil perfectly playable. It's humorous, difficult, and fun.But most importantly , It's a fascinating creation that Hideo and his team managed to make. The game is very unique and has many small nuances that really make it an unforgettable experience. Expand
  32. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This masterpiece deserves the attention of all gamers. With Its incredible story and a very accessible control scheme, It won't take long to learn the stealth and action elements from MGS. Don't have a ps1? The game is now downloadable through the Playstation Store. Buy it play it 'ya won't regret it!
  33. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    IF YOU, reader, IS A FAN OF STEALTH GENRE, you don't have the obligation to like Metal Gear Solid, but AT LEAST, YOU MUST HAVE RESPECT FOR WHAT THIS GAME REPRESENTS TO THE STEALTH GAMES. I know that the game-play may not be too frenetic, but it happens because of the title game: TATICAL ESPIONAGE ACTION. The graphics aren't good, in fact, I THINK THE GAME MUST A REMAKE. The story is oneIF YOU, reader, IS A FAN OF STEALTH GENRE, you don't have the obligation to like Metal Gear Solid, but AT LEAST, YOU MUST HAVE RESPECT FOR WHAT THIS GAME REPRESENTS TO THE STEALTH GAMES. I know that the game-play may not be too frenetic, but it happens because of the title game: TATICAL ESPIONAGE ACTION. The graphics aren't good, in fact, I THINK THE GAME MUST A REMAKE. The story is one of the mayor points of all MGS, the dialogues, the climax, the bosses, the supporting characters, the protagonist, no negative comments. Expand
  34. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I recently had a conversation about this game and I should say: everything about this game is memorable. The SMG, figuring how to get the stealth suit, unlimited ammo. The bosses all have their own story without being corny, some of them are utterly scary -Psycho Mantis, Raven, Gray Fox- while others demand tactic play -first tank, Sniper Wolf-. So there's a story that could easily be aI recently had a conversation about this game and I should say: everything about this game is memorable. The SMG, figuring how to get the stealth suit, unlimited ammo. The bosses all have their own story without being corny, some of them are utterly scary -Psycho Mantis, Raven, Gray Fox- while others demand tactic play -first tank, Sniper Wolf-. So there's a story that could easily be a novel, the gameplay fits and had extra's that made you replay the game, the bosses have everything you could possibly wish for, so one question remains: what's bad about this game. Well, some would say graphics. Personally, people who start nagging bout graphics don't know what games are about. It's a stealth game, I can understand some would rather just run into the building and shoot like a war pig or go nuke-crazy. However this game has defined stealth games to what they are and should be and it spawned -so far- three great sequels that were innovative in their own way and that's why it deserves no less than a perfect 10. Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Replayed just now after all these years (I hadn't played it since at least 2005) and it' still one of the best. Words are meaningless. This is the definition of classic and a game to be remembered.
  36. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time it is the grandfather of modern gaming it is cinematic and a first of its kind and it began the voice acting in gaming and it has amazing soundtrack and gameplay the story is amazing in this game even now you'll enjoy playing this game even if you have a PS3 or Xbox 360
  37. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    There is nothing new to say about this game that you don't already know. But almost 20 years later you can see how much it affected and raised the standards for both the game industry and the movies.
  38. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Top notch stealth genre with mixed action/adventure, professional cinematic cutscenes, voice acting and brilliant soundtrack, It's a game which I hold dear to my heart and one which I will always remember for being one the reasons I grew up to love video games.
  39. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    The First in a series of reviews for the "Metal Gear Solid" Saga. starting with the MSX2 titles and of course the legendary "Metal Gear Solid" for PS1.

    Japan 1987, a young inexperienced yet incredibly ambitious Game designer Hideo Kojima was given the reigns to a franchise entitled "Metal Gear", due to hardware limitations the heavy inspired full on action "Metal Gear" promised would
    The First in a series of reviews for the "Metal Gear Solid" Saga. starting with the MSX2 titles and of course the legendary "Metal Gear Solid" for PS1.

    Japan 1987, a young inexperienced yet incredibly ambitious Game designer Hideo Kojima was given the reigns to a franchise entitled "Metal Gear", due to hardware limitations the heavy inspired full on action "Metal Gear" promised would undoubtedly hinder the games overall success.

    Kojima an experienced film buff, inspired by the likes of "The Great Escape" suggested a game where stealth would be better suited, though Konami had doubts the game performed extremely well on play tests and ultimately "Metal Gear" saw great success. however the West was treated to a very altered version in the form of an NES game that Kojima had nothing to do with was ridiculous in comparison, also a shoddy unofficial sequel had spawned "Snake's Revenge" .

    "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake" saw the light of day in 1990 again on the MSX2 computer system this time with better graphics, crawling and hiding spots were included as well as a deep anti-war story with plenty of philosophy still relevant today.

    "It doesn't matter who wins here. Our fight will continue. The loser will be liberated from the battlefield, and the survivor will live out the rest of his days as a soldier."

    These two games continued to provide an excellent challenge and still hold incredibly well for today, considering that many games at the time were about trying to achieve a high score, the MSX "Metal Gear's" were something special but only the beginning of something truly industry changing.

    Originally planned for the 3DO console in 94, Development began on the third installment, backed by a skilled artist (Yoji Shinkawa) and a dedicated team, Kojima suddenly saw larger potential in SONY's forthcoming PlayStation console, "Metal Gear Solid" saw release on the PS1 in 1998, backed with cutscenes, superb voice acting, tight controls, cinematic camera placement, unforgettable characters and a superb Anti-Nuclear weapon story filled with deceit, plot twists and multiple endings.

    You play as Solid Snake (a unforgettable voice performance from David Hayter) an ex-soldier of special forces unit Fox-Hound, pulled out of self exile by his old associate Colonel Roy Campbell (Paul Eiding) forces Snake to infiltrate an Antarctic Nuclear Disposal Island (Shadow Moses) were the soldiers have formed an uprising and threaten to nuke the U.S government if they do not exceed to their demands. The soldiers are no other than Snake's old Unit Fox-Hound led by colourful commanders Revolver Ocelot, Sniper Wolf, Psycho Mantis, Decoy Octopus, Vulcan Raven and leader of the revolt Liquid Snake (who bares an uncanny resemblance to Solid Snake). With the aid of Campbell's supposed niece Meryl Silverburgh, Mei Ling, Dr. Naomi Hunter, Otacon, Master Miller and a mysterious Cyborg Ninja. Snake must rescue two hostages who are heads in weapon development, face his past demons and thwart the giant nuclear Bi-pedal tank METAL GEAR REX.

    Considered to be an obvious Quasi remake-sequel to "Metal Gear 2" to rob you of experiencing the full story of "Metal Gear Solid" would be criminal, then again as the PlayStation's defining stand alone game to not have experienced it yet is ridiculous, At the time nothing had ever looked or played like this, every pixel is bursting with atmosphere made all the more impressive by the little things such as Snake's breath in the harsh cold, optional codec conversations, lighting once discovered, constant breaking of the fourth wall and the devilishly good music cues all build this unforgettable experience.

    Being the age of 6 at the time of this games release, it changed me, considering that "Ocarina of Time" is my overall favourite game for all ages, "Metal Gear Solid" treated you like an adult, considering all that was to follow in the later sequels, "Metal Gear Solid" still had (has) everything that made the game whole and to me that was the games villians.

    Solid Snake is hands down my favourite character, but how deep they got with the enemies still hasn't been surpassed, motives and development change throughout the story, upon certain death lifestyles are reflected, final words of wisdom are uttered and above all a mutual respect for each others will, that and REX will always be my favourite Metal Gear model.

    I could go on forever (sadly there's the 5000 character max. and I'm running out) One minor gripe to be had is the amount of backtracking that takes place, also for a series known for absurd cutscene length, it never bothered me here (MGS4 a little).

    That said everything else is sublime, Mr. Shinkawa's art is amongst my favourite, the fact that Lego's helped build the area's is a fun fact. and having Mantis read your mind (Memory card save files) really helps make this game one of a kind and cement it's status with gusto.

    Ultimately my 2nd favourite game ever, Unputdownable and Unforgettable. 10/10
    Expand
  40. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Phenomenal game. I had enormous expectations for this game and franchise because I was very late to the party. My first experience with the series was with the Legacy Collection that just game out a month ago, but I've been playing almost nothing but MGS, MGS2, and MGS3 (haven't beaten it yet) in that time frame. I honestly don't have anything negative to say about the game. It's amazing.Phenomenal game. I had enormous expectations for this game and franchise because I was very late to the party. My first experience with the series was with the Legacy Collection that just game out a month ago, but I've been playing almost nothing but MGS, MGS2, and MGS3 (haven't beaten it yet) in that time frame. I honestly don't have anything negative to say about the game. It's amazing. I understand these games aren't for everyone, but I still very much believe they are deserving of full 10's. I believe everyone should at least give it a try. Expand
  41. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    La perfeccion existe? si, es este juego no podes hacerte llamar gamer si no jugaste este señor juego, los q dicen q los graficos no son buenos no tienen idea de nada, era play 1 man los personajes la historia de pelicula, simplemente excelente
  42. CGU
    Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Je n'ai jamais retrouvé l'ambiance et l'intensité de MGS ailleurs... Le meilleur jeux pour encore longtemps. Même les autres épisodes auxquels j'ai joué ne parviennent pas son niveau.
    From France.
  43. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    Looking back on "Metal Gear Solid", it surprises me how well this game has aged, considering most PS1 and N64 games did not age well at all. One of the best cinematic experiences in video games, "MGS" tells a well crafted (albeit often confusing) story with terrific voice acting, memorable characters, inventive gameplay and beautiful cinematography. Even if some of its gameplay mechanicsLooking back on "Metal Gear Solid", it surprises me how well this game has aged, considering most PS1 and N64 games did not age well at all. One of the best cinematic experiences in video games, "MGS" tells a well crafted (albeit often confusing) story with terrific voice acting, memorable characters, inventive gameplay and beautiful cinematography. Even if some of its gameplay mechanics are questionable by today's standards, if you want to experience one of the greatest video game series of all time, somehow, someway, you have to start here. Expand
  44. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    No words are needed here, you can see the overall score. This game combines excellent graphics (for PlayStation standards), fantastic story, amazing music and the best voice acting ever. This is a masterpiece every player have to experience to understand.
  45. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Metal gear solid was a innovative game
    it was one of the first game in history to use tactical espionage action
    i mean, one of the first game to use stealth gameplay
    what can i say about a game that everyone have been said
  46. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    I played MGS back in the 90's and I remember it being pretty good, but now after replaying it almost 20 years later I'm glad to realize that the legend is true and this is actually a timeless masterpiece that aged extremely well and still is one of the best pieces of art in this genre. Amazing story, characters, atmosphere, gameplay, boss fights, this game can also troll you pretty hard inI played MGS back in the 90's and I remember it being pretty good, but now after replaying it almost 20 years later I'm glad to realize that the legend is true and this is actually a timeless masterpiece that aged extremely well and still is one of the best pieces of art in this genre. Amazing story, characters, atmosphere, gameplay, boss fights, this game can also troll you pretty hard in a clever way. It's a complete experience, extremely compact and well-made. A Classic. Now I'm looking forward to play the sequels to see if they can keep this level of quality or maybe even surpass it. 10/10 Expand
  47. Sep 1, 2016
    8
    Yes yes yes, I know everything is excellent, EXCEPT for the dialogues. Cheesy dialogues are probably the appeal of MGS, but it is not an excuse for the awfulness of them. The dialogues are so corny I couldn't help but cringe like hell. Don't tell me about the Japanese version since I played both Japanese and English versions and they are just as bad!!
  48. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    A profound classic that started a legacy. To this very day it doesn't cease to impress me and is one of few games I have witnessed to aged with excellence. A game you should at least get the chance to experience, because it may change how you see games today.
  49. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    It's my first game and my favourite game. The music is just amazing. The game is very pleasurable and the boss are just mythical. This game is a must have this game is THE GAME
  50. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    People may say there are too many cutscenes and not enough gameplay, but that is definitely not a problem. The story in this game is one of my favorite stories of all time in video games, and the gameplay is still incredibly fun after all these years. I'm 15 years old and have played all the new Xbox 360 and PS3 games, and this game is still able to compete with the new releases.
  51. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This game blew my mind in such a significant way that it changed my perception of video games. Metal Gear Solid has easily one of the best stories in any game I have ever played and it`s presented perfectly thanks to an amazing soundtrack, great visuals, fantastic voice acting and stunning directing. This game has the best tactical espionage gameplay I have experienced so far but for me,This game blew my mind in such a significant way that it changed my perception of video games. Metal Gear Solid has easily one of the best stories in any game I have ever played and it`s presented perfectly thanks to an amazing soundtrack, great visuals, fantastic voice acting and stunning directing. This game has the best tactical espionage gameplay I have experienced so far but for me, that wasn`t what made it so special. What made this game a true classic that will be written in video game history is how it all blends together to create an experience. Metal Gear Solid is more than just a game, it`s an emotional journey that atleast showed me that video games are more than just entertainment, it`s high art with MGS being at the pinnacle. The emotional impact it had on me aswell as how intrigued I was in the story that was presented to me, I`m speechless. Metal Gear Solid is easily one of the finest video game masterpieces out there. Expand
  52. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game inbest game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years best game in the every years Expand
  53. Jub
    Mar 2, 2015
    10
    At the time this was one of my favourites and guess what, it still sits with me as one of the best games I've ever played.

    I just thought I'd bother myself to rate this game on here and give it the score it deserves.
  54. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    My all-time favorite game on the PlayStation One is Metal Gear Solid and I have finished it countless of times. It is a shame that most games these days can’t compete to how well Metal Gear Solid was, from its very good voice acting, excellent stealth mechanics, interesting soundtracks, to its beautifully written deep story. Metal Gear Solid is a master piece that never gets old
  55. Jan 14, 2016
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is a perfect Amalgamation of Gameplay, Story, and design. it's story still sticks we me today and i loved every twist and turn, the gameplay was tough and challenging but not in a cheap way and while it looks dated now it was at the time amazing to see graphics like this. it's a damn near perfect game and is in my top 10 if not top 5 games
  56. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is simply a masterpiece.
    From it's dark and gripping storyline to it's well crafted stealth gameplay, this game is a blast to play, even now, more than a decade after its release it still is one of the best games ever created.

    All hail Kojima
  57. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    I spent one week beating this game, and I loved every second of it. The environments are beautiful, the voice acting and characters are great. Best names ever (Psycho Mantis, Revolver Ocelot). The graphics are outdated, but still look great for the time, This is what we need, love, care and soul put into a game, none of this yeary COD c##p. This game, which I had never played before,I spent one week beating this game, and I loved every second of it. The environments are beautiful, the voice acting and characters are great. Best names ever (Psycho Mantis, Revolver Ocelot). The graphics are outdated, but still look great for the time, This is what we need, love, care and soul put into a game, none of this yeary COD c##p. This game, which I had never played before, soared to my top ten, legacy collection in hand, MGS 2,3,4 and Peace Walker, here I come! Expand
  58. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    A masterpiece. A marvel at the time and still is today. The game that really launched the legend that is Solid Snake. Will always have a special place in my collection.
  59. Feb 3, 2015
    9
    Metal Gear Solid is a very unique title for PS1.
    The story and its development is totally incredible.
    It's the first game that dialog is that relevant in a video game, the voice acting is stunning.
    The only flaw for this game is the graphics quality, even when this is a PS1, the graphics could have been better.
  60. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A masterpiece. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............. Expand
  61. May 2, 2015
    10
    Fantastic game, first of all the soundtrack is great and will definitely keep you interested for ages. The story is one of the best I have ever seen and heard. The characters are great and extremely memorable there is a lot of character development that adds a lot of depth to the game. The controls are a bit annoying but fine when you get used to it so they aren't too big of a problem soFantastic game, first of all the soundtrack is great and will definitely keep you interested for ages. The story is one of the best I have ever seen and heard. The characters are great and extremely memorable there is a lot of character development that adds a lot of depth to the game. The controls are a bit annoying but fine when you get used to it so they aren't too big of a problem so it doesn't necessarily make the game any worse as they are overshadowed by how great the game is. The voice acting is exquisite and David Hayter voice is music to my ears. This game is a must own for the playstation and definitely worth a buy. Expand
  62. May 28, 2015
    10
    Quite Simply my favorite PS1 game of all time. If you haven't played this game yet. Then I highly recommend you do so this game does everything right, the storyline, characters, music, gameplay, cutscenes, graphics(for the time) and boss battles. it ticks all the right box's!
  63. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    This was the first Metal Gear Solid game, this game had great graphics for a game of 1998 and fantastic gameplay. The gameplay mechanics were just awesome and this game had many surprises. This game is unforgettable and is the best game on Playstation
  64. Sep 2, 2015
    10
    The best game for the PS1, a masterpiece. The story, the characters, the gameplay, everything in this game is perfectly done. A game that changed gaming industry forever.
  65. Oct 9, 2015
    9
    Yesterday I played MGS for the first time in my life, and I can say for certain that I regret waiting so long to play it. Snake's first adventure on the 3D world is definitely a remarkable, I did have some problems with it gameplay wise, though I'm willing to let it pass due to the game having 17 years, without many of the techniques newer games have, but the story this games shows to theYesterday I played MGS for the first time in my life, and I can say for certain that I regret waiting so long to play it. Snake's first adventure on the 3D world is definitely a remarkable, I did have some problems with it gameplay wise, though I'm willing to let it pass due to the game having 17 years, without many of the techniques newer games have, but the story this games shows to the player is something that I found unique and immerses the player, showing you great characters, scenarios and a fantastic plot, I can't wait to play the other games of the saga and judge them myself, and for now all I can say is that this one is worth every penny ever since it was released on 1998. Expand
  66. Mar 24, 2016
    9
    The first time I played this game was just recently in the wait for the new Metal Gear Solid V. So I'll start with what I think is bad about the game.

    I found this game really tedious at first, where the controls felt weird and the stealth mechanics in the game was challenging more because of how weird the controls were. The most annoying thing about the game is actually the sound when
    The first time I played this game was just recently in the wait for the new Metal Gear Solid V. So I'll start with what I think is bad about the game.

    I found this game really tedious at first, where the controls felt weird and the stealth mechanics in the game was challenging more because of how weird the controls were. The most annoying thing about the game is actually the sound when you get detected, since it's a lot higher then the game itself. I think I got at least 10 heart attacks while playing the game, and I couldn't find the settings to lower it or turn it off either. The combat in the game is also really annoying, where I found that it wasn't worth going fighting the enemy if I got detected, I rather died and tried again. Some of the boss battles also was more annoying then fun, like the boss where you had to use the sniper. It was just annoying, because the controls was so weird and slow. Most of the negative stuff is because the game is old and hasn't aged very well.

    What I loved about this game was basically everything else. The voice acting is really good, and the animations as well. It's a very intriguing story that makes you want to keep on playing, even though game play wise, it might not be the best. It actually felt like I was part of a movie because of the good cut-scenes. Some might say that the cut-scenes are to long, but in my opinion they are perfectly long. Story-wise this game is absolutely fantastic, with a lot of stuff that will surprise you and make you gasp, with cool character and REALLY interesting enemies.
    Expand
  67. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    un juego con muchos años por encima que no a perdido ni una gota de frescura, es un juego que brilla por si mismo, su historia, su banda sonora, su jugabilidad etc, un juego que debes jugar si o si en tu vida
  68. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    The grandfather of the stealth game is a masterpiece of engaging story and thrilling gameplay. What makes MGS so special is the unique features which were never seen before and haven't been seen since. Having Psycho Mantis "read the players mind" by accessing the memory card and switching controllers to beat him. Looking at the back of the CD case in order to progress through the game,The grandfather of the stealth game is a masterpiece of engaging story and thrilling gameplay. What makes MGS so special is the unique features which were never seen before and haven't been seen since. Having Psycho Mantis "read the players mind" by accessing the memory card and switching controllers to beat him. Looking at the back of the CD case in order to progress through the game, These are truly iconic moments giving Metal Gear Solid a special place in gaming history. Collapse
  69. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    One of the most imaginative and original games of its era only let down slightly by the longer than necessary cut-scenes. Nowadays you’d be better off buying the Twin Snakes remake on the Gamecube but this easily ranks amongst the greatest PSone title and is arguably still the best in the series.
  70. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is the measuring stick that I use to judge all other games by. It's the best that's ever existed. I was 15 years old when I first played it and I remember not wanting the story to ever end. Luckily, it's continued on. And now, there's a rumor that Kojima wants to have the original MGS re-made using current-gen graphics. Can't wait for it.
  71. fhl
    Sep 20, 2015
    10
    This is a must play game. Don't get fool by the "graphics" (nowadays people are blinded by it). Everything of this game is perfect, I enjoyed every single second of it.
  72. Apr 2, 2015
    10
    WOW! even now I wanna play it. 2 discs game. additional mission like VR missions and Time missions. Best example of stealth games. a lot of equipment, secrets, possibility to make choice which will affect the game. bonuses after completing the game. nice characters, music, everything!
  73. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is one of the first cinematic games ever created. I remember playing this game as a kid, it took me hours, HOURS, to get past the first part. But I loved every second of it. I've since replayed the game once a year, and when I lost my Playstation, I downloaded it off of Playstation store for my PS3. I remember going to Gamestop, buying Call of Duty Black Ops, coming homeMetal Gear Solid is one of the first cinematic games ever created. I remember playing this game as a kid, it took me hours, HOURS, to get past the first part. But I loved every second of it. I've since replayed the game once a year, and when I lost my Playstation, I downloaded it off of Playstation store for my PS3. I remember going to Gamestop, buying Call of Duty Black Ops, coming home then seeing that Metal Gear Solid was available on the Playstation Store. I didn't even open the Black Ops case, I bought MGS, downloaded it and played it for hours that night. I eventually played Black Ops, two days later after I beat MGS for the ninth time. Even if this game had terrible gameplay (It DID NOT!), I would still play it for the story. The plot is so complex, interesting and engaging, that it took me quite a while to really wrap my head around it. Of course, when I was a kid, I had no clue wtf was going on, plot-wise! But, years later I figured it out, and it's better than any novel or movie I've ever seen. I recommend this game to anyone that wants to experience an amazing story. Hideo Kojima is a genius, and a master storyteller. I'm actually a little embarrassed to say this, but, I cried at the end of every Metal Gear Solid game. They are just so powerful, and so immersible. Thanks for reading. Signed- Culture F. Expand
  74. AB
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Although the graphics are outdated, this is one of the best games ever to be released (even if the GCN version is better)
  75. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Great! Worth to play any time anywhere by anyone. Everybody have to play this game. Its 100% classic, never gets old. Storyline, dialogs, gameplay, its awesome!
  76. Dec 27, 2015
    9
    One of the best video game ever. Mind blowing scenario, very mature and fun at once, great villains and heroes. There isn't one boring minute in the whole game. A true masterpiece.
  77. Nov 6, 2016
    10
    This is art in its purest form. Aside from the gameplay (which is awesome), the story is flawless and the characters are superbly detailed. Simply one of the best game of all times.
  78. Oct 30, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played MGS for the first time in 1999 and I'm still playing it. There are claims that it's the greatest game released on the original Playstation, but I disagree. It's certainly one of the best, but I can always find a reason why Tomb Raider or SOTN is better, but MGS is better in much deeper ways. Sometimes you've got to shoot an enemy shoulder in the back with a rocket launcher. You can't really sneak up on enemies in Tomb Raider and the bosses in SOTN are defeated by the same tactic of hit them more often than they hit you.

    The first thing you notice in this game is the top down view that follows you for the majority of the game. The camera takes a little getting used to, and is a bit better than the set camera angles from the Resident Evil games on the PSX but not as good as it's contemporary Syphon Filter. The camera angle suits the game you play. It changes, and you can scope out your surroundings so you can plan your attack effectively once you've got this down.

    What makes this game good is that there are multiple strategies of playing this game. You can choose the easy route of blasting the hell out of every enemy in sight and run through into the next area, or you can choose to dispatch enemies in a quick and quiet fashion without alerting anyone to your presence. The choice is really up to you and the game isn't any different at the end, yet playing stealth over violence is more satisfying and rewarding.

    The detailed story far surpasses any other games that I've played on PSX, but the game is still flawed. The big flaw comes in the shape of Liquid Snake. This is a man you shoot down in a helicopter, you blow up in a bipedal tank, you throw off of said tank and succumbs to a heart attack all in the same night. He reminds me of Will Ferrel's character in the Austin Powers movies.

    We can talk about odd parts of the game, like Psycho Mantis reading your mind, or the whole dumb Decoy Octopus character, but there are twists, backstabbing and people that just won't die. Maybe MGS 3 is the best game in the series, but this game stands alone on the PSX.
    Expand
  79. Lee
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love story was very well done (not mushy or anything,) and the music was fantastic. [***SPOILERS***] The music usually got me in the mood when i played the game; for example, when your in that factory place and sniper wolfe shoots the hell out of meryl, This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love story was very well done (not mushy or anything,) and the music was fantastic. [***SPOILERS***] The music usually got me in the mood when i played the game; for example, when your in that factory place and sniper wolfe shoots the hell out of meryl, and the music starts up, it just gets to you.. The music just got me all depressed, and got me in the situation that snake was .. Its hard to explain but all i'm saying is, this game is my favourite and always will be. Expand
  80. ZsomborB
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    I tried this game after hearing a lot of praise and hype around the entire series, and I have to say, after finishing it I'm astonished. The story by itself is outstanding, let alone the polished interesting stealth gameplay with intense action moments. Everything from the epic cinematic cutscenes to the little details in the gameplay add a lot to this experience that is still highly I tried this game after hearing a lot of praise and hype around the entire series, and I have to say, after finishing it I'm astonished. The story by itself is outstanding, let alone the polished interesting stealth gameplay with intense action moments. Everything from the epic cinematic cutscenes to the little details in the gameplay add a lot to this experience that is still highly enjoyable for those who arent playing only graphics engines. I can highly recommend this game, and I'm looking forward to playing the later installments of this great series. Expand
  81. RyanL.
    Jun 12, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I have ever been on. I want to know more about the ending. Even though i have completed it 27 times.
  82. Col
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Always will remember this as the best game ever made, with snake - eater coming in a close second.
  83. KristmundurS.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    My real rating for this game is 9.7 but... Oh, well. This is a must-play game. When I first played it on the PSX it had surpassed everything I've ever experience on the PSX. The graphics, the sound, the music, the story and the characters are probably the best put together in any video game. The gameplay is an top-view third person stealth game. You have to avoid contact with enemy My real rating for this game is 9.7 but... Oh, well. This is a must-play game. When I first played it on the PSX it had surpassed everything I've ever experience on the PSX. The graphics, the sound, the music, the story and the characters are probably the best put together in any video game. The gameplay is an top-view third person stealth game. You have to avoid contact with enemy guards. To your aid you have to procure equipment on-site, use your radar and call for advice via Codec (which is a little communication device). Then you also have to fight bosses and solve some puzzles. The game's story is told through cutscenes that have been rendered real-time with the game's graphic engine coppled together with the best voice actors to date. The game is short and doesn't have much replay value except playing it again. There are also two endings depending on your "playing techniques". If die having not plated this game, you've wasted your life. Nuff said. Expand
  84. Zach
    May 7, 2007
    10
    A game on par with Half Life and World of Warcraft, just a different genre. The first time I played this game I was in awe of the story and cinematics. When I walked into the hangar with the Metal Gear I was amazed. This game introduced the idea of sneaking instead of going in guns blazing. Splinter Cell took that to a new level. I don't neccesarily have a favorite game, but this A game on par with Half Life and World of Warcraft, just a different genre. The first time I played this game I was in awe of the story and cinematics. When I walked into the hangar with the Metal Gear I was amazed. This game introduced the idea of sneaking instead of going in guns blazing. Splinter Cell took that to a new level. I don't neccesarily have a favorite game, but this would come very close to being that. Expand
  85. ShaneK.
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    It's been a while since I played the PSone port but I must have played and finished this game about a dozen times. There was something about the GC version I didn't like. The PSone version was a classic.
  86. CodyR.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    This game is a classic through and through. It'll leave you with one word "...wow". Phenomenal in every aspect music, game play, story, and graphics (for 1998 at least). A must buy, must play, must own experience.
  87. MarcusBarkhahn
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    One of the best PSX games ever !!!!
  88. HarmV.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This is just the most amazing game I've ever played in my life..
  89. KonradK
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    I really like this game and I was playing difficulty very easy and I was using a lot of rations and at the end I got rank called PIG heheheh:P
  90. BlancoA.
    Sep 23, 2001
    9
    This is an incredibly cool game, but as the critics mention, I found myself a little impatient with ALL the cut-scenes. There's a lot of hand-holding going on at every stage, as well. But the mechanics of the gameplay are pretty incredible.
  91. KristijanA.
    Aug 16, 2002
    10
    INCREDIBLE!!!!!
  92. PatrickM.
    May 10, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games ever on ps1.
  93. NickF.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    [***SPOILER***] Hey everyone. i just wanted you to know that i love this game, i even studied it from playing. ive beat the game at least 7 times, i just can't stop playing. it even has some touching parts in it. i think it's funny that snake has been talking to his master not knowing that it's his brother on codec. it's my sisters boyfriends game and im getting to play[***SPOILER***] Hey everyone. i just wanted you to know that i love this game, i even studied it from playing. ive beat the game at least 7 times, i just can't stop playing. it even has some touching parts in it. i think it's funny that snake has been talking to his master not knowing that it's his brother on codec. it's my sisters boyfriends game and im getting to play it. and he's in jail, (not that u needed to know that but i just thought id say it). i just hate it when i get done fighting snakes brother and meryl doesn't make it. anyway, i have to go now, cya's. remember, the best is yet to come! Expand
  94. StevenS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. I remember playing this one when I was like, 9. Only thing wrong with it is that I don't have it anymore, but i'm not gonna give up on that.
  95. MarioG.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    IMHO Best game ever made on PSX...I was finished that game 9 time's...Snake Rulezzzz!
  96. David
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This game still amazes me, nearly 10 years later. Its a travesty that Tony Hawkes 2 beat it.
  97. RyanG
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best ps1 game ever. Not even Final Fantasy 7 stands up to it. I still play it today.
  98. DavidN
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    One of the best action/adventures ever made. The quality of this title is simply insane.
  99. JoshN.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    The best PlayStation game and the best game of the 5th gen.
  100. KyuuD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Comment? I can't describe how grrreat this game is. the best playstation game ever?? heheh it's actually the best game of all time !!! only Final Fantasy X could stand stand near it.
  101. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    The grandfather of the stealth game is a masterpiece of engaging story and thrilling gameplay. What makes MGS so special is the unique features which were never seen before and haven't been seen since. Having Psycho Mantis "read the players mind" by accessing the memory card and switching controllers to beat him. Looking at the back of the CD case in order to progress through the game,The grandfather of the stealth game is a masterpiece of engaging story and thrilling gameplay. What makes MGS so special is the unique features which were never seen before and haven't been seen since. Having Psycho Mantis "read the players mind" by accessing the memory card and switching controllers to beat him. Looking at the back of the CD case in order to progress through the game, These are truly iconic moments giving Metal Gear Solid a special place in gaming history. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

3
1
#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
3
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. GMR Magazine
    100
    A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. 100
    It is literally full of those 'classic' moments that are all too rare these days. Whether it's the first time your footprints are discovered, the first time you perform a stealth kill, finding out the identity of the 'Ninja', solving the method of defeating Psycho Mantis, obtaining the camera and seeking out your first 'ghost'... there are so many classic memories.
  3. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.