Metal Gear Solid PlayStation
  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 1998
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 637 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 637

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, dangerTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game was a masterpiece. Metal Gear revolutionized the game industry with it's idea of: "You don't have to kill them, just sneak past them!" Many gamers like the idea that you can slip past people. Others like the idea that you can just blow through them like a steamroller. While that isn't impossible in MGS and it's sequels, it isn't recommended. The story is deep, enthralling andThis game was a masterpiece. Metal Gear revolutionized the game industry with it's idea of: "You don't have to kill them, just sneak past them!" Many gamers like the idea that you can slip past people. Others like the idea that you can just blow through them like a steamroller. While that isn't impossible in MGS and it's sequels, it isn't recommended. The story is deep, enthralling and full of twists and turns. Some might find it hard to grasp.
    I give this game a 10/10 for a astounding story, great gameplay, and above par voice-acting.
    Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Fun, cool, and unique. The characters, the story, the gameplay.... its all just top notch.
  4. MarkD.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Possably the greatest game ever, certainly the greatest PSX game! The stealthy gameplay made it more tense, gripping and non liniar then any aciton game before it (and not to mention revolutionary). It also had more unforgettable "classic moments" then any other game i've ever played.
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the finest action games ever made. MGS launched the stealth action genre in a was that no one expected. For it's time nothing like it had ever been made and it's legacy certainly lives on. I can think of no better game that deserves an update to the current generation.
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    i remember playing metal gear back on the NES long ago . now it returns to the PS1 and solid snake is kicking some major ass . this game has a solid story and great voice acting in a day when pretty much any and every games voice acting was rancid crap. a great gun selection fun boss fights and really well i cant think of any thing negitive to say about this game . its a game that feelsi remember playing metal gear back on the NES long ago . now it returns to the PS1 and solid snake is kicking some major ass . this game has a solid story and great voice acting in a day when pretty much any and every games voice acting was rancid crap. a great gun selection fun boss fights and really well i cant think of any thing negitive to say about this game . its a game that feels like a kick ass movie . Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid can safely be called the cream-of-the-crop stealth game. It looks amazing (even though it has PlayStation graphics) because of every layout and background is crafted so beautifully. The music really fits the scene and the score was well done. The gameplay immerses you so deeply that it goes beyond the TV screen and involves you, the player. It tells you to find hints onMetal Gear Solid can safely be called the cream-of-the-crop stealth game. It looks amazing (even though it has PlayStation graphics) because of every layout and background is crafted so beautifully. The music really fits the scene and the score was well done. The gameplay immerses you so deeply that it goes beyond the TV screen and involves you, the player. It tells you to find hints on the CD case, the Psycho Mantis boss can read your memory card for other games by Konami or tell you if you have saved in a while, or the way to beat Psycho Mantis, or when you get tortured; you and your thumbs actually feel like they are getting tortured. This immersion can only be found in this title, and not even with games today. The game has so many "little things" that really make it stand out. For example, if you hide in a box in a truck, you will get driven to the place on the box. No one told you that would happen and that is the beauty of it when you discover it. The bosses are numerous, challenging, and truly a fun experience. Metal Gear Solid is just plain ground-breaking and the reviews show it. As of this date, there are no user reviews under a "9" on Metacritic and only one yellow critic score. I would like to think that the one yellow review was a mistake and was supposed to be intended for a different game because then I would have to question it's sanity. There are only two problems that made this title not quite get a perfect "10." First, aiming most the weapons were a pain and I do not understand why I could not shoot in first-person mode. I wish that the entire game was a first-person-shooter after you beat it once. That would definitely make me have to play it again! The second issue was the many moments when a long cutscene appeared and I was just watching and waiting. I would skip them if it were another game, but the story is hard enough to follow, as is, due to the number of plot twists. The game consists of a total of a little over three hours of cutscenes, by the way! I finished normal mode in twenty hours, so 15% of my game was pure cinematic video! To be fair, the cutscenes were well done, but the thing is I didn't buy a movie. Overall, a very involving game that will go down in history for its originality and beauty with very few flaws. Expand
  8. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is not a perfect tittle, but equal to Zelda is almost perfect . The ten that i give to games it's because it top's superb tittles. During the time the game was ( and always will be) creative, genius and awesome. Who will forget the time you fought Psycho - Mantis with the reading memory card and also changing slots, no other game did that at the time, many other game copyMetal Gear Solid is not a perfect tittle, but equal to Zelda is almost perfect . The ten that i give to games it's because it top's superb tittles. During the time the game was ( and always will be) creative, genius and awesome. Who will forget the time you fought Psycho - Mantis with the reading memory card and also changing slots, no other game did that at the time, many other game copy that features on their own . A classic master piece. Expand
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Even today it is still the best title of the series. The stealth system was new and unique, it had voice action and a complex story with twists to think about.
  10. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Plain and simple, MGS1 proves that games with limitations and discretion are more often the most entertaining and the most meaningful. I read through the whole metal gear storyline before playing MGS4, but after finishing the latest installment I knew I was missing something, and so I purchased the PSN Ps1 version of Metal Gear Solid 1 for PS3. Not only was this thirteen year old game morePlain and simple, MGS1 proves that games with limitations and discretion are more often the most entertaining and the most meaningful. I read through the whole metal gear storyline before playing MGS4, but after finishing the latest installment I knew I was missing something, and so I purchased the PSN Ps1 version of Metal Gear Solid 1 for PS3. Not only was this thirteen year old game more than worth the $10, it probably wound up being the best deal on a video game I ever made. The simple gameplay mechanics are intuitive and human - it rewards common sense and natural thought processes more than any other game I've ever played. What's nowadays considered "miscellaneous" aspects here are the most charming and important - the character development is immediately rich, although it bares a little to close to cliche anime writing which was a slight personal turn off; the puzzles are bar none infinitely more clever than any other game ever made; even the no-doubt-about-it outdated graphics provide the right charm and connotation for everything you encounter. The point of this review is less to praise this game and more convince anyone wondering whether or not this game lives up to hype that it undoubtedly does. I'm extremely cynical when it comes to games (Bioshock and Portal were the only games I ever even considered worth a glance), and this pushes me only more so. Metal Gear Solid is not a video game; it's a masterpiece of contemporary culture, and exceedingly well worth anyone's (even/especially non-gamers') time. Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    There literally wasn't any or still isn't any video game like this game, it mastered the stealth genre like no other, one of the best video games on the Play Station or on any video game system, a Masterpiece.
  12. Me
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    Very good game.
  13. ErikG.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    this game is totally awesome for a playstation game it keeps you guessing all the way through defintley a 10 on my vote!
  14. JohnD.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Best game ever, even today. A must have!
  15. RickN.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Gaming classic. 'Nuff said.
  16. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    When this game first came out, I was seriously amazed. A classic and probably the best in the series.
  17. AlC.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    One of the best for PS1. Innovative in almost every aspect, Kojima doesn't disappoint. An engaging storyline, fantastic character development, and gameplay that is varied and just plain fun.
  18. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Firstly, i need to point out that i'm not one of those people who gives 10 scores to every half decent game. In fact this is the only game i've deemed worthy of a perfect 10 so far on Metacritic. So yeah, i consider Metal Gear Solid very special indeed. It's just one of those games that only comes along perhaps once every 10 years. Even now, ten years later it's still a rollercoasterFirstly, i need to point out that i'm not one of those people who gives 10 scores to every half decent game. In fact this is the only game i've deemed worthy of a perfect 10 so far on Metacritic. So yeah, i consider Metal Gear Solid very special indeed. It's just one of those games that only comes along perhaps once every 10 years. Even now, ten years later it's still a rollercoaster thrillride that will have you sweating with tension one minute and your mouth hanging open in awe the next. It was also full of more invention and brilliant ideas then any other action game i've ever played. If not the best game ever then certainly a contender. Expand
  19. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This is a wonderful game. It serves as a great start to the legendary Metal Gear Solid series. Even in modern days it is still one of the best single player games around.
  20. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Finishing Metal Gear Solid is not an easy task. Yes, it's not brutally difficult, but it requires a lot of patience. But the patience is worth it. Nearly every aspect of MGS is fantastic, even today. The graphics might be a bit dated but all the same hold much charm and simplicity. The gameplay mechanics defined the stealth/action genre and indeed the MGS series are still the best stealthFinishing Metal Gear Solid is not an easy task. Yes, it's not brutally difficult, but it requires a lot of patience. But the patience is worth it. Nearly every aspect of MGS is fantastic, even today. The graphics might be a bit dated but all the same hold much charm and simplicity. The gameplay mechanics defined the stealth/action genre and indeed the MGS series are still the best stealth games out there. The story is ridiculous, with so many plot twists and turns, and Kojima doesn't care one bit. You can sit for ten minutes listening to a new met enemy rambling on and on about philosophy, politics and everything else, and it's worse when Snake is cooporating with them which leads to many awkward conversations. Dialog is what Kojima couldn't handle right, and that's a shame because that was actualy the only real gripe I have had with the game, but I guess that it's part of the magic that this series has. The bosses are fantastic, the mood is great. The game forces you to think about your next move and be on your toes. You constantly have to stay alert and learn to use your gadget arsenal wisely. I also loved the characters, as childish and silly some of them might be, because their personalities are interesting and unique. The codec conversations can be really good and it's especially nice that you can contact characters and get advice or perspective from them. I can safely say that every gamer should experience this game. It might seem dated but it really holds up after all this time, for some strange reason, and is stil perfectly playable. It's humorous, difficult, and fun.But most importantly , It's a fascinating creation that Hideo and his team managed to make. The game is very unique and has many small nuances that really make it an unforgettable experience. Collapse
  21. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This masterpiece deserves the attention of all gamers. With Its incredible story and a very accessible control scheme, It won't take long to learn the stealth and action elements from MGS. Don't have a ps1? The game is now downloadable through the Playstation Store. Buy it play it 'ya won't regret it!
  22. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I recently had a conversation about this game and I should say: everything about this game is memorable. The SMG, figuring how to get the stealth suit, unlimited ammo. The bosses all have their own story without being corny, some of them are utterly scary -Psycho Mantis, Raven, Gray Fox- while others demand tactic play -first tank, Sniper Wolf-. So there's a story that could easily be aI recently had a conversation about this game and I should say: everything about this game is memorable. The SMG, figuring how to get the stealth suit, unlimited ammo. The bosses all have their own story without being corny, some of them are utterly scary -Psycho Mantis, Raven, Gray Fox- while others demand tactic play -first tank, Sniper Wolf-. So there's a story that could easily be a novel, the gameplay fits and had extra's that made you replay the game, the bosses have everything you could possibly wish for, so one question remains: what's bad about this game. Well, some would say graphics. Personally, people who start nagging bout graphics don't know what games are about. It's a stealth game, I can understand some would rather just run into the building and shoot like a war pig or go nuke-crazy. However this game has defined stealth games to what they are and should be and it spawned -so far- three great sequels that were innovative in their own way and that's why it deserves no less than a perfect 10. Expand
  23. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Stealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feelStealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feel like you're sneaking around enemies and learning more about the mission, and you learn to not always believe what you're told. It's a game that feels real, the story feels plausible despite how unlikely it is, it's a piece of fantasy set in the real world. The graphics may not hold out, but the soundtrack, gameplay, story and characters make up for it Expand
  24. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Usually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's aUsually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's a cinematic masterpiece and one of the greatest stealth games ever made. Expand
  25. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Phenomenal game. I had enormous expectations for this game and franchise because I was very late to the party. My first experience with the series was with the Legacy Collection that just game out a month ago, but I've been playing almost nothing but MGS, MGS2, and MGS3 (haven't beaten it yet) in that time frame. I honestly don't have anything negative to say about the game. It's amazing.Phenomenal game. I had enormous expectations for this game and franchise because I was very late to the party. My first experience with the series was with the Legacy Collection that just game out a month ago, but I've been playing almost nothing but MGS, MGS2, and MGS3 (haven't beaten it yet) in that time frame. I honestly don't have anything negative to say about the game. It's amazing. I understand these games aren't for everyone, but I still very much believe they are deserving of full 10's. I believe everyone should at least give it a try. Expand
  26. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazingThis game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazing game. But this shocked me about how defied all my expectations. To start, the controls are great. Gameplay is very stealth driven, especially at the start. They also included a mechanic where when you beat the bosses, you where able to carry more items and got a health increase. This made you feel like you were progressing through the game. Anyone who says anything bad about graphics don't deserve to call themselves a gamer. You can't blame Konami for them because they only had that at the time. Even so, the visuals look amazing with so much attention to detail all throughout. Voice acting is top notch, definitely movie quality. As for the cutscenes, yes they are long, but it's a better movie then Heavy Rain. The cutscenes help to paint a beautiful and amazing story. The soundtrack is also awe inspiring. From the high energy of Escape, to the desperation of Encounter and finally to the beauty of The Best is Yet to Come, the soundtrack will grip you by the sheer fact that the Playstation could handle it. The soundtrack is so fitting and just so amazing, that it leaves me speechless. I have saved the best for last. Enemy AI is smart. If they notice any trace of you, the will look for you, and if they find you, they will pull the alarm and you better hide. Next, the boss battles. Metal Gear Solid is known for it's boss fights. This game contains easily some of the best in the franchise. From the gun duel with Ocelot, to Psycho Mantis who must be applauded for destroying the fourth wall throughout the fight, to the sniper duel with Sniper Wolf and lastly the final duel with Liquid Snake, the boss fights will amaze you, because they are some of the best. And lastly, and easily the best part of this game, is the story. As I have said, the cutscenes are long because they help paint such a deep plot. Hideo Kojima is the master of storytelling. The story is top notch and will keep you engaged all throughout. The story is deeply riddled with themes such as war and nuclear annihilation. The only thing that I can truly say about the story is that only way to truly experience it is to play the game yourself. The story has numerous plot twists that make it worth watching. The plot rivals that of many of the films and movies that have praised for their story. This game deserves nothing more then a perfect 10/10. Hideo Kojima has outdone himself and has proven that he is the king of storytelling. I feel pity for anyone who plays the XBox because unless they are willing to buy a PS3 or a PS2, they will not be able to enjoy the sheer masterpiece that this game is. It is worth any price and is a must own for anyone who likes stealth games or deep stories. Kojima, I salute you. Expand
  27. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Playing this game for the first time felt unreal. There was no game like it back then, and there won't ever be (unless of course you take the sequels into consideration). Great gameplay, great atmosphere, great dialogues and voice acting, plenty of cutscenes and of course the talent of Hideo Kojima are the key elements to its success.
  28. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    The grandfather of the stealth game is a masterpiece of engaging story and thrilling gameplay. What makes MGS so special is the unique features which were never seen before and haven't been seen since. Having Psycho Mantis "read the players mind" by accessing the memory card and switching controllers to beat him. Looking at the back of the CD case in order to progress through the game,The grandfather of the stealth game is a masterpiece of engaging story and thrilling gameplay. What makes MGS so special is the unique features which were never seen before and haven't been seen since. Having Psycho Mantis "read the players mind" by accessing the memory card and switching controllers to beat him. Looking at the back of the CD case in order to progress through the game, These are truly iconic moments giving Metal Gear Solid a special place in gaming history. Expand
  29. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is the measuring stick that I use to judge all other games by. It's the best that's ever existed. I was 15 years old when I first played it and I remember not wanting the story to ever end. Luckily, it's continued on. And now, there's a rumor that Kojima wants to have the original MGS re-made using current-gen graphics. Can't wait for it.
  30. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is one of the first cinematic games ever created. I remember playing this game as a kid, it took me hours, HOURS, to get past the first part. But I loved every second of it. I've since replayed the game once a year, and when I lost my Playstation, I downloaded it off of Playstation store for my PS3. I remember going to Gamestop, buying Call of Duty Black Ops, coming homeMetal Gear Solid is one of the first cinematic games ever created. I remember playing this game as a kid, it took me hours, HOURS, to get past the first part. But I loved every second of it. I've since replayed the game once a year, and when I lost my Playstation, I downloaded it off of Playstation store for my PS3. I remember going to Gamestop, buying Call of Duty Black Ops, coming home then seeing that Metal Gear Solid was available on the Playstation Store. I didn't even open the Black Ops case, I bought MGS, downloaded it and played it for hours that night. I eventually played Black Ops, two days later after I beat MGS for the ninth time. Even if this game had terrible gameplay (It DID NOT!), I would still play it for the story. The plot is so complex, interesting and engaging, that it took me quite a while to really wrap my head around it. Of course, when I was a kid, I had no clue wtf was going on, plot-wise! But, years later I figured it out, and it's better than any novel or movie I've ever seen. I recommend this game to anyone that wants to experience an amazing story. Hideo Kojima is a genius, and a master storyteller. I'm actually a little embarrassed to say this, but, I cried at the end of every Metal Gear Solid game. They are just so powerful, and so immersible. Thanks for reading. Signed- Culture F. Expand
  31. AB
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Although the graphics are outdated, this is one of the best games ever to be released (even if the GCN version is better)
  32. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Great! Worth to play any time anywhere by anyone. Everybody have to play this game. Its 100% classic, never gets old. Storyline, dialogs, gameplay, its awesome!
  33. Lee
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love story was very well done (not mushy or anything,) and the music was fantastic. [***SPOILERS***] The music usually got me in the mood when i played the game; for example, when your in that factory place and sniper wolfe shoots the hell out of meryl, This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love story was very well done (not mushy or anything,) and the music was fantastic. [***SPOILERS***] The music usually got me in the mood when i played the game; for example, when your in that factory place and sniper wolfe shoots the hell out of meryl, and the music starts up, it just gets to you.. The music just got me all depressed, and got me in the situation that snake was .. Its hard to explain but all i'm saying is, this game is my favourite and always will be. Expand
  34. ZsomborB
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    I tried this game after hearing a lot of praise and hype around the entire series, and I have to say, after finishing it I'm astonished. The story by itself is outstanding, let alone the polished interesting stealth gameplay with intense action moments. Everything from the epic cinematic cutscenes to the little details in the gameplay add a lot to this experience that is still highly I tried this game after hearing a lot of praise and hype around the entire series, and I have to say, after finishing it I'm astonished. The story by itself is outstanding, let alone the polished interesting stealth gameplay with intense action moments. Everything from the epic cinematic cutscenes to the little details in the gameplay add a lot to this experience that is still highly enjoyable for those who arent playing only graphics engines. I can highly recommend this game, and I'm looking forward to playing the later installments of this great series. Expand
  35. RyanL.
    Jun 12, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I have ever been on. I want to know more about the ending. Even though i have completed it 27 times.
  36. Col
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Always will remember this as the best game ever made, with snake - eater coming in a close second.
  37. KristmundurS.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    My real rating for this game is 9.7 but... Oh, well. This is a must-play game. When I first played it on the PSX it had surpassed everything I've ever experience on the PSX. The graphics, the sound, the music, the story and the characters are probably the best put together in any video game. The gameplay is an top-view third person stealth game. You have to avoid contact with enemy My real rating for this game is 9.7 but... Oh, well. This is a must-play game. When I first played it on the PSX it had surpassed everything I've ever experience on the PSX. The graphics, the sound, the music, the story and the characters are probably the best put together in any video game. The gameplay is an top-view third person stealth game. You have to avoid contact with enemy guards. To your aid you have to procure equipment on-site, use your radar and call for advice via Codec (which is a little communication device). Then you also have to fight bosses and solve some puzzles. The game's story is told through cutscenes that have been rendered real-time with the game's graphic engine coppled together with the best voice actors to date. The game is short and doesn't have much replay value except playing it again. There are also two endings depending on your "playing techniques". If die having not plated this game, you've wasted your life. Nuff said. Expand
  38. Zach
    May 7, 2007
    10
    A game on par with Half Life and World of Warcraft, just a different genre. The first time I played this game I was in awe of the story and cinematics. When I walked into the hangar with the Metal Gear I was amazed. This game introduced the idea of sneaking instead of going in guns blazing. Splinter Cell took that to a new level. I don't neccesarily have a favorite game, but this A game on par with Half Life and World of Warcraft, just a different genre. The first time I played this game I was in awe of the story and cinematics. When I walked into the hangar with the Metal Gear I was amazed. This game introduced the idea of sneaking instead of going in guns blazing. Splinter Cell took that to a new level. I don't neccesarily have a favorite game, but this would come very close to being that. Expand
  39. ShaneK.
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    It's been a while since I played the PSone port but I must have played and finished this game about a dozen times. There was something about the GC version I didn't like. The PSone version was a classic.
  40. CodyR.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    This game is a classic through and through. It'll leave you with one word "...wow". Phenomenal in every aspect music, game play, story, and graphics (for 1998 at least). A must buy, must play, must own experience.
  41. MarcusBarkhahn
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    One of the best PSX games ever !!!!
  42. HarmV.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This is just the most amazing game I've ever played in my life..
  43. KonradK
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    I really like this game and I was playing difficulty very easy and I was using a lot of rations and at the end I got rank called PIG heheheh:P
  44. BlancoA.
    Sep 23, 2001
    9
    This is an incredibly cool game, but as the critics mention, I found myself a little impatient with ALL the cut-scenes. There's a lot of hand-holding going on at every stage, as well. But the mechanics of the gameplay are pretty incredible.
  45. EricC.
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    No game in history, not even Final Fantasy, has a story that could possibly come close to the sheer brilliance of this game. For the first time in any game, I was fully engaged in the fantastic storyline, and when I thought I knew what was going to happen, I was caught completely off guard. So much was put into the plot, it's hard not to call it one of the best action stories ever No game in history, not even Final Fantasy, has a story that could possibly come close to the sheer brilliance of this game. For the first time in any game, I was fully engaged in the fantastic storyline, and when I thought I knew what was going to happen, I was caught completely off guard. So much was put into the plot, it's hard not to call it one of the best action stories ever put into a video game, movie, book, or television show. Everything about this game stands out above the rest. Best action game, best Playstation game, and the best game ever made. Period. Expand
  46. KristijanA.
    Aug 16, 2002
    10
    INCREDIBLE!!!!!
  47. PatrickM.
    May 10, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games ever on ps1.
  48. NickF.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    [***SPOILER***] Hey everyone. i just wanted you to know that i love this game, i even studied it from playing. ive beat the game at least 7 times, i just can't stop playing. it even has some touching parts in it. i think it's funny that snake has been talking to his master not knowing that it's his brother on codec. it's my sisters boyfriends game and im getting to play[***SPOILER***] Hey everyone. i just wanted you to know that i love this game, i even studied it from playing. ive beat the game at least 7 times, i just can't stop playing. it even has some touching parts in it. i think it's funny that snake has been talking to his master not knowing that it's his brother on codec. it's my sisters boyfriends game and im getting to play it. and he's in jail, (not that u needed to know that but i just thought id say it). i just hate it when i get done fighting snakes brother and meryl doesn't make it. anyway, i have to go now, cya's. remember, the best is yet to come! Expand
  49. StevenS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. I remember playing this one when I was like, 9. Only thing wrong with it is that I don't have it anymore, but i'm not gonna give up on that.
  50. MarioG.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    IMHO Best game ever made on PSX...I was finished that game 9 time's...Snake Rulezzzz!
  51. David
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This game still amazes me, nearly 10 years later. Its a travesty that Tony Hawkes 2 beat it.
  52. RyanG
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best ps1 game ever. Not even Final Fantasy 7 stands up to it. I still play it today.
  53. DavidN
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    One of the best action/adventures ever made. The quality of this title is simply insane.
  54. JoshN.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    The best PlayStation game and the best game of the 5th gen.
  55. KyuuD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Comment? I can't describe how grrreat this game is. the best playstation game ever?? heheh it's actually the best game of all time !!! only Final Fantasy X could stand stand near it.
  56. roryw
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    its as good a game as the shawshank redemption is a film. well to be honest its better lol
  57. PsychoM.
    Feb 18, 2002
    10
    One of my all time fave PS games, definitely worth the $, the graphics are pretty good for an original playstation title but seem blurred at parts but that's okay. The sound effects, voice acting, and music are all top notch for PS1. Excellent. Gameplay is fun as well, although replay value will be a matter of how much you like the game the first time through. The story isn't as One of my all time fave PS games, definitely worth the $, the graphics are pretty good for an original playstation title but seem blurred at parts but that's okay. The sound effects, voice acting, and music are all top notch for PS1. Excellent. Gameplay is fun as well, although replay value will be a matter of how much you like the game the first time through. The story isn't as twisty as MGS2 but there are enough surprises to keep you with a "!" over your head as well. Great game. Expand
  58. VincenzoC.
    Aug 1, 2002
    10
    I haven't gotten very far in it yet, but it gives me the gutwrenching feeling that Solid Snake would be feeling.
  59. [Anonymous]
    Aug 1, 2002
    10
    The most greatest action game ever produced, the story line is the best, you don't even play the game coz like your watching a movie, the most greatest game in prefecture even PS magazine say's its the greatest.
  60. MichaelF.
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    Damn this is a hell of a game.
  61. MorganM.
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    I loved the game and could not put the controller down for a second.
  62. AnaK.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    Simply the best game ever! Not even that James Bond impossible crap gets close to the magnificence of this masterpiece, in my opinion. At first I hated it, thought it was kinda difficult, but it really got me interested and I don't usually give up that easily. The brighter spot is surelly the plot, really intelligent and well connected, really gets your mind gears in maximum Simply the best game ever! Not even that James Bond impossible crap gets close to the magnificence of this masterpiece, in my opinion. At first I hated it, thought it was kinda difficult, but it really got me interested and I don't usually give up that easily. The brighter spot is surelly the plot, really intelligent and well connected, really gets your mind gears in maximum rotation. Plus, no buttons were wasted on this game, I can assure you that. The itens and weapons are all carefully arranged and very useful indeed, definetly no uselles stuff in this game... The characters have gained a fine touch of unic look, personality, way of living, and hystory, which makes the game extremelly gripping. Not to mention the ilustrations and graphics, they are awesome. The colors, the features, everything is fantastic. For all that, I really gotta say... Hideo is a genius and Konami totally rules, no doubt about it. Expand
  63. R.G.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    I would like to say one thing. Go and play this NOW. and I mean NOW!!
  64. PhoebeR.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    This game is the most amazing game ever. Years and years since its been released, i still, and never will forget how fantastic this game was.
  65. Bob.B.
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    Simply the best, better then all the rest :)
  66. PimpPlaya
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    It's amazing, without a doubt the top game!
  67. FATZOMBIEFAT
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    8.8 is not a desireable overall score, please bow your heads as we chant WE ARE NOT WORTHY!!!
  68. EhabA.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Metal Gear Solid rules my world.
  69. TimM.
    Sep 29, 2005
    9
    The one that popularized a genre of games: Interactive Movies. Metal Gear is like watching a movie with interesting characters, plot twists, romance and of course great dialogue. Like a movie, but you are playing the role instead so it is all up to the player. Countless games like Metal Gear Solid came around after, most of them failed but some have had sucess. The incredible thing today The one that popularized a genre of games: Interactive Movies. Metal Gear is like watching a movie with interesting characters, plot twists, romance and of course great dialogue. Like a movie, but you are playing the role instead so it is all up to the player. Countless games like Metal Gear Solid came around after, most of them failed but some have had sucess. The incredible thing today is that the graphics are now terrible yet everything else just makes that fact seem not true when it's never about flash, but substance. I reccomend the game if you are both a fan of movies and games alike, this is a delicious treat. Expand
  70. MikeR.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    This has to be the Best of the whole series, and has to be the best game on the PSone.
  71. FergusP.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    A classical. This is the best word to descrbe this absolute monster of a game, it blow me away when it first came out and to this day I hold this game close to my heart. The amount of fantastic set pieces, memerable moments and legendary bosses is absolutely mind blowing-some may say 6 hours of cutscenes is too much, I say give me more.
  72. VTRBR10
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    One of the classics for the ps1...a lot of thinking on this game, sure is a smart game. I surely recommend this game for those who like a challenge.
  73. Ryan
    May 18, 2008
    10
    The greatest game of the 5th gen of consoles, and one of the greatest modern stories EVER told.
  74. ClemetW
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    This was the ultimate game when it came out for PS1. It was far ahead in graphics and story-telling, and set new standards for the stealth genre. One of the best games ever released.
  75. jonathonc
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    an inredible start to one of the greatest franchises ever ALL HAIL MGS!!
  76. Chronicler
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This is one of my most favorite game of all time. Hideo Kojima did excellent work in what might be the greatest PlayStation game of all time!
  77. WillemvanAs
    Oct 12, 2002
    10
    All games should be this good!
  78. MatthewM.
    Jun 26, 2002
    9
    Metal Gear Solid is the best action game I've ever played overall. First of all, for its time, the graphics are stunning. Gameplay is at an all-time high. (Sure MGS 2 is better gameplay wise, but it makes up for stupidity in the plot) As I said above, the plot of this game is very much more "real". (And by real, I mean a low twist per second rate.) There are some problems. Enemy A.I. Metal Gear Solid is the best action game I've ever played overall. First of all, for its time, the graphics are stunning. Gameplay is at an all-time high. (Sure MGS 2 is better gameplay wise, but it makes up for stupidity in the plot) As I said above, the plot of this game is very much more "real". (And by real, I mean a low twist per second rate.) There are some problems. Enemy A.I. is a little..umm, well let me just say that its good that they didn't waste the taxpayers' dollars to send these idiots to school. CODEC conversations are somewhat of a problem too, as Snake tends to be talking to himself in the middle of a highly gaurded room without the slightest thought in the gaurds head of "Why is there a man in a sneaking suit, that looks just like the guy I'm supposed to kill, knelling in the middle of the floor like I can't see him?... Eh." And also, hte most disturbing scene in the game leaves you thinkin' "Are they feeding them prune burritos?" Other than that, MGS is a must buy! Expand
  79. JamesR.
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    A great game!!!! The story line is fantastic. The only downside is the graphics.
  80. MarvinP.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    THIS is the BESTEST game in the whole world.i liked every single cinema and specially the gameplay.I like all the weapons and secrets too. Hideo Kojiima should never stop making mgs games he should keep on going until he dies because when i first played it i was amazed of the story everything is excellent on this game.mgs fan forever rigth here.this game beats all the other games .
  81. JasonI.
    Mar 24, 2003
    10
    I like it because it keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time and its a good challenge for any one who has never played it before ie: ME
  82. Min
    Jul 25, 2004
    10
    It totally rocks! I have NEVER played a better game! I got the code name ... at the end!
  83. LoganW.
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    im a huge metal gear solid fan and i love this game i wish that they remade this into a ps2 game i would love it more!
  84. AndrewC.
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Amazing gameplay for its time, great graphics, great characters, unforgettable plotline... My greatest experience playing a video game. I must have beaten it about 10 times over.
  85. DanielP.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    A really LOVED THIS GAME! MGS is the one of the bestest games in the world! This one has an amazing story! Really really great! This game is incredible! I love all the MGS series. Especialy this one!
  86. CodyB
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This classic has been in every playstation owners' library for 11 years now. I played this game since I was 6 years old & I play it as of today, as do millions of gamers around the world. A true masterpiece of epic proportions!!
  87. TomS
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    My eyes may be clouded by my nostalgia goggles, but this game is just as great now as it was when I was a kid. It's got the challenge that The Twin Snakes lacks. Also, to the anonymous poster who said he was using auto fire (if you're not just a troll), you should pay closer attention. Ocelot says "don't use auto fire, or I'll know."
  88. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This game is just so amazing. The storyline, gameplay, soundtrack, and controls are all just remarkable. Best game I've ever played {along with MGS2, MGS3, and MGS4}.
  89. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    A brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players aA brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players a lot of fun Expand
  90. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This best game I've ever played. and it's still easy to say that. This game defined a whole genre on its own. The first game on a great series and also the best.
  91. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    with maybe the exception of the original deus ex in 2003 and the mass effect games, i have simply have not played a better game in my life. with stunning art work and graphics, well-developed characters, compelling dialogue, masterful story-telling, and next-to-level game play, the metal gear solid of 1998 took console gaming by a relentless firestorm that left embers and ash to everythingwith maybe the exception of the original deus ex in 2003 and the mass effect games, i have simply have not played a better game in my life. with stunning art work and graphics, well-developed characters, compelling dialogue, masterful story-telling, and next-to-level game play, the metal gear solid of 1998 took console gaming by a relentless firestorm that left embers and ash to everything else. from 1985-1999 there was every other game, then there was metal gear solid: a consumate work of gaming genious, perfection, and the nirvana of video gaming. i cannot say enough good things about it. Expand
  92. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. one of the best PS 1 game of all time.. HANDS DOWN..!!! :) the first time i played the demo of this game i'm so excited and can't wait to play the full version of the game.. i remember clearly when the first time i played this game, i have no idea at all what this game about and really didn't know that this game was the franchise of an old game from late 80's, Metal gear which featured on NES.. but hell of that.. :D this game makes me instantly a fan of stealth game. and i kind a agree if this game called "The grand daddy of modern stealth game" the storyline, the gameplay, the voice acting, all of that makes this game one of the best at that time.. and i'm so dissapointed that this game would not featured on the upcoming MGS collection later in this year on X-BOX 360 and PS 3.. but still this game to me have a special place in my heart.. GO SNAKE GO.. :) Expand
  93. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Metal Gear Solid not only stands as one of the best stories in gaming history, but it is also hands-down one of the most influential games of all time. Its plot is riddled with philosophical and moral issues that resonate with gamers strongly in modern society, its stealth game play is intense and balances risk and reward, the challenge of surviving the odds is high but fair to players whoMetal Gear Solid not only stands as one of the best stories in gaming history, but it is also hands-down one of the most influential games of all time. Its plot is riddled with philosophical and moral issues that resonate with gamers strongly in modern society, its stealth game play is intense and balances risk and reward, the challenge of surviving the odds is high but fair to players who put in effort and patience and the production values are well worth the price you pay. The soundtrack is hauntingly memorable, changing when the situation intensifies or during major cutscenes. The voice actors are very convincing, giving extra life to the characters they portray, with special mention for David Hayter's world-weary take on the veteran soldier and protagonist Solid Snake. The game offers, in addition to the short but emotional campaign, a variety of Virtual Reality bonus missions and training, as well as unlockables and secrets for playing the campaign in certain ways. If there is anything to complain about, it could be that the game's graphics haven't aged as gracefully as they deserve, and thus look dated and basic by present standards. However, to mark a game as unplayable for older graphics is a travesty. This game was the inspiration for many current conventions in its genre, and it still holds up over a decade later. Whether you're a veteran fan with an original PlayStation copy or a new Metal Gear Solid fan who's purchased the game off of the PlayStation Network, this is a game that you should be proud to own. Expand
  94. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite on the Playstation. There is a reason why i call hideo kojima "The Stanley Kubrick of Video Games". The story is the most cinematic one you'll find on the PS, but i can't help but find myself feel like a spectator and just watching a movie. The music is great, and the voice acting is surprisingly good due to the Playstation 1 games having a history of **** voice acting.One of my favorite on the Playstation. There is a reason why i call hideo kojima "The Stanley Kubrick of Video Games". The story is the most cinematic one you'll find on the PS, but i can't help but find myself feel like a spectator and just watching a movie. The music is great, and the voice acting is surprisingly good due to the Playstation 1 games having a history of **** voice acting. (I'm looking at you Megaman 8 and Resident Evil.) But if you look pass the whole movie thing, i still recommend it. Expand
  95. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. The story is so damn good that never gets boring. The graphics are nice for a ps one game and the sound is great and catch perfectly the game's atmosphere. The characters are memorable and the dialogues are nice. One of the best ps one games ever.
  96. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid is closer to perfection than any other game in PlayStation's action genre. This is more of a work of art than an actual game. Hideo Kojima has produced one of the finest games ever.
  97. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    IF YOU, reader, IS A FAN OF STEALTH GENRE, you don't have the obligation to like Metal Gear Solid, but AT LEAST, YOU MUST HAVE RESPECT FOR WHAT THIS GAME REPRESENTS TO THE STEALTH GAMES. I know that the game-play may not be too frenetic, but it happens because of the title game: TATICAL ESPIONAGE ACTION. The graphics aren't good, in fact, I THINK THE GAME MUST A REMAKE. The story is oneIF YOU, reader, IS A FAN OF STEALTH GENRE, you don't have the obligation to like Metal Gear Solid, but AT LEAST, YOU MUST HAVE RESPECT FOR WHAT THIS GAME REPRESENTS TO THE STEALTH GAMES. I know that the game-play may not be too frenetic, but it happens because of the title game: TATICAL ESPIONAGE ACTION. The graphics aren't good, in fact, I THINK THE GAME MUST A REMAKE. The story is one of the mayor points of all MGS, the dialogues, the climax, the bosses, the supporting characters, the protagonist, no negative comments. Expand
  98. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Replayed just now after all these years (I hadn't played it since at least 2005) and it' still one of the best. Words are meaningless. This is the definition of classic and a game to be remembered.
  99. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This is by far the best PS Game.

    If today game industry have investment so much money in actors, cinema directors, guionist, writers, IT'S ALL BECAUSE OF THIS GAME!!!. I don't remember any game with so much trama before this. The games was created for play and for having fun, especially for kids to play (Super Nintendo, SEGA genesis era). Playstation created the best platform for
    This is by far the best PS Game.

    If today game industry have investment so much money in actors, cinema directors, guionist, writers, IT'S ALL BECAUSE OF THIS GAME!!!.

    I don't remember any game with so much trama before this. The games was created for play and for having fun, especially for kids to play (Super Nintendo, SEGA genesis era). Playstation created the best platform for Kojima to make this piece of art.

    I became a Metal Gear and Playstation fan by this game, iplay the game first as a demo version on the Demo Vol.9 on the PSOne i have only 8 years old and don't speak english, and i remember me and my dad watching this and i remember that this was the most amazing thing, if you compared this game to any of that year and years before the difference it's so much bigger, even many ps2 games aren't that good like this. Pure quality
    Expand
  100. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time it is the grandfather of modern gaming it is cinematic and a first of its kind and it began the voice acting in gaming and it has amazing soundtrack and gameplay the story is amazing in this game even now you'll enjoy playing this game even if you have a PS3 or Xbox 360
  101. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    Finishing Metal Gear Solid is not an easy task. Yes, it's not brutally difficult, but it requires a lot of patience. But the patience is worth it. Nearly every aspect of MGS is fantastic, even today. The graphics might be a bit dated but all the same hold much charm and simplicity. The gameplay mechanics defined the stealth/action genre and indeed the MGS series are still the best stealthFinishing Metal Gear Solid is not an easy task. Yes, it's not brutally difficult, but it requires a lot of patience. But the patience is worth it. Nearly every aspect of MGS is fantastic, even today. The graphics might be a bit dated but all the same hold much charm and simplicity. The gameplay mechanics defined the stealth/action genre and indeed the MGS series are still the best stealth games out there. The story is ridiculous, with so many plot twists and turns, and Kojima doesn't care one bit. You can sit for ten minutes listening to a new met enemy rambling on and on about philosophy, politics and everything else, and it's worse when Snake is cooporating with them which leads to many awkward conversations. Dialog is what Kojima couldn't handle right, and that's a shame because that was actualy the only real gripe I have had with the game, but I guess that it's part of the magic that this series has. The bosses are fantastic, the mood is great. The game forces you to think about your next move and be on your toes. You constantly have to stay alert and learn to use your gadget arsenal wisely. I also loved the characters, as childish and silly some of them might be, because their personalities are interesting and unique. The codec conversations can be really good and it's especially nice that you can contact characters and get advice or perspective from them. I can safely say that every gamer should experience this game. It might seem dated but it really holds up after all this time, for some strange reason, and is stil perfectly playable. It's humorous, difficult, and fun.But most importantly , It's a fascinating creation that Hideo and his team managed to make. The game is very unique and has many small nuances that really make it an unforgettable experience. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. 100
    It is literally full of those 'classic' moments that are all too rare these days. Whether it's the first time your footprints are discovered, the first time you perform a stealth kill, finding out the identity of the 'Ninja', solving the method of defeating Psycho Mantis, obtaining the camera and seeking out your first 'ghost'... there are so many classic memories.
  3. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.