Metal Gear Solid PlayStation

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 1998
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1021 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, dangerTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game was a masterpiece. Metal Gear revolutionized the game industry with it's idea of: "You don't have to kill them, just sneak past them!" Many gamers like the idea that you can slip past people. Others like the idea that you can just blow through them like a steamroller. While that isn't impossible in MGS and it's sequels, it isn't recommended. The story is deep, enthralling andThis game was a masterpiece. Metal Gear revolutionized the game industry with it's idea of: "You don't have to kill them, just sneak past them!" Many gamers like the idea that you can slip past people. Others like the idea that you can just blow through them like a steamroller. While that isn't impossible in MGS and it's sequels, it isn't recommended. The story is deep, enthralling and full of twists and turns. Some might find it hard to grasp.
    I give this game a 10/10 for a astounding story, great gameplay, and above par voice-acting.
    Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Fun, cool, and unique. The characters, the story, the gameplay.... its all just top notch.
  4. MarkD.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Possably the greatest game ever, certainly the greatest PSX game! The stealthy gameplay made it more tense, gripping and non liniar then any aciton game before it (and not to mention revolutionary). It also had more unforgettable "classic moments" then any other game i've ever played.
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the finest action games ever made. MGS launched the stealth action genre in a was that no one expected. For it's time nothing like it had ever been made and it's legacy certainly lives on. I can think of no better game that deserves an update to the current generation.
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    i remember playing metal gear back on the NES long ago . now it returns to the PS1 and solid snake is kicking some major ass . this game has a solid story and great voice acting in a day when pretty much any and every games voice acting was rancid crap. a great gun selection fun boss fights and really well i cant think of any thing negitive to say about this game . its a game that feelsi remember playing metal gear back on the NES long ago . now it returns to the PS1 and solid snake is kicking some major ass . this game has a solid story and great voice acting in a day when pretty much any and every games voice acting was rancid crap. a great gun selection fun boss fights and really well i cant think of any thing negitive to say about this game . its a game that feels like a kick ass movie . Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid can safely be called the cream-of-the-crop stealth game. It looks amazing (even though it has PlayStation graphics) because of every layout and background is crafted so beautifully. The music really fits the scene and the score was well done. The gameplay immerses you so deeply that it goes beyond the TV screen and involves you, the player. It tells you to find hints onMetal Gear Solid can safely be called the cream-of-the-crop stealth game. It looks amazing (even though it has PlayStation graphics) because of every layout and background is crafted so beautifully. The music really fits the scene and the score was well done. The gameplay immerses you so deeply that it goes beyond the TV screen and involves you, the player. It tells you to find hints on the CD case, the Psycho Mantis boss can read your memory card for other games by Konami or tell you if you have saved in a while, or the way to beat Psycho Mantis, or when you get tortured; you and your thumbs actually feel like they are getting tortured. This immersion can only be found in this title, and not even with games today. The game has so many "little things" that really make it stand out. For example, if you hide in a box in a truck, you will get driven to the place on the box. No one told you that would happen and that is the beauty of it when you discover it. The bosses are numerous, challenging, and truly a fun experience. Metal Gear Solid is just plain ground-breaking and the reviews show it. As of this date, there are no user reviews under a "9" on Metacritic and only one yellow critic score. I would like to think that the one yellow review was a mistake and was supposed to be intended for a different game because then I would have to question it's sanity. There are only two problems that made this title not quite get a perfect "10." First, aiming most the weapons were a pain and I do not understand why I could not shoot in first-person mode. I wish that the entire game was a first-person-shooter after you beat it once. That would definitely make me have to play it again! The second issue was the many moments when a long cutscene appeared and I was just watching and waiting. I would skip them if it were another game, but the story is hard enough to follow, as is, due to the number of plot twists. The game consists of a total of a little over three hours of cutscenes, by the way! I finished normal mode in twenty hours, so 15% of my game was pure cinematic video! To be fair, the cutscenes were well done, but the thing is I didn't buy a movie. Overall, a very involving game that will go down in history for its originality and beauty with very few flaws. Expand
  8. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is not a perfect tittle, but equal to Zelda is almost perfect . The ten that i give to games it's because it top's superb tittles. During the time the game was ( and always will be) creative, genius and awesome. Who will forget the time you fought Psycho - Mantis with the reading memory card and also changing slots, no other game did that at the time, many other game copyMetal Gear Solid is not a perfect tittle, but equal to Zelda is almost perfect . The ten that i give to games it's because it top's superb tittles. During the time the game was ( and always will be) creative, genius and awesome. Who will forget the time you fought Psycho - Mantis with the reading memory card and also changing slots, no other game did that at the time, many other game copy that features on their own . A classic master piece. Expand
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Even today it is still the best title of the series. The stealth system was new and unique, it had voice action and a complex story with twists to think about.
  10. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Plain and simple, MGS1 proves that games with limitations and discretion are more often the most entertaining and the most meaningful. I read through the whole metal gear storyline before playing MGS4, but after finishing the latest installment I knew I was missing something, and so I purchased the PSN Ps1 version of Metal Gear Solid 1 for PS3. Not only was this thirteen year old game morePlain and simple, MGS1 proves that games with limitations and discretion are more often the most entertaining and the most meaningful. I read through the whole metal gear storyline before playing MGS4, but after finishing the latest installment I knew I was missing something, and so I purchased the PSN Ps1 version of Metal Gear Solid 1 for PS3. Not only was this thirteen year old game more than worth the $10, it probably wound up being the best deal on a video game I ever made. The simple gameplay mechanics are intuitive and human - it rewards common sense and natural thought processes more than any other game I've ever played. What's nowadays considered "miscellaneous" aspects here are the most charming and important - the character development is immediately rich, although it bares a little to close to cliche anime writing which was a slight personal turn off; the puzzles are bar none infinitely more clever than any other game ever made; even the no-doubt-about-it outdated graphics provide the right charm and connotation for everything you encounter. The point of this review is less to praise this game and more convince anyone wondering whether or not this game lives up to hype that it undoubtedly does. I'm extremely cynical when it comes to games (Bioshock and Portal were the only games I ever even considered worth a glance), and this pushes me only more so. Metal Gear Solid is not a video game; it's a masterpiece of contemporary culture, and exceedingly well worth anyone's (even/especially non-gamers') time. Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    There literally wasn't any or still isn't any video game like this game, it mastered the stealth genre like no other, one of the best video games on the Play Station or on any video game system, a Masterpiece.
  12. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Stealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feelStealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feel like you're sneaking around enemies and learning more about the mission, and you learn to not always believe what you're told. It's a game that feels real, the story feels plausible despite how unlikely it is, it's a piece of fantasy set in the real world. The graphics may not hold out, but the soundtrack, gameplay, story and characters make up for it Expand
  13. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Usually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's aUsually when I revisit old games, it disappoints me and I realize that many old games just don't age well. Metal Gear Solid, on the other hand, is still masterful. This game hasn't aged a bit. Playing it today is just as fun as it was over 10 years ago. Everything about this game is damn near perfect: the story, graphics (well, by PS standards), the music, and the gameplay. It's a cinematic masterpiece and one of the greatest stealth games ever made. Expand
  14. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This is by far the best PS Game.

    If today game industry have investment so much money in actors, cinema directors, guionist, writers, IT'S ALL BECAUSE OF THIS GAME!!!. I don't remember any game with so much trama before this. The games was created for play and for having fun, especially for kids to play (Super Nintendo, SEGA genesis era). Playstation created the best platform for
    This is by far the best PS Game.

    If today game industry have investment so much money in actors, cinema directors, guionist, writers, IT'S ALL BECAUSE OF THIS GAME!!!.

    I don't remember any game with so much trama before this. The games was created for play and for having fun, especially for kids to play (Super Nintendo, SEGA genesis era). Playstation created the best platform for Kojima to make this piece of art.

    I became a Metal Gear and Playstation fan by this game, iplay the game first as a demo version on the Demo Vol.9 on the PSOne i have only 8 years old and don't speak english, and i remember me and my dad watching this and i remember that this was the most amazing thing, if you compared this game to any of that year and years before the difference it's so much bigger, even many ps2 games aren't that good like this. Pure quality
    Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. It’s an absolutely must-have. If you have never played, buy it now and start playing as there is no tomorrow!!!
  16. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazingThis game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazing game. But this shocked me about how defied all my expectations. To start, the controls are great. Gameplay is very stealth driven, especially at the start. They also included a mechanic where when you beat the bosses, you where able to carry more items and got a health increase. This made you feel like you were progressing through the game. Anyone who says anything bad about graphics don't deserve to call themselves a gamer. You can't blame Konami for them because they only had that at the time. Even so, the visuals look amazing with so much attention to detail all throughout. Voice acting is top notch, definitely movie quality. As for the cutscenes, yes they are long, but it's a better movie then Heavy Rain. The cutscenes help to paint a beautiful and amazing story. The soundtrack is also awe inspiring. From the high energy of Escape, to the desperation of Encounter and finally to the beauty of The Best is Yet to Come, the soundtrack will grip you by the sheer fact that the Playstation could handle it. The soundtrack is so fitting and just so amazing, that it leaves me speechless. I have saved the best for last. Enemy AI is smart. If they notice any trace of you, the will look for you, and if they find you, they will pull the alarm and you better hide. Next, the boss battles. Metal Gear Solid is known for it's boss fights. This game contains easily some of the best in the franchise. From the gun duel with Ocelot, to Psycho Mantis who must be applauded for destroying the fourth wall throughout the fight, to the sniper duel with Sniper Wolf and lastly the final duel with Liquid Snake, the boss fights will amaze you, because they are some of the best. And lastly, and easily the best part of this game, is the story. As I have said, the cutscenes are long because they help paint such a deep plot. Hideo Kojima is the master of storytelling. The story is top notch and will keep you engaged all throughout. The story is deeply riddled with themes such as war and nuclear annihilation. The only thing that I can truly say about the story is that only way to truly experience it is to play the game yourself. The story has numerous plot twists that make it worth watching. The plot rivals that of many of the films and movies that have praised for their story. This game deserves nothing more then a perfect 10/10. Hideo Kojima has outdone himself and has proven that he is the king of storytelling. I feel pity for anyone who plays the XBox because unless they are willing to buy a PS3 or a PS2, they will not be able to enjoy the sheer masterpiece that this game is. It is worth any price and is a must own for anyone who likes stealth games or deep stories. Kojima, I salute you. Expand
  17. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Playing this game for the first time felt unreal. There was no game like it back then, and there won't ever be (unless of course you take the sequels into consideration). Great gameplay, great atmosphere, great dialogues and voice acting, plenty of cutscenes and of course the talent of Hideo Kojima are the key elements to its success.
  18. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    I played this game from start to finish, and it is simply a masterpiece.

    From the beginning to end, the story keeps you captivated with interesting characters (though it gets a bit on the cheesy japanese side from time to time) and great gameplay.

    The fact that I'm writing this with full confidence in 2014, should say how much of game it was for the 1990s.
    Two words: Perfect. Play (it)
  19. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    To this day it is one of the most groundbreaking games of all time. You can sit down and play this game 16 years after it's release and still be completely blown away. The storytelling and characters are excellent. The graphics and gameplay mechanics are of course outdated, but again the game is 16 years old. Top 10 game of all time.
  20. Me
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    Very good game.
  21. ErikG.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    this game is totally awesome for a playstation game it keeps you guessing all the way through defintley a 10 on my vote!
  22. JohnD.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Best game ever, even today. A must have!
  23. RickN.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Gaming classic. 'Nuff said.
  24. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    When this game first came out, I was seriously amazed. A classic and probably the best in the series.
  25. AlC.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    One of the best for PS1. Innovative in almost every aspect, Kojima doesn't disappoint. An engaging storyline, fantastic character development, and gameplay that is varied and just plain fun.
  26. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    A brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players aA brilliant game and continuing story of the metal gear series as players once again take control of Solid Snake as he battles a new enemy but with links to his past. New characters will show up as well as some old enemies and old allies as Solid Snake is forced to fight for more then himself he must find a reason to fight. The Game play is satisfactory for the system and gives players a lot of fun Expand
  27. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Firstly, i need to point out that i'm not one of those people who gives 10 scores to every half decent game. In fact this is the only game i've deemed worthy of a perfect 10 so far on Metacritic. So yeah, i consider Metal Gear Solid very special indeed. It's just one of those games that only comes along perhaps once every 10 years. Even now, ten years later it's still a rollercoasterFirstly, i need to point out that i'm not one of those people who gives 10 scores to every half decent game. In fact this is the only game i've deemed worthy of a perfect 10 so far on Metacritic. So yeah, i consider Metal Gear Solid very special indeed. It's just one of those games that only comes along perhaps once every 10 years. Even now, ten years later it's still a rollercoaster thrillride that will have you sweating with tension one minute and your mouth hanging open in awe the next. It was also full of more invention and brilliant ideas then any other action game i've ever played. If not the best game ever then certainly a contender. Expand
  28. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This is a wonderful game. It serves as a great start to the legendary Metal Gear Solid series. Even in modern days it is still one of the best single player games around.
  29. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. The story is so damn good that never gets boring. The graphics are nice for a ps one game and the sound is great and catch perfectly the game's atmosphere. The characters are memorable and the dialogues are nice. One of the best ps one games ever.
  30. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    Metal Gear Solid could be coined as the first modern video game. It was the game that set the trend for high quality cinematic storytelling in a videogame as well as being a revolutionary game for the stealth genre.
    Set after Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2, Metal Gear Solid once again places you in the shoes of Solid Snake. This time he is sent in to infiltrate a facility on Shadow Moses
    Metal Gear Solid could be coined as the first modern video game. It was the game that set the trend for high quality cinematic storytelling in a videogame as well as being a revolutionary game for the stealth genre.
    Set after Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2, Metal Gear Solid once again places you in the shoes of Solid Snake. This time he is sent in to infiltrate a facility on Shadow Moses island, there he finds a private military guarding nuclear weapons as well as a superweapon codenamed Metal Gear REX. The brains behind the operation is Snake's brother, Liquid Snake; as well as his team of terrorists called FOXHOUND. It's up to Snake to stop the operation on Shadow Moses and save the world from nuclear disaster.
    Raising the bar for not only stealth games, action games and storytelling in a video game, but also setting the standard for mature video games and giving the original PlayStation a serious advantage over the competition.
    If you're a gamer and you have not played this game, you owe it to yourself to do so.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

3
1
#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
3
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. GMR Magazine
    100
    A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. 100
    It is literally full of those 'classic' moments that are all too rare these days. Whether it's the first time your footprints are discovered, the first time you perform a stealth kill, finding out the identity of the 'Ninja', solving the method of defeating Psycho Mantis, obtaining the camera and seeking out your first 'ghost'... there are so many classic memories.
  3. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.