Metal Gear Solid PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 624 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 131
  2. Negative: 0 out of 131
  1. Lee
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love story was very well done (not mushy or anything,) and the music was fantastic. [***SPOILERS***] The music usually got me in the mood when i played the game; for example, when your in that factory place and sniper wolfe shoots the hell out of meryl, and the music starts up, it just gets to you.. The music just got me all depressed, and got me in the situation that snake was .. Its hard to explain but all i'm saying is, this game is my favourite and always will be. Expand
  2. MorganM.
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    I loved the game and could not put the controller down for a second.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  4. KyuuD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Comment? I can't describe how grrreat this game is. the best playstation game ever?? heheh it's actually the best game of all time Comment? I can't describe how grrreat this game is. the best playstation game ever?? heheh it's actually the best game of all time !!! only Final Fantasy X could stand stand near it. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    Looking back on "Metal Gear Solid", it surprises me how well this game has aged, considering most PS1 and N64 games did not age well at all.Looking back on "Metal Gear Solid", it surprises me how well this game has aged, considering most PS1 and N64 games did not age well at all. One of the best cinematic experiences in video games, "MGS" tells a well crafted (albeit often confusing) story with terrific voice acting, memorable characters, inventive gameplay and beautiful cinematography. Even if some of its gameplay mechanics are questionable by today's standards, if you want to experience one of the greatest video game series of all time, somehow, someway, you have to start here. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Stealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most importantStealth Action Redefined. Although not untrue this statement barely scratches the surface. This is one of the earliest and most important games to prove that video games can tell real meaningful stories. The gameplay is fun, unique, tight, and pulse pounding but the story shines more than anything. When you play this game you really feel like you're the main character Solid Snake, you feel like you're sneaking around enemies and learning more about the mission, and you learn to not always believe what you're told. It's a game that feels real, the story feels plausible despite how unlikely it is, it's a piece of fantasy set in the real world. The graphics may not hold out, but the soundtrack, gameplay, story and characters make up for it Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics

    For me Both ending is crap and useless solid snake was not solid snake anymore find a new path and bblablablabla,Solid snake laughing is creepy lol,and its don't even connect to mgs2 story, If somebody gonna remake this game its need another new ending for this game.
    Expand

See all 131 User Reviews