Metal Gear Solid PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 703 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 137
  1. David
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This game still amazes me, nearly 10 years later. Its a travesty that Tony Hawkes 2 beat it.
  2. MorganM.
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    I loved the game and could not put the controller down for a second.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  4. RyanG
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best ps1 game ever. Not even Final Fantasy 7 stands up to it. I still play it today.
  5. Apr 2, 2015
    10
    WOW! even now I wanna play it. 2 discs game. additional mission like VR missions and Time missions. Best example of stealth games. a lot ofWOW! even now I wanna play it. 2 discs game. additional mission like VR missions and Time missions. Best example of stealth games. a lot of equipment, secrets, possibility to make choice which will affect the game. bonuses after completing the game. nice characters, music, everything! Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. HideoThis game, is freaking amazing. To correctly describe the awe I felt after playing this game is difficult. This game is truly legendary. Hideo Kojima, you are amazing. Everything about this game is hard to describe because it amazes me about how much time and attention to detail was put into it. When I bought this game, I had already played MGS2 and MGS3, so I was expecting an amazing game. But this shocked me about how defied all my expectations. To start, the controls are great. Gameplay is very stealth driven, especially at the start. They also included a mechanic where when you beat the bosses, you where able to carry more items and got a health increase. This made you feel like you were progressing through the game. Anyone who says anything bad about graphics don't deserve to call themselves a gamer. You can't blame Konami for them because they only had that at the time. Even so, the visuals look amazing with so much attention to detail all throughout. Voice acting is top notch, definitely movie quality. As for the cutscenes, yes they are long, but it's a better movie then Heavy Rain. The cutscenes help to paint a beautiful and amazing story. The soundtrack is also awe inspiring. From the high energy of Escape, to the desperation of Encounter and finally to the beauty of The Best is Yet to Come, the soundtrack will grip you by the sheer fact that the Playstation could handle it. The soundtrack is so fitting and just so amazing, that it leaves me speechless. I have saved the best for last. Enemy AI is smart. If they notice any trace of you, the will look for you, and if they find you, they will pull the alarm and you better hide. Next, the boss battles. Metal Gear Solid is known for it's boss fights. This game contains easily some of the best in the franchise. From the gun duel with Ocelot, to Psycho Mantis who must be applauded for destroying the fourth wall throughout the fight, to the sniper duel with Sniper Wolf and lastly the final duel with Liquid Snake, the boss fights will amaze you, because they are some of the best. And lastly, and easily the best part of this game, is the story. As I have said, the cutscenes are long because they help paint such a deep plot. Hideo Kojima is the master of storytelling. The story is top notch and will keep you engaged all throughout. The story is deeply riddled with themes such as war and nuclear annihilation. The only thing that I can truly say about the story is that only way to truly experience it is to play the game yourself. The story has numerous plot twists that make it worth watching. The plot rivals that of many of the films and movies that have praised for their story. This game deserves nothing more then a perfect 10/10. Hideo Kojima has outdone himself and has proven that he is the king of storytelling. I feel pity for anyone who plays the XBox because unless they are willing to buy a PS3 or a PS2, they will not be able to enjoy the sheer masterpiece that this game is. It is worth any price and is a must own for anyone who likes stealth games or deep stories. Kojima, I salute you. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics
    The Good:Solid Snake,Otacon,Grey fox,ocelot,raven,liquid snake,Story,Gameplay.
    the bad:both ending,find a new path blablabla,meryl,graphics

    For me Both ending is crap and useless solid snake was not solid snake anymore find a new path and bblablablabla,Solid snake laughing is creepy lol,and its don't even connect to mgs2 story, If somebody gonna remake this game its need another new ending for this game.
    Expand

See all 137 User Reviews