Metal Gear Solid PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1017 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 168
  1. FATZOMBIEFAT
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    8.8 is not a desireable overall score, please bow your heads as we chant WE ARE NOT WORTHY!!!
  2. VincenzoC.
    Aug 1, 2002
    10
    I haven't gotten very far in it yet, but it gives me the gutwrenching feeling that Solid Snake would be feeling.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  4. RyanG
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best ps1 game ever. Not even Final Fantasy 7 stands up to it. I still play it today.
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    A profound classic that started a legacy. To this very day it doesn't cease to impress me and is one of few games I have witnessed to agedA profound classic that started a legacy. To this very day it doesn't cease to impress me and is one of few games I have witnessed to aged with excellence. A game you should at least get the chance to experience, because it may change how you see games today. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    I played MGS back in the 90's and I remember it being pretty good, but now after replaying it almost 20 years later I'm glad to realize thatI played MGS back in the 90's and I remember it being pretty good, but now after replaying it almost 20 years later I'm glad to realize that the legend is true and this is actually a timeless masterpiece that aged extremely well and still is one of the best pieces of art in this genre. Amazing story, characters, atmosphere, gameplay, boss fights, this game can also troll you pretty hard in a clever way. It's a complete experience, extremely compact and well-made. A Classic. Now I'm looking forward to play the sequels to see if they can keep this level of quality or maybe even surpass it. 10/10 Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2017
    3
    Le succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeuLe succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeu aurait pu être bon s'il n'était pas aussi sclérosé par sa japoniaiserie dégoulinante, ses contrôles très perfectibles et sa vue d'en haut contraire au bon sens le plus élémentaire.

    Sa mise en scène est risible (quand les Japonais tentent de singer Hollywood, c'est ce que ça donne -la VF caricaturale en accentue le grotesque) et ses "boss" ridicules semblent tout droit sortis d'une borne d'arcade des années 90. Techniquement pour de la PS1, c'est dans le haut du panier certes mais ça ne suffit pas à tirer MGS de son marasme vidéo-ludique.
    Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998