Metal Gear Solid PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1002 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 167
  1. AndrewC.
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Amazing gameplay for its time, great graphics, great characters, unforgettable plotline... My greatest experience playing a video game. I Amazing gameplay for its time, great graphics, great characters, unforgettable plotline... My greatest experience playing a video game. I must have beaten it about 10 times over. Expand
  2. MichaelF.
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    Damn this is a hell of a game.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  4. roryw
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    its as good a game as the shawshank redemption is a film. well to be honest its better lol
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    People may say there are too many cutscenes and not enough gameplay, but that is definitely not a problem. The story in this game is one of myPeople may say there are too many cutscenes and not enough gameplay, but that is definitely not a problem. The story in this game is one of my favorite stories of all time in video games, and the gameplay is still incredibly fun after all these years. I'm 15 years old and have played all the new Xbox 360 and PS3 games, and this game is still able to compete with the new releases. Expand
  6. MarkD.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Possably the greatest game ever, certainly the greatest PSX game! The stealthy gameplay made it more tense, gripping and non liniar then any Possably the greatest game ever, certainly the greatest PSX game! The stealthy gameplay made it more tense, gripping and non liniar then any aciton game before it (and not to mention revolutionary). It also had more unforgettable "classic moments" then any other game i've ever played. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2017
    3
    Le succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeuLe succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeu aurait pu être bon s'il n'était pas aussi sclérosé par sa japoniaiserie dégoulinante, ses contrôles très perfectibles et sa vue d'en haut contraire au bon sens le plus élémentaire.

    Sa mise en scène est risible (quand les Japonais tentent de singer Hollywood, c'est ce que ça donne -la VF caricaturale en accentue le grotesque) et ses "boss" ridicules semblent tout droit sortis d'une borne d'arcade des années 90. Techniquement pour de la PS1, c'est dans le haut du panier certes mais ça ne suffit pas à tirer MGS de son marasme vidéo-ludique.
    Expand

See all 167 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998