Resident Evil 2 PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ready or not, the terror of Resident Evil 2 is here. In chapter one, the case of the disastrous T-virus outbreak--a mutagenic toxin designed for biological weapons--was eventually closed but the experiments were far from over. Control the destiny of Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as theirReady or not, the terror of Resident Evil 2 is here. In chapter one, the case of the disastrous T-virus outbreak--a mutagenic toxin designed for biological weapons--was eventually closed but the experiments were far from over. Control the destiny of Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as their nightmare begins when a biotech terror runs rampant in Raccoon City. Relentless zombies and hideous monsters are all out for a taste of your blood. If the suspense doesn't kill you, something else will. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Better graphics, imroved story, and the same basic look-out-for-the-zombies gameplay. [Nov 2001, p.51]
  2. The sequel elevates what was so great about the first one to a complete new level of terror.
  3. One of the most clever, crowd-pleasing, tense, dramatic, beautiful and playable games ever conceived.
  4. Now, I hear what you're saying: "This Zombie is chewing on my foot, it deserves to be shot." But that's just the response that society has conditioned you to have. So even though this is a great game with good graphics, terrific sound, riveting action, and puzzles that will keep you entertained for hours... As a favor to our Zombie friends, do not buy this game.
  5. Zombies running amok in Raccoon City; more B-movie voice acting running amok on your speakers. Enough to fill two disks this time! [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. 90
    For newcomers to the series, there's never been a better time to get scared.
  7. More an interactive movie than a game, RE2 looks pretty but lacks challenge.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. ChrisM
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Jay D.... You gave this game a zero. Seriously. A zero. People like you who should've been born with no hands so they can't get Jay D.... You gave this game a zero. Seriously. A zero. People like you who should've been born with no hands so they can't get access to a computer. The least you could do is give information as to WHY you feel this game deserves a 0. But no. You just say "the original is still the best" and slap a 0 on it. While I really think this game deserves a solid 9, I'm giving it a 10 because every little bit helps to make up for your stupidity. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    To me Resident Evil 2 and 4 are tied for the best and my personal favorite, not just because Leon is awesome in both, but the gameplay wasTo me Resident Evil 2 and 4 are tied for the best and my personal favorite, not just because Leon is awesome in both, but the gameplay was just wow. I literally can play these two games over and over and over. They're that addicting. I love them. Now focusing on 2. 2 starts out where Leon is supposed to go to the RPD for a party. First day on the job is always supposed to be the worst anyway, well yeah it was a bad day for Leon. The opening scenes put you in suspense and it never stopped. When it got quite I got real scared as a kid not going to lie. I was terrified, but I beat the game. I even bought it for my ps3. This game also really intrigued me. It was a long long campaign. I just love this game so much it's ridiculous. 2 and 4 of the Resident Evil franchise are my favorite games of all time. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    One of the best gmes i've played. The Soundtrack, cutescenes, characters and history.... everything in this game is epic. Probably the bestOne of the best gmes i've played. The Soundtrack, cutescenes, characters and history.... everything in this game is epic. Probably the best Resident Evil and one of the best games of Capcom. Expand
  4. GrayT.
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    The best of the old generation of RE games, outshined only by the groundbreaking 4.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Here are my six standard game-judging questions:
    1. Did I enjoy the game overall? Yes.
    2. Was the game good enough to play through to
    Here are my six standard game-judging questions:
    1. Did I enjoy the game overall? Yes.
    2. Was the game good enough to play through to completion? Yes.
    3. Did I get a little bored and put the game down for a while to play another game in the mean time? No.
    4. After completing the game, was it good enough to play again, even for a little while? Yes.
    5. Was it good enough to warrant a purchase of a re-release or sequel? Yes.
    6. Is it timeless/a classic? Meaning: Is it good enough to still play to this day? No.
    What's my total? 9/10!
    Note: I am 31 years old, and a mature, respectful, unbiased gamer.
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic. It improved on the original in every way and tried many new ideas that have yet to be topped. One of the few games thatAbsolutely fantastic. It improved on the original in every way and tried many new ideas that have yet to be topped. One of the few games that has successfully made me jump and kept me on the edge of my seat. Great story, fantastic characters, brilliant visuals and highly memorable gameplay. Overall: While it is my favorite of the series, it still isn't the best and does suffer from some minor flaws, but at least the voice acting has improved to tolerable levels. Expand
  7. JayD.
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    The original is still the best...

See all 41 User Reviews