Resident Evil 2 PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 288 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ready or not, the terror of Resident Evil 2 is here. In chapter one, the case of the disastrous T-virus outbreak--a mutagenic toxin designed for biological weapons--was eventually closed but the experiments were far from over. Control the destiny of Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as theirReady or not, the terror of Resident Evil 2 is here. In chapter one, the case of the disastrous T-virus outbreak--a mutagenic toxin designed for biological weapons--was eventually closed but the experiments were far from over. Control the destiny of Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as their nightmare begins when a biotech terror runs rampant in Raccoon City. Relentless zombies and hideous monsters are all out for a taste of your blood. If the suspense doesn't kill you, something else will. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Better graphics, imroved story, and the same basic look-out-for-the-zombies gameplay. [Nov 2001, p.51]
  2. The sequel elevates what was so great about the first one to a complete new level of terror.
  3. One of the most clever, crowd-pleasing, tense, dramatic, beautiful and playable games ever conceived.
  4. Now, I hear what you're saying: "This Zombie is chewing on my foot, it deserves to be shot." But that's just the response that society has conditioned you to have. So even though this is a great game with good graphics, terrific sound, riveting action, and puzzles that will keep you entertained for hours... As a favor to our Zombie friends, do not buy this game.
  5. Zombies running amok in Raccoon City; more B-movie voice acting running amok on your speakers. Enough to fill two disks this time! [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. 90
    For newcomers to the series, there's never been a better time to get scared.
  7. More an interactive movie than a game, RE2 looks pretty but lacks challenge.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. ChrisM
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Jay D.... You gave this game a zero. Seriously. A zero. People like you who should've been born with no hands so they can't get Jay D.... You gave this game a zero. Seriously. A zero. People like you who should've been born with no hands so they can't get access to a computer. The least you could do is give information as to WHY you feel this game deserves a 0. But no. You just say "the original is still the best" and slap a 0 on it. While I really think this game deserves a solid 9, I'm giving it a 10 because every little bit helps to make up for your stupidity. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    Resident evil 2 has great graphics for the time including amazing cut scenes. Best game play of the entire RE franchise with 4 being a closeResident evil 2 has great graphics for the time including amazing cut scenes. Best game play of the entire RE franchise with 4 being a close 2nd. Tons of replay value with different scenarios and modes to try. excellent balance between you and your enemies including the lickers which are new to this game. The survival is difficult but not unfair. although it may be considered easier than 1 or 3, it isn't easy. The game has lots of atmosphere and scares to keep you on your toes through the entire experience. With all the awards and replay value this game will keep you coming back until you realize that this is not just an amazing game, but a legendary one.
    10/10
    Expand
  3. ReyesA
    May 5, 2009
    10
    I keep hearing what people say about these Resident Evil games so I bought the full collection (1 through 3) for PS1. I HATED part 1. This I keep hearing what people say about these Resident Evil games so I bought the full collection (1 through 3) for PS1. I HATED part 1. This one however, doesn't frustrate me or make me mad. It's easy to play and still provides those jumpy scares. I love having people watch me play it because I get to see them jump when a zombie comes crashing through a window or ceiling. Anyway, if you buy this game, get the dual shock greatest hits version because it has arrange mode (which if you play on rookie you can have a machine gun with infinite ammo right from the start). I still have part 3 yet to play and I am definitely looking forward to it. Expand
  4. May 2, 2014
    10
    survival horror wise, this is the best game in the franchise. the scariest, the most challenging, and of course the tyrant, which isn't quitesurvival horror wise, this is the best game in the franchise. the scariest, the most challenging, and of course the tyrant, which isn't quite as cool as nemesis, but whatever. quite possibly the greatest survival horror game ever Expand
  5. PiranhaG.
    Sep 13, 2003
    9
    Another resident evil good game. But the puzzles are so dumb and easy...
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest Survival-Horror games of all time. Great atmosphere and great puzzles are major factors in this game being a classic.One of the greatest Survival-Horror games of all time. Great atmosphere and great puzzles are major factors in this game being a classic. The game gives you 5 different ways of playing the story, those being Leon Scenario A and B, Clair Scenario A and B, and a rookie mode, which starts you out with 3 infinite weapons. This is close to a masterpiece of a game, and easily one of PS1's best of all time. Expand
  7. JayD.
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    The original is still the best...

See all 48 User Reviews