Suikoden II PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Suikoden II Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sequel to the early PlayStation RPG. As a member of the Alliance, a military force only really hinted at in the original, you play the unwitting hero of the game: an orphan who has been raised by a quiet, unassuming battle hero in a seemingly ancient war. Alongside you in the ranks is yourSequel to the early PlayStation RPG. As a member of the Alliance, a military force only really hinted at in the original, you play the unwitting hero of the game: an orphan who has been raised by a quiet, unassuming battle hero in a seemingly ancient war. Alongside you in the ranks is your best friend Jowy, a boy born of nobility but who has never been able to receive approval in his stubborn father's eyes. As the game begins, you are immediately tossed into a tale of political strife, betrayal and war on a grand scale beyond your scope in the early stages. As the game wears on, the plot will twist, turn and develop in numerous ways that expose the personalities of each of the characters involved. The battle system is turn-based, with the option to equip Runes for special abilities, combine party member attacks to create chain combos or devastating spells, and the option to run the battle in Auto mode. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. netjak
    97
    I would place this one up there with "Xenogears" and "Grandia" as the three must buy RPGs for the system.
  2. Recreates some of the humor and visceral energy of the Chinese novel that loosely inspired it. But the characters and dramatic movement in this story of war are given enough time, thought, and care to come into a life all their own.
  3. 90
    A true sequel in nearly every aspect, Suikoden II manages to achieve the rare feat of actually picking up where the former game left off, taking gamers for a familiar ride that proves to be deeper and much more detailed than the original.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    But most of all, Suikoden II is a game easily enjoyed by both RPG newbies and veterans alike. [Nov 2001, p.52]
  5. Fans of the first Suikoden game will love the sequel - it improves on everything that had made the first game memorable. Suikoden II brings nothing new to the genre, but it executes well enough that no one will really care.
  6. Even though they did try to clear up a lot of issues some people had with the game, it just didn't seem to come off like the epic that was Suikoden I. It's not a bad sequel at all, it's just more of the same.
  7. New tactical, turn based war battles which offers total control, upgraded graphics and new special effects on spells and animations.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. ShaunF.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    I have played an large number of games, in any genre you care to mention, and have never seen any come as close to this masterpiece. It is I have played an large number of games, in any genre you care to mention, and have never seen any come as close to this masterpiece. It is the strongest in the series by a mile, the sequals cannot match it, and it improves on the already excellent original. Any RPG I play is measured against Suikoden 2, and none have come close to even challanging it. Marvellous graphics, a very engaging story with great depth and a fantastic sound track. I have replayed this game numerous times, and have never failed to be anying but wowed on each playthrough. Truly legendary. Expand
  2. CallieR.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    The follow-up to the original Suikoden enable you to import data from the first game into the second installment. Suikoden II may be longer The follow-up to the original Suikoden enable you to import data from the first game into the second installment. Suikoden II may be longer than the original, but the story, graphics, and high replay value gives Suikoden II high marks on my account. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    Have to admit that as a J-RPG fan this game has pretty much everything that you could want in a roleplay game. After playing it countlessHave to admit that as a J-RPG fan this game has pretty much everything that you could want in a roleplay game. After playing it countless times I find it very hard to find fault with in the experience of playing Suikoden II.

    Strong plot, interesting characters (of which most are actually playable, with there being 108 to recruit) and the game is presented so well. A wonderful score by Miki Higashino with memorable and mood setting pieces.

    The game has six member part battles much like the original, strategic war battles and a number of mini-games and side quests which can either result in plot based rewards or new characters joining your army of stars.

    Suikoden II rates in as perhaps one of the best role-play games I have ever played and is timeless in the fact that I can come back and play it over and over... years after it's original release. It corrects and improves on a number of things from the original though I have to admit that there are some translation errors but it's hardly something that really effects the game.

    I seriously recommend picking this game up if you love a good plot and fun characters who will surprise you with depth (especially if you've played the later entries in the series). Konami released a winner with Suikoden II, countless modern JRPGs have tried to match it but so many have failed.
    Expand
  4. ShionL.
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    The thing about this game is that you can play it over and over and still find something new. It is such a wonderful game, but I do recommend The thing about this game is that you can play it over and over and still find something new. It is such a wonderful game, but I do recommend playing Suikoden I first inorder to get the best out of the game. I love this game, what more can I say. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2016
    10
    Characters, story and music. It all looks cute. But it's so much deeper. This is easily one of my all time favorite games.
    The game expands
    Characters, story and music. It all looks cute. But it's so much deeper. This is easily one of my all time favorite games.
    The game expands on the original and everything looks better and works better.
    The fighting system is simple, but allows for a lot of personal taste on what type of strategy you like.
    And to collect the characters and make the right decisions is so much fun.
    Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    Suikoden II is a wonderful RPG. The storyline is the JRPG version of Game of Thrones, with twists and turns throughout. This game is aSuikoden II is a wonderful RPG. The storyline is the JRPG version of Game of Thrones, with twists and turns throughout. This game is a must-play for any RPG fan, especially since it is now available on the PSN after being very difficult to find since it's release. Give it the time, experience the cooking mini-game, and recruit all 108 characters. It's worth it, and it was worth the wait for anyone that was unable to play it because of it's lack of availability for the last ~15 years Expand
  7. May 28, 2016
    8
    One of the best games you can find on PS1. A masterpiece for its time and console.
    The story is not without holes, but the number of great
    One of the best games you can find on PS1. A masterpiece for its time and console.
    The story is not without holes, but the number of great characters that are actually designed (by design I mean characters motivations and background) much better than most characters you can find in "modern" video games, this whole castle of great characters is overwhelming.
    The strategic battles are even more fun than they were in S1, Lots of mini-games, challenging final boss, more options for customization with runes and many other pluses comparing to the first game in the series.
    If you would play this on PS Vita, then this game is a "10" and a must have. My current score is a 2016 score for PS1 game.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
#7 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999