Tales of Destiny II PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Tales of Destiny II Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Embark on a heroic journey to discover the truth behind an enigmatic stranger and the ominous message she brings. For years, life in the sleepy village of Rasheans was routine and peaceful - that is, until the day a spacecraft crashed in a nearby forest leaving nothing but wreckage, aEmbark on a heroic journey to discover the truth behind an enigmatic stranger and the ominous message she brings. For years, life in the sleepy village of Rasheans was routine and peaceful - that is, until the day a spacecraft crashed in a nearby forest leaving nothing but wreckage, a mysterious girl, and a desperate warning of catastrophe. Join Reid, Farah, and other valiant heroes as they set out to discover the origin of the stranded girl and the truth behind the fate of their worlds. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Quality RPG gameplay wrapped in 2D nostalgia, and a good buy for those seeking maximum real-time battle bang out of their hard-earned bucks.
  2. 85
    The Tales battle system is in a class by itself.
  3. It's got all the qualities that made people love the genre in the days before the PlayStation, plus a nifty battle program and some impressive anime videos to boot.
  4. 80
    An engaging story, colorful graphics, a fine soundtrack (including solid voice-acting), and responsive controls means this sequel easily delivers the kind of solid adventure that fans of the genre crave.
  5. A superb sequel to a great original game.
  6. Those looking for an FMV extravaganza need not apply, but if you value the gameplay that really makes an RPG what it is, you'll find a lot to like in Tales of Destiny II.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    A solid but uninspired game that never really grabbed me. [Oct 2002, p.138]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 4, 2016
    10
    An All Around PERFECT Game. this is definitely the finest of the series to date and a MUST have for any Good story, gameplay, and music lover.An All Around PERFECT Game. this is definitely the finest of the series to date and a MUST have for any Good story, gameplay, and music lover. This game just did Everything Right. Expand
  2. NicolasK.
    Jan 5, 2002
    10
    I've played all games, and all games are worth a 10 out of 10.
  3. Kutch
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    This game is really good, there are many games out there in 3D graphics but still "sucks", but this simple 2D game really "rocks". Along withThis game is really good, there are many games out there in 3D graphics but still "sucks", but this simple 2D game really "rocks". Along with cool anime FMV's and unique battle system the game stands high than other games on its genre. Although you can't control the other characters on battle mode, still you can give them orders on what to do and that style adds more strategy to the game on how you handle your party. Expand
  4. SchEzo
    Nov 2, 2001
    9
    Very engaging story. The battle engine will make you jump on your seat, add that with fine BGM and there, you have a wonderful game.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    This is the only Tales game I have, so I won't compare it to the others.

    For me, the game was great, with a dynamic battle system, lots of
    This is the only Tales game I have, so I won't compare it to the others.

    For me, the game was great, with a dynamic battle system, lots of sidequests, hidden locations, optional bosses and whatnot. Also it was pretty long too, which is always good. Voice acting was ok, not anything spectacular, but doesn't hurt the ears either.
    I like the story (no spoilers!), and -oh- the FMVs are just brilliant. There isn't a lot of them, but they're spot-on. Namco sure knows how to make them epic and memorable.

    The bad? There were lots of skits cut out from the English version, and there seem to be a lot of voice files on the disks which aren't used ingame, too. Makes you wonder. Also sometimes there can be a horrendous combination of enemy types, which makes you want to smash your pad/keyboard on the wall (Guitaricle 4x Carvadole, OH HOW I HATE YOU!!!)

    Overall, I'll give it a 9/10.
    Expand
  6. AdamH.
    Jan 31, 2002
    9
    Excellent game. The graphics are top notch as far as Playstation 1 games go. I also like trying to find that funny wonder chef and I like the Excellent game. The graphics are top notch as far as Playstation 1 games go. I also like trying to find that funny wonder chef and I like the active battle system as for sound, well it could be better. The character voices are either too high pitched (Meredy) or too low pitched (Reid). And Keele sounds too much like a girl. I usually just turn the volume very low and turn my CD Player on. Plus some of the monsters are too strong for being at certain points in the game (I used gameshark and got better weapons and armor and still got stomped.) Other than that, the game is awesome! (Just avoid the tough monsters at the beginning until higher levels and remember to save often) Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    The battle system is good with it hidden special attacks and everything but the rest is just generic. Have played better tales of games thanThe battle system is good with it hidden special attacks and everything but the rest is just generic. Have played better tales of games than this, disappointed me. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2001
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2001