Tekken 2

PlayStation
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 117
  2. Negative: 0 out of 117
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShawnT.
    Mar 5, 2003
    10
    Best Tekken game.
  2. FredE.
    May 23, 2003
    10
    Just great. but still number 4 is better. roll on number 5!!!!!!
  3. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    It's not a game you'd want to be playing now there's superior versions in the form of Tekken 5 (gameplay and graphics) and Tekken Tag 2 (which is coming out very soon and featuring tons of old characters) but Tekken 2 manages to remain a fun fighting game with the great stories, the colourful stages, the incredibly catchy music and the overall feel of it. It's definitely not perfect (whenIt's not a game you'd want to be playing now there's superior versions in the form of Tekken 5 (gameplay and graphics) and Tekken Tag 2 (which is coming out very soon and featuring tons of old characters) but Tekken 2 manages to remain a fun fighting game with the great stories, the colourful stages, the incredibly catchy music and the overall feel of it. It's definitely not perfect (when you press a button expect to wait a second before your character actually responds and the AI ranges from too easy to impossible) but it's the best in the series and worth playing for sure. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing for it's time, even though some of the music is rehashed it's so good that i don't care. The fighting is so complex, but not impossible to learn (i played it the first time as a five year old). A lot happended since the first one, a lot of new modes like team play, survival, time attack and practice with combolists. Many new characters and character endings, updatedThis game is amazing for it's time, even though some of the music is rehashed it's so good that i don't care. The fighting is so complex, but not impossible to learn (i played it the first time as a five year old). A lot happended since the first one, a lot of new modes like team play, survival, time attack and practice with combolists. Many new characters and character endings, updated and new fighting mechanics like the counter system (though only Jun has this feature). Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  6. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Tekken 2 is amazing ps1 game, it was released in 1996 along with crash badicoot 1 and blood omen legacy of kain. if you are a tekken fan, get tekken 2, it's good.
  7. Jan 8, 2016
    9
    One of the best Tekken classic in the history,fun arcade mode,very easy characters to control and master,great soundtrack.Its no Tekken 3 not even close but the reason why i gave it a 9 cause its the first Tekken game i played and the reason why im a fan of the franchise,probably you won't find any fighting game better than Tekken,its definately the king of fighting games and had stay thatOne of the best Tekken classic in the history,fun arcade mode,very easy characters to control and master,great soundtrack.Its no Tekken 3 not even close but the reason why i gave it a 9 cause its the first Tekken game i played and the reason why im a fan of the franchise,probably you won't find any fighting game better than Tekken,its definately the king of fighting games and had stay that way for a really really long time,although soul calibur and dead or alive might have come close.A very great game,simple but fun to play,its a must to your collection plus Jun Kazama is my favourite,shes brutal!! Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2017
    9
    One of the greatest fighting game sequels in video game history. It surpasses the original and would continue to evolve into a fantastic series.

    I love this game. The graphics back in 1996 looked slightly better than the original but 20 years on they obviously look awful. The music is good but I like the console port music from the 1st Tekken much more. The arcade version music is way
    One of the greatest fighting game sequels in video game history. It surpasses the original and would continue to evolve into a fantastic series.

    I love this game. The graphics back in 1996 looked slightly better than the original but 20 years on they obviously look awful. The music is good but I like the console port music from the 1st Tekken much more. The arcade version music is way better than the home port. The sound effects for punches, kicks, throws, damage and death cries sound so badass. The gameplay had a MASSIVE overhaul and brought in new fighting mechanics to keep the game more interesting. The sub-bosses from the original return and are improved in every area in terms of depth, style and moveset.

    It brought us many new fighters to the series: Jun Kazama, Bruce Irvin, Lei Wulong, Alex/Roger, Angel/Devil, Baek Doo San and Jack 2.

    The new mechanics were
    -command list
    -10 hit combos for every fighter
    -hidden throws and throw chain combos for many fighters
    - reversals and throw reversals
    - back throws
    - unblockable attacks and dash/ hidden special attacks
    -sidestep for Kazuya and Heihachi

    Of course the various modes that would become the staple of the series and the fighting game genre such as Time Attack Mode, Survival Mode, Team Battle Mode and Practice Mode.

    The only flaw with the game is the stiff controls and the stupid space-jump mechanic from Virtua Fighter. Thank God they fixed this in Tekken 3.

    Overall i give this game a 9 out of 10. A must buy for fighting game fans.
    Expand
  9. MarkD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    8
    The best BEU of its time and still enjoyable but has some basic flaws in its gameplay and AI (you can beat the computer just by using the low kick over and over). Very good but dated.
  10. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    Tekken 2 is a good game and a improvement to tekken 1. It had great characters, great graphic and the gameplay was also very good. Of course now its outdated but back then it was a good fighting game.
  11. Dec 25, 2013
    8
    Tekken 2 isn't perfect, although it sure comes close. As it stands, it's one of the best fighters available for the PlayStation. If you like fighting games at all, you will love Tekken 2. The graphics and fluent character movement will amaze
  12. Jun 10, 2015
    8
    Anybody who is a fan of fighting games needs to pick this up. This is one of the best Tekken games and really should not be overlooked for 3D fighting games.
  13. Mar 19, 2017
    8
    A Huge step up over the original game but still not quite as good as the third game in the series. Still a solid game and well worth a look in for anyone that has an original Playstation.
  14. Aug 26, 2016
    8
    Tekken 2 is the second installment in the Tekken fighting game series, developed and published by Namco.

    + Excellent 3D Fighting Game
    + Good Characters Designs
    + Ending Cutcenes
  15. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand

Awards & Rankings

4
3
#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1996
3
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1996
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. The fighting engine is awesome. The graphics are awesome. The characters' moves are awesome. This game just plain kicks ass.
  2. Wickedly sick action, amazingly fast gameplay, mother of all.... What more is there to say? Tekken 2 rules! The undeniable king of fighting games is here, and it's time to break bones and necks.
  3. This game take the PlayStation to a new level of excellence. The graphics are the most fluid and detailed yet seen. The gameplay is even hotter than the original.