The Italian Job PlayStation
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It's the first must-own PS one game for the PS2-only chaps. And that's a real coup. [June 2002, p.102]
  2. Quirky, fun and appropriately-priced.
  3. Rockstar could easily sell this game for full price, and it would still be well worth buying. [June 2002, p.120]
  4. 83
    This control's like my cousin Rocko's deodorant. Sometimes it's on, sometimes it's not. [June 2002, p.67]
  5. A great mission-based driving game and has enough to offer gamers in actual gameplay and in its brilliant reproduction of the movie's premise and character.
  6. At ten bucks, it is worth buying for any PSX or PS2 owner that can overlook the weak graphics and appreciate the game’s sense of humor and tight, straight-forward game play.
  7. 75
    There's a lot of stuff to do. Not sure so much of it's fun after you've memorized the route, however.
  8. If the words "noonday underground" mean anything to you, or you don't know who Tanner is, then The Italian Job is definitely just for you. [July 2002, p.89]
  9. Its madcap subject matter, good presentation, and friendly control scheme will appeal to many people.
  10. It’s not 'impossible' hard, just so unforgiving that it fails to be 'enjoyable' hard.
  11. Get used to the controls and level shortcuts and you should have no problem leaving the cops with their donuts and the Mafia alone with the fishes.
  12. The crime caper atmosphere really makes it fun! [June 2002, p.40]
  13. The controls take some getting used to, and the graphics aren’t superb, but the game is fun to play.
  14. 60
    Hard to digest. The visuals are strictly low-budget with splotchy, blocky graphics.
  15. A great PS game, along the lines of "Driver," only more, shall we say, international. [June 2002, p.63]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. MantisX.
    May 8, 2003
    7
    This is a suprisingly good grand theft auto style driving game. I picked it up for 8 bucks at sams club after reading a few reviews for it. This is a suprisingly good grand theft auto style driving game. I picked it up for 8 bucks at sams club after reading a few reviews for it. It does have horrible graphics but the gameplay makes up for it and its humor is actually pretty amusing. Well worth 8 bucks anyday (but hey, they could have sold me a coaster for 8 bucks and it still would have been a good deal, assuming it was a special light up coaster or something). Full Review »
  2. Dan
    Aug 26, 2002
    6
    I'm still scratching my head at this one. First of all, "The Italian Job" is great fun, in a very pure way. That may sound odd I'm still scratching my head at this one. First of all, "The Italian Job" is great fun, in a very pure way. That may sound odd considering the criminal theme, but this game is a straightforward driver, with the player charged to complete specific missions within a specified period of time. Then there are the mini-games ... Although the sound is pleasant enough, the graphics leave much to be desired. I don't think that I am jaded by the beauty of the 128-bit games; "The Italian Job" looks like it came off a 32-bit system, at best. Finally, after putting in about three hours of play time, I tried to save my progress -- but I kept being told that the memory card in my PS2 was unrecognizable. My rating gives the benefit of the doubt to the game, presuming that this was just a temporary glitch in my system. Full Review »
  3. BrianB.
    May 24, 2002
    4
    Controls are not the greatest, very sluggish. Graphics are choppy and blocky. Thank heavens it doesn't cost 50 bucks to buy or I'd Controls are not the greatest, very sluggish. Graphics are choppy and blocky. Thank heavens it doesn't cost 50 bucks to buy or I'd be really disappointed. The playstation is really starting to show it's age when titles like this come out; should have been a PS2 only release... Full Review »