The Legend of Dragoon PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Legend of Dragoon Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But theA peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But the past and the future are about to collide...Unveil a fantasy of Magnificence, Deception, Magical Combat and Retribution. Transform into Dragoons and unleash extraordinary powers. Incredibly diverse characters wield unique weapons and Dragoon attacks powered by the forces of Earth, Light, Fire, Wind, Lightning, Water and Darkness. Totally unique and innovative tactical combat "Additionals" System. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    This one has it all -- an innovative combat interface, a sweeping story and some of the most gorgeous graphics seen in a PSX RPG. Quite simply, it's a must-buy for any console RPG fanatic.
  2. 100
    Its powerful story, great cast of characters, gorgeous graphics, and one of the most inventive battle systems in a long time all work together to create an instant classic.
  3. To each his own opinion but for this one reviewer Legend of Dragoon is truly legendary.
  4. If I never again see a story that contains color-coded heroes, it will be too soon.
  5. Borrows too heavily from other games and lacks that "hook" to make it worth dealing with excessive defending, a thin story you'd expect to see on Power Rangers, and aural competence.
  6. CNET Gamecenter
    60
    When all is said and done, The LoD is like your typical one-night stand: it's OK for a quick fix but it's nothing that will get you emotionally involved.
  7. Despite the hype, Legend of Dragoon is a soulless creature, a subpar game held aloft by deceptive marketing. Don't trust it.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 88
  2. Negative: 3 out of 88
  1. MichaelS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Even though many say this game is a FF7 remake with a new name, it stands to reason that all RPG games are the same but in the field of the Even though many say this game is a FF7 remake with a new name, it stands to reason that all RPG games are the same but in the field of the genre in and of itself this games stands high in the ranks with breath-taking graphics, a battle system that constantly grows, and a story to shake the ages. Inevitably making LoD a must own for all RPG fans world wide. Expand
  2. QasimM.
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    GR8 Game.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Simply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn basedSimply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn based combat system that much more interactive. NEEDS a sequel. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Still my favorite game after all this years. Great games comes year after year but none reach LoD.
    I replay it often and still can't get
    Still my favorite game after all this years. Great games comes year after year but none reach LoD.
    I replay it often and still can't get enough of it, it's majestic. One of the most underrated games in history. A true gem of the PlayStation unmatched catalog. If you want to give it a try do it with a open mind and you will know why this games is so loved by it's fans.
    Expand
  5. PedroG.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    I have this game and I say, on behalf of my school,that this game is the best one ever to come in playstation RPG! Whoever would think this I have this game and I say, on behalf of my school,that this game is the best one ever to come in playstation RPG! Whoever would think this game is boring, is a total non-gamer. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    The Legend of Dragoon is a role-playing video game developed and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation.

    + My
    The Legend of Dragoon is a role-playing video game developed and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation.

    + My Favorite RPG of PS1
    + Great Characters and Story
    + Fun Combat
    Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2015
    0
    Boring and slow-pacing story, with tons of repetitive battles and backtracking.

    Stupid battle mechanics test players' patience like the QTE
    Boring and slow-pacing story, with tons of repetitive battles and backtracking.

    Stupid battle mechanics test players' patience like the QTE mechanics nowadays.

    Probably one of the worst RPG in PS era.
    Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#4 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000