• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Legend of Dragoon Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But theA peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But the past and the future are about to collide...Unveil a fantasy of Magnificence, Deception, Magical Combat and Retribution. Transform into Dragoons and unleash extraordinary powers. Incredibly diverse characters wield unique weapons and Dragoon attacks powered by the forces of Earth, Light, Fire, Wind, Lightning, Water and Darkness. Totally unique and innovative tactical combat "Additionals" System. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. This one has it all -- an innovative combat interface, a sweeping story and some of the most gorgeous graphics seen in a PSX RPG. Quite simply, it's a must-buy for any console RPG fanatic.
  2. 100
    Its powerful story, great cast of characters, gorgeous graphics, and one of the most inventive battle systems in a long time all work together to create an instant classic.
  3. To each his own opinion but for this one reviewer Legend of Dragoon is truly legendary.
  4. If I never again see a story that contains color-coded heroes, it will be too soon.
  5. Borrows too heavily from other games and lacks that "hook" to make it worth dealing with excessive defending, a thin story you'd expect to see on Power Rangers, and aural competence.
  6. When all is said and done, The LoD is like your typical one-night stand: it's OK for a quick fix but it's nothing that will get you emotionally involved.
  7. Despite the hype, Legend of Dragoon is a soulless creature, a subpar game held aloft by deceptive marketing. Don't trust it.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 69
  3. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. Adam
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    Severely underated. As you can see it seems the critics all dislike this one a lot more than the fans who played it. Best gameplay in fights Severely underated. As you can see it seems the critics all dislike this one a lot more than the fans who played it. Best gameplay in fights of any RPG i've played to date. It was actually interactive instead of simply pressing attack over and over. Gameplay better than any of the Final Fantasy's of its time for sure and the graphics were amazing as well. Voice acting was good, story was good, I cant even think of any complaints here. A must play. Expand
  2. QasimM.
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    GR8 Game.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Simply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn basedSimply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn based combat system that much more interactive. NEEDS a sequel. Collapse
  4. StuS
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Sadly overshadowed by Final Fantasy VII (which was a great title in its own right), some of the criticism of this game is unfair. I recall Sadly overshadowed by Final Fantasy VII (which was a great title in its own right), some of the criticism of this game is unfair. I recall reading one review that stated that it went so far with the use of the word "bastard" (a legitimate claim, since it *did* have a lot of usage in this game), that there was even a "Bastard sword". I facepalmed reading that, but this game had one of the most compelling stories, best graphics, and interactive gameplay for an RPG of its time. I hope that a sequel (or remake, with a bit less Narm) is made at some point. Expand
  5. May 4, 2015
    10
    One of my favourite RPGs and I can safely say that it has aged remarkably well. Only problem is playing it on PS2; my game froze afterOne of my favourite RPGs and I can safely say that it has aged remarkably well. Only problem is playing it on PS2; my game froze after defeating a boss and didn't work. Then again, it is a PS1 game, so can't really complain. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I find it hilarious that just about all the positive scores are 10's. Was it really that good or are we just that upset that there is noI find it hilarious that just about all the positive scores are 10's. Was it really that good or are we just that upset that there is no squeal? First great rpg I ever played and i'm still a fan of the dying genre. Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2015
    0
    Boring and slow-pacing story, with tons of repetitive battles and backtracking.

    Stupid battle mechanics test players' patience like the QTE
    Boring and slow-pacing story, with tons of repetitive battles and backtracking.

    Stupid battle mechanics test players' patience like the QTE mechanics nowadays.

    Probably one of the worst RPG in PS era.
    Expand

See all 69 User Reviews