User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 191

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2015
    10
    Amazing game in which I have spent hours playing. Just for those who think this is a game that only the old farts with nostalgia like I'm only 16 and I too find this game to be worth 10 stars
  3. Jan 6, 2015
    9
    One of the best games on the Playstation. The Tony Hawk games are always fun and this was a great sequel, sure Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 on the PS2 took the whole series to the next level but this was the last good tony hawk games to come on the PS1. With a great soundtrack and levels this game would keep you busy for hours and not to mention this was one of the first games that let you buildOne of the best games on the Playstation. The Tony Hawk games are always fun and this was a great sequel, sure Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 on the PS2 took the whole series to the next level but this was the last good tony hawk games to come on the PS1. With a great soundtrack and levels this game would keep you busy for hours and not to mention this was one of the first games that let you build your own skate park. This game deserves all the high ratings from critics and may I say might be one of the best PS1 games ever. Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    One of the best PS games of all time.This game offers great fun and awesome multi player action.
    10/10.
    Graphics-9/10
    Playabilitie -9/10
    SoundTrack-9/10
  5. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    I'm giving it a 10, because if it's music.Because it's the best skateboarding game.Because haters are stupid (u mad bro?).Because it was the reason I'd like to start skating.Because Spiderman is awesome and because I love it... haters hate it cuz they can't make a simple combo...
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    The music are so cool,The challenge is hard!Simple this is the best tony hawk game!The skates options are very extense and the game is very long!Hey Oh Let's Go play Tony Hawk's
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome! Perfect soundtrack, awesome gameplay and original graphics (very nice for PS plataform). A lot of secret areas and easter eggs to find. AWESOME, RADICAL! THIS ONE TOTALLY ROCKS!! It makes me try to fix my good old PS 1 to to play it.
  8. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Not just the best skateboarding game made, but the best sports game made. Everyone who played this when they first had a playstation will all have very fond memories of THPS2.
  9. johndoe
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Hands down, the best tony hawk game ever made.
  10. HimanchuGiri
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Breath-taking, still replayable to this day. Relive the classic game that defined the extreme sports genre by cutting into a slice of a cake knows as Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2. The whole game revamped what was previously thought un-upgradable and maximized it ten fold. The whole concept is awesome and it appealed to both hardcore and casual gamers. An enthralling game that deserves Breath-taking, still replayable to this day. Relive the classic game that defined the extreme sports genre by cutting into a slice of a cake knows as Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2. The whole game revamped what was previously thought un-upgradable and maximized it ten fold. The whole concept is awesome and it appealed to both hardcore and casual gamers. An enthralling game that deserves its 98/100 metascore. May this game be in a video game museum, shelved as one of the best games of all time. It deserves it. Go on, play the game today! Expand
  11. TomP
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    One of the best. Still played today. there is no need for a story with such amazing gameplay
  12. JohnD
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    An excellent skating game. I have enjoyed this game for many, many years.
  13. LividFiction
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    While THPS was an oustanding game, THPS2 guaranteed the series' ongoing success. With new tricks and two new modes
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    Why does it need a story it's a skating game. Even without a story name a better skatting game!
  15. RafaelC.
    Jun 29, 2005
    8
    Good Game, but kinda Over-Rated by the Hype..
  16. KevinS.
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    Unbelievable!
  17. EverettP.
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    This game was the best sequel of all time.
  18. JohnF.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    It rulez.
  19. Jenn:)
    Jul 14, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome!
  20. Gods_Grl
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    This game rocks! I own 1 and 2 of tony hawks pro skater games. If the third one is as good as this, I'm geting it! This is definitely a must have for all gamers!
  21. KarlD.
    Jan 4, 2002
    10
    One of the best games ever for the psx! The playstation world is divided between those who played tony hawk's 2 and those who are going to play it!! Flawless!!
  22. KirkG.
    Nov 8, 2001
    10
    I bought this game as soon as it came out and I wasn't disapointed. THPS2 rules!!
  23. StevenT.
    Aug 8, 2001
    10
    Ooooh myyyy god!
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The best skateboarding game ever and one of the greatest PlayStation games of all time.
  2. The best installment of the series in terms of control, music, and course design. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  3. With its customizability, near-perfect gameplay and copious amounts of fun, Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2 is the real deal -- a great sequel and a stellar game.