Xenogears PlayStation
Xenogears Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A mysterious organization is turning the tides of a century-long war with ancient technology - giant combat robots known as Gears. A failed attempt to steal one of these powerful weapons places it in the unwilling hands of young Fei and his dubious allies. Now he is pursued by military governments, royal pirates, spies, the emperor, and his own forgotten past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Combining good action, dark drama, a splash of anime, and lots of Really Big Robots, this game is the must-buy Playstation RPG of the season... Square's greatest masterpiece since it started producing for Playstation, and I highly recommend this game to anyone who's even heard of "Final Fantasy."
  2. 98
    Xenogears is a must for any RPG lover, regardless of your views toward Squaresoft. With its depth and creativity, Xenogears is my choice for RPG of the year.
  3. Yet another masterpiece from the makers of all Final Fantasy games.
  4. 89
    An extremely popular anime-style role-playing game of epic proportions. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. Playing this game is kind of like getting into a good book. The first few hours may be boring or even painful, but once you get into it, you'll be up until the wee hours of the morning flipping pages (or pressing buttons) trying to find out what happens next. And let me tell you - the story is first-rate and the plot gets thicker than a pint of Guinness straight from the tap.
  6. A deep, long (70 hours!), story-driven RPG that tackles some of the weightier issues out there... Yet another winner from Squaresoft. [Nov 2001, p.54]
  7. 60
    A relentlessly slow plot, plodding dialogue, and the unfortunate fumble of the robot interfaces's potential keeps Xenogears out of that stratosphere enjoyed by its far superior cousin, "Final Fantasy VII."

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. FelipeS
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Such a incredible history, wonderful characters, a brillant battle system. The gamepro critc is so stupid, I think the asshole tha wrote is a FFVII fanboy :/ Expand
  2. Joe
    May 6, 2004
    10
    Best rpg game yet compared 2 elmental gearbolt.
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I admit that after time has taken its toll on this game that it is a bit hard to go back to now with all these new great games out. However, Xenogears still is my favorite game of all time. I enjoyed the story greatly and once you figure out the combat system, it was one of the most fun of its time. Better than the regular turn based stuff from old rpgs. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Fantastic character development. Deep and thought provoking story. Amazing use of camera angles. Squaresoft baked a very unique RPG "recipe" for this title. Think 'mature-Kung-Fu-anime-style- action-RPG with all the usual Side-quests and what not Although the story is delivered rather slowly, I find it gives you more time to be drawn in to the abundance of details and the cinematography. ONLY DIE-HARD RPG FANS will enjoy this tale that was ahead of its time. Expand
  5. Williambr
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    This is one of the greatest games ever made, hands down.
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    It may seem antiquated to give a review to a PS1 game in 2013, but this game needs more credit. The story is simply put amazing, I will make no more mention of it. The gameplay involves playing as Fei Fong Wong, Citan, Elly, amongst others, stacking button combos and building up "deathblows", which are stronger moves to put away enemies (Like Triangle/Cross would activate one, and so on). The combos are limited to how much AP you have on a certain character. This works similarly once you get into the Gears, or what some people know of them as Mechs. I just found this game a very good experience. Although its not for everyone, I would highly recommend it, as you get a really good story, good gameplay, and characters you can actually feel for, even through the very abyssmal Second Disc of the game, where everything feels rushed, but it was still a pleasant experience to end the game. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    Most overrated RPG of all time. Story is boring, battle system is one of the worst Ive seen, and the characters are not interesting. I dont get all the hype surrounding this game. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews