Xenogears PlayStation
Xenogears Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A mysterious organization is turning the tides of a century-long war with ancient technology - giant combat robots known as Gears. A failed attempt to steal one of these powerful weapons places it in the unwilling hands of young Fei and his dubious allies. Now he is pursued by militaryA mysterious organization is turning the tides of a century-long war with ancient technology - giant combat robots known as Gears. A failed attempt to steal one of these powerful weapons places it in the unwilling hands of young Fei and his dubious allies. Now he is pursued by military governments, royal pirates, spies, the emperor, and his own forgotten past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Combining good action, dark drama, a splash of anime, and lots of Really Big Robots, this game is the must-buy Playstation RPG of the season... Square's greatest masterpiece since it started producing for Playstation, and I highly recommend this game to anyone who's even heard of "Final Fantasy."
  2. 98
    Xenogears is a must for any RPG lover, regardless of your views toward Squaresoft. With its depth and creativity, Xenogears is my choice for RPG of the year.
  3. 95
    With an intricate storyline, beautifully designed characters and mechs, and some of the most innovative features in an RPG, you simply can't afford to pass this game up.
  4. An extremely popular anime-style role-playing game of epic proportions. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. This game is geared (ha ha) more for the RPG player, and I can say that it could have possibly converted me into one with a little more action.
  6. Playing this game is kind of like getting into a good book. The first few hours may be boring or even painful, but once you get into it, you'll be up until the wee hours of the morning flipping pages (or pressing buttons) trying to find out what happens next. And let me tell you - the story is first-rate and the plot gets thicker than a pint of Guinness straight from the tap.
  7. 60
    A relentlessly slow plot, plodding dialogue, and the unfortunate fumble of the robot interfaces's potential keeps Xenogears out of that stratosphere enjoyed by its far superior cousin, "Final Fantasy VII."

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Hellwolf_36
    Mar 9, 2003
    10
    Good game thru and thru, story has sum cool parts but wuts not bad about getting into giant mechs and killing monsters?
  2. AteelA.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    This best game ever made it has everthing u could possible think of they went all out when makeing this game truely masterpice of it time and This best game ever made it has everthing u could possible think of they went all out when makeing this game truely masterpice of it time and even now. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I admit that after time has taken its toll on this game that it is a bit hard to go back to now with all these new great games out. However,I admit that after time has taken its toll on this game that it is a bit hard to go back to now with all these new great games out. However, Xenogears still is my favorite game of all time. I enjoyed the story greatly and once you figure out the combat system, it was one of the most fun of its time. Better than the regular turn based stuff from old rpgs. Expand
  4. EricT
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    One of the most intricate plots ever weaved for an rpg. One of the combat system innovators for the jrpg genre, this game is one One of the most intricate plots ever weaved for an rpg. One of the combat system innovators for the jrpg genre, this game is one Squarenix's under appreciated masterpeice's . This game is must have for your collection. The only thing potentially bad strike against it is this game should have been a four disc game, but to my understanding the game's limited budget(thanks to ff8) required them to use only two, and cram as much as they could on those two discs. This will be noticed when you are on the second disc, and do more reading then playing. I don't have a problem with this, but the average gamer might. This is a game that if you see it on ebay or amazon buy it immediately. This game is a culmination of the best things in the ps1 era. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    I just replayed Xenogears a few months ago. The first disk is great. Things become extremely complicated and a bit extreme when the secondI just replayed Xenogears a few months ago. The first disk is great. Things become extremely complicated and a bit extreme when the second disk hits, and it moves extremely fast. There were budget issues that turned the second half of the game into what it was.
    But the gameplay is amazing, the characters are interesting, the story is engaging, Xenogears is everything you want an RPG to be. The game is huge compared to modern games, and even many other RPGs of it's time.
    Imo, they could have ended the game at the first disk and it would've been a 10 anyway, so I won't detract any points for some of the short comings of the second disk.
    Play it! You won't regret it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Greatest storyline of all time!!! It makes all of the RPG's out there appear childish and trivial. This RPG is a game changers and it will notGreatest storyline of all time!!! It makes all of the RPG's out there appear childish and trivial. This RPG is a game changers and it will not leave you without pondering the events that unfold within its chapters. I will rest my case with this..... There is nothing else on the beaten path (videogame plots / RPG's) that can touch this masterpiece. People that don't get it, are either simpletons, or just plain impatient. My answer to that..... not everyone is born to be a scholar or grasp things of depth. However, if your the kind of person that has these qualities, this is an absolute must. I gurantee you won't be able to play it just once. The story will keep you coming back, as it does for the rest of us. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    Most overrated RPG of all time. Story is boring, battle system is one of the worst Ive seen, and the characters are not interesting. I dontMost overrated RPG of all time. Story is boring, battle system is one of the worst Ive seen, and the characters are not interesting. I dont get all the hype surrounding this game. Collapse

See all 44 User Reviews