• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2002
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 223

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ozzyo
    Aug 23, 2005
    4
    It's almost imposiible to beat the medow mage leader beacuse it is impossible to beat all of his gate gardians and you need 999999 to get a good card and 5 starchips don't cut it!
  2. RyanB.
    Mar 14, 2003
    0
    This game freaking sucks like HELL!!!! becuase there is no way to get 999999 starchips no way to beat seto in the tournament no way to get any good cards becuase they cost 999999 starchips the graphics suck in this game if i could i give this game a -0
  3. GameCritic
    Oct 18, 2002
    0
    The gameplay in this game is worse than some in Super Nintendo games and the worst game I've ever played by far who drew this a dog.
  4. WilliamN.
    Dec 30, 2002
    0
    Concept is terrible. you have no way to know what will fuse to what by the time you found out youve been playing for about three years. there is no science to know what can be fused to what. The card game obviously there is but not the game. its like someone through you out in the middle of the woods in the dark with no flashlight and pretty much told you enjoy! duh people think of theseConcept is terrible. you have no way to know what will fuse to what by the time you found out youve been playing for about three years. there is no science to know what can be fused to what. The card game obviously there is but not the game. its like someone through you out in the middle of the woods in the dark with no flashlight and pretty much told you enjoy! duh people think of these things when you produce the game or dont realease it unless you own an insane asilum and you need the money. Expand
  5. VaughnV.
    Aug 1, 2002
    0
    This game was a waiste of time and money, i should have gotten MONKEY BALL!!!
  6. CristhianC.
    Mar 13, 2003
    4
    Well i give 4 to this game because i think needs more graphics, more dinamic in the battles and only presents the cards in a realy bad way i mean it looks simple.
  7. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Feb 15, 2004
    0
    Zzzzzz Snore ZZZZZ Wha oh um.Oh yeah the game sucks real hard it completly suc-Zzzzzz uh sorry it's boring Ya see it ha-Zzzzz ugh what is up with Konami man they should just forget about Yu-gi-oh! and stick with Castlevania.Don't buy this game there is nothing good about it.
  8. JoeJ.
    Jan 10, 2003
    4
    It's cool , but it needs a lot of work ....Can we say , "Graphics!!!" So Nitendo... Has better.
  9. JonathanT.
    Jan 3, 2003
    0
    This game is dick. i played it at my friends house and it sux. they're paper thin and dont move and the give you the stupidest cards and every good card cost 999999 star chips.
  10. StillMr.Chimp
    Feb 19, 2003
    2
    This game is lucky i gave it a 2.u start out with horrible cards and it takes sooo long 2 get good ones.and the graphics suck.
  11. Jose'Bulls
    Apr 17, 2003
    4
    i like this game much but this is the stupidest game i really played!i'd thought it'd be like the game for gameboy color.Although,i do like it,they could let some high cards slip in my hand.
  12. PatrickF.
    Jul 29, 2003
    1
    You can only go so far with this game. Getting 2 stars here and there is for the birds when you are trying to get 99999 starchips. After the first week throw the game away.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Sep 3, 2002
    4
    The premise of the Yu-Gi-Oh game is not a bad one. It is right there with some of the other card dueling games that have recently come out. (Magic, Pokemon). The problem with these games is that the best part of these games is lost when converted to a playstation game. The manufacturers do not want to spend the time and money to do the games correctly and use the monsters special The premise of the Yu-Gi-Oh game is not a bad one. It is right there with some of the other card dueling games that have recently come out. (Magic, Pokemon). The problem with these games is that the best part of these games is lost when converted to a playstation game. The manufacturers do not want to spend the time and money to do the games correctly and use the monsters special abilities, magic, and other specials that make the card game fun and exciting. In this particular game for example, since there is no real abilities by the monsters, there is no real strategy to the game, just try to get the most powerfull monster and you win. There are a few magic or trap cards worth the while, but you will soon realize that these will barely phase the harder characters you have to play. Even with these deterrents the game is not that bad, but when you add how difficult and time consuming it is to build your deck into something formidable (even when you cheat), why waste your time. There is definetly a quality missing from the mix in this game. When will the game manufacturers stop taking a good shell of a game and stuffing it with filler. Collapse
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Modern TCG fans will probably either love it for being simple and different, or hate it for being old and unlike the current game.
  2. Daunting difficulty and narrow appeal...There are teeth of mine I'd pull with a pair of pliers rather than play this card game ever again.
  3. I would ultimately recommend this for either someone who has played the card game before or someone who has a lot of time to go through and write down or memorize the card combos and fusion results, since everything is trial and error.