Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: RAMBO The Vidoegame puts players in Rambo’s combat boots and takes them on an action-packed adventure through the iconic action- sequences and story-arcs of FIRST BLOOD, RAMBO: FIRST BLOOD PART II & RAMBO III. The game features the original movie voice-tracks of John Rambo and Col. SamuelRAMBO The Vidoegame puts players in Rambo’s combat boots and takes them on an action-packed adventure through the iconic action- sequences and story-arcs of FIRST BLOOD, RAMBO: FIRST BLOOD PART II & RAMBO III. The game features the original movie voice-tracks of John Rambo and Col. Samuel Trautman as well as selected music from the original Rambo Trilogy. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 10 out of 11
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    50
    A mediocre on rail shooter that could become somewhat enjoyable for huge fans of the character that are willing to play with the PlayStation Move.
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    30
    This game cannot live up to the bar set by its protagonist, but still, if you're really willing to give it a try, it's more "playable" than you might expect.
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    30
    Underpolished, repetitive, and littered with difficulty spikes, it’s a hard-sell to most gamers and even those who adore the Stallone trilogy.
  4. War may be hell, but it’s not as bad as this ugly, unbalanced, short excuse for a rail-shooter. [April 2014, p72]
  5. Apr 30, 2014
    20
    Rambo: The Video Game just disappoints, over and over. There are no new power-ups or twists to keep you interested, no memorable boss fights, and no touches that fans of the film will go "ooh" over. The team at Reef could've done a lot more with this, something along the lines of what Sega did with its arcade Rambo game. Instead, they took the easy way out. Go watch the movies instead. All of the thrill, none of the pain, Johnny.
  6. It only avoids the worst score I can give by virtue of the fact that it (just about) functions. Rambo inspires more anger than biting your tongue just after you’ve stubbed your toe.
  7. Feb 26, 2014
    0
    Rambo The Video Game is a complete mess... Actually, it is so crappy that it could become a cult game!

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Yeah it may be ugly, it may be a rail shooter, it may be the worst game of the year (or worst game ever) but it's still damn fun to play! IYeah it may be ugly, it may be a rail shooter, it may be the worst game of the year (or worst game ever) but it's still damn fun to play! I love it! I love Rambo! This game looks and sounds like a complete joke, but who doesn't wanna be RAMBO! Here's your chance! Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    AWESOME game for the "Playstation Move Sharp Shooter"!! Graphics could have been better. But, 5 Stars because of the RAMBO fun factor. AndAWESOME game for the "Playstation Move Sharp Shooter"!! Graphics could have been better. But, 5 Stars because of the RAMBO fun factor. And yes, I am a huge Rambo/Stallone/ACTION fan. But, if you weren't, would you be here reading this? The game is an arcade style rail shooter. So, most of the bad reviews that are being written, people are playing the game with the analog controller. They are dragging around a cross hair with a control stick. Let me assure you that this was the "secondary" method of play and only if it is the only way you can play it. Then, I say skip it. However, this game was designed with the "Playstation Move Sharp Shooter" in mind. In my mind, this should have been a "PS3 Move Sharp Shooter" exclusive. Forget the xbox and pc. Heck they did eliminate the Xbox version in the US. The blasting action is non stop. It is much more immersive and challenging with this peripheral add on. The QTE's (quick time events) act as a nice violent break from all of the RAMBO AK-47 CARNAGE since you can rest the gun to your side while performing these. I was actually upset that there WASN'T a QTE for the epic knife kill on the gun boat in Part II. It took me 6-8 hours to complete this game on EASY. The 2-4 hour completion time people are clocking themselves at is with the mouse and keyboard. There is ZERO"aiming skill". They are just pointing, clicking and popping heads. Lame. The graphics are my only complaint. But, REEF took a risk with this game on a restricted budget. And, we are comparing it to next gen games already. The graphics are decent enough. As a RAMBO fan, I still love playing through some of the greatest action movie moments of ALL TIME. Riddle the police station with M60 bullets? check. Ride inside the Huey for the epic bazooka battle against the Russian? yep. Shooting helicopters out of the sky with the DShK Heavy Machine Gun accompanied with epic slow motion explosions. OH YEAH. 5.1 surround sound? DO IT. Turn it to 10. Make the neighbors complain like I did. The only mistake with this game is that they should have made this game 5 years ago with the release of the Playstation peripherals. The graphics would have been above average then and Sony would have sold more controllers. Better late than never. This game is getting bad reviews because of the release date. But, this game is much better than "The House of the Dead: Overkill - Extended Cut" which got a 75 on Metacritic just 3 years ago IMO. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    This game is far from perfect but if you like Rambo then it is a must buy. Yes it is a budget game in every way but it plays well. It's overThis game is far from perfect but if you like Rambo then it is a must buy. Yes it is a budget game in every way but it plays well. It's over the top action with the Theme music playing as you shoot. It is on rails but for me this works and the push buttom timed section I like because you have to wait to do a stealth kill or take down. It has lots of replay value due to when you unlock more perks you can get higher scores and do more carnage. I am at level 13 and when i last played the first level again it was so much fun by the end i was grinning and my heart was pounding. Now the bad things you need to go into the options from the start and alter the speed of aiming it does tend to fly around the screen otherwise. Some cut scenes do stutter at odd times. The graphics are not great they are just about good but they do the job. The music could be louder but i just turned up the sound and the fun this game is when you are shooting a screen full of bad guys with the Rambo theme in full swing is amazing and brings a smile to your face. On the whole if you like rambo this is a good buy if you love the rambo films and stallone then this is a must buy game. I will be playing this for a long time. I hope they do the fourth film as dlc. Collapse
  4. Sep 12, 2014
    0
    The fact that this is a rail shooter blows my mind, humanity ditched it for a REASON: because of progress. If this was a IOS game, it would beThe fact that this is a rail shooter blows my mind, humanity ditched it for a REASON: because of progress. If this was a IOS game, it would be acceptable if it was 1 dollar, but I might think twice. Between fake trailer's and HORRIBLE voice acting, there is almost nothing to admire about this abamination Expand
  5. May 10, 2014
    0
    I just rented this game for fun... I knew it was horrible before I rented it but I'm a crazy guy that likes to have fun with crappy games onceI just rented this game for fun... I knew it was horrible before I rented it but I'm a crazy guy that likes to have fun with crappy games once in awhile a lot of games are crappy but still can have fun moments...this can not be said about this title.. I have nothing against on rail shooters but this game cant even do that right..All this game is, is cashing in on the "RAMBO" name, you can clearly see no effort went into this game.. The game is also annoying where you have Rambo screaming almost every time he shots his gun, I must admit I did laugh at first, but wow it got annoying fast... This game doesn't do anyone any favours and it actually is a chore to play.. I only recommend this game to people who like to review **** games on Youtube... I don't usually rate any game a 0 because some games might be crappy but I like to give credit where it's due and try and look for the good in games.. I could not find any good from this game... Quick and easy cash in... Expand