• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 6, 2006
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 35
  2. Negative: 16 out of 35
  1. 40
    Ubisoft's work here leaves Astonishia as little more than another could-have-been, doomed to mere mediocrity. PSP fans have been waiting a year for a great RPG...sorry, guys, this ain't it.
  2. So there you have it, Astonishia Story, a feeble attempt by Ubisoft to bring a hackneyed tactical RPG to American shores.
  3. 50
    From the moment you turn on the system, you won't be able to ignore the fact that this game sucks you into a sub-SNES warp: and not in a good way.
  4. If you're looking for a PSone/early PS2-quality turn-based RPG on PSP... keep on looking.
  5. Astonishia ultimately proves to be little more than a charming catalogue of decade-old foibles and cliché. [Aug 2006, p.93]
  6. It's painfully obvious that Astonishia does nothing to ebb the flow of downright disappointing roleplayers on the portable Playstation. [Aug 2006, p.92]
  7. It’s fun to play through, and easy to pick up and put down again pretty quickly, both a must for a handheld port and a rarity in the SRPG subgenre.
  8. What really nails it to the ground and steps on its throat for Eurogamers is the localisation: now the characters are impossible to relate to or to understand, the plot is unrecognisable (mercifully, as there is no deviation of play paths you don't actually have to know what's going on to know where to go next) and the sparkles of flair that clearly were in the original, now dulled and obscured by wrongly assigned words.
  9. 40
    Astonishia Story offers no compelling gameplay, nothing like a gripping narrative, nothing much to listen to (the MIDI-riffic music hasn't aged well over 12 years), and a great deal of waiting.
  10. I wouldn't pawn off this boring dreck to even the most annoying neighbor kid. [Aug 2006, p.90]
  11. If this were 1995, we might find more to like. But it’s 2006, and we don’t pay $40 for SNES remakes anymore, especially unimaginative ones that aren’t programmed well or translated properly like Astonishia Story.
  12. There's nothing juicy about a boring hero on a boring quest walking around aimlessly searching for the next area to continue a story that I had a hard time caring about.
  13. The only thing astonishing about this game is how bland and generic it manages to be.
  14. Sweet sprites and backdrops really aren't enough to hide a pretty bog standard RPG. [Aug 2006, p.72]
  15. The rudimentary design of Astonishia Story isn't surprising, given that it's a no-frills remake of a 1994 PC game. However, that doesn't excuse the very apparent lack of story, character, and depth in Astonishia Story.
  16. 50
    It's competent, and weird, and will be infamous in a couple years. That's gotta count for something, right? Even Young Lady With Full of Troubles could appreciate that.
  17. The simplified controls, which work with a very minimal interface, won't stymie anyone without RPG experience. But the absence of story and strategy will. This is a game best played on autopilot, if you have to play it at all.
  18. If you’re looking for a generic role-playing game that isn’t half-bad despite its dated gameplay then Astonishia Story might just be the PSP game you’ll want to buy.
  19. Lackluster story, flat characters, and a mere fifteen or so hours of gameplay really make this hard to recommend even to the most hardcore RPG players.
  20. 55
    Astonishia Story abandons depth and interesting characters for the barest bones of plot and combat, which will easily leave RPG fans wanting more.
  21. Astonishia Story is far from a dreadful game, it’s just one that’s oddly devoid of even the remotest hint of charisma.
  22. A basic RPG witih no redeeming qualities, this is a relic frm the past that's inexplicably managed to find its way onto PSP. [Aug 2006, p.89]
  23. A sloppy, wince-inducing piece. [Aug 2006, p.81]
  24. 68
    The battles are over-long and while the game is pretty short, you'd be hard-pushed to see it through to the end. [Issue 142, p.88]
  25. A basic and stale RPG that sows few seeds of flair and inventiveness over its vast and tiresome expanse.
  26. The English translation is awful, the skill system is poorly designed, and the load times are nearly unbearable. [Sep 2006, p.87]
  27. Predictable, weary, soulless, money-for-old-rope fodder. [Sept 2006, p.85]
  28. It looks charming in an early-90s 2D sort of way and is well put together, but the benchmark this generic title has set will easily be smashed by the likes of "Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII."
  29. The graphics are poor, the game play is old fashioned, the music is just plain annoying, but it has character. This attribute alone elevates it above the rest of the samey RPGs out there, but it still manages to be just that – samey.
  30. If only to reinforce that this is not the way to treat a 2D game, don't buy this game. If that means Sony kills off 2D entirely here in the States, it will be a horrible thing, but if this is the kind of game that's going to get through... we'd be better off just remembering the good ol' days with the rose colored glasses of nostalgia.
  31. Though RPG fans will happily devour another game from their favourite genre, especially on a platform starved of top class role playing titles, all outside the hardcore will tire of its charm long before the closing credits begin to role.
  32. Broken down to choosing an RPG for PSP, Astonishia Story is the best available next to the import-only "Tales of Eternia," which you should get instead if you have access to it.
  33. The game's controls and user-interface are clean and intuitive: the analog stick and four face buttons are all that's needed to play, and the unobtrusive onscreen icons give you necessary information when you need it.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. EricK.
    Aug 2, 2006
    0
    I am deeply troubled by the fact that I paid 40 bucks for this game. The only thing good I can say about it is that purchasing Astonishia, I am deeply troubled by the fact that I paid 40 bucks for this game. The only thing good I can say about it is that purchasing Astonishia, and being completely disgusted with its quality, has caused me to research my future PSP game purchases a bit more. Full Review »
  2. ZacheryG.
    Jul 8, 2006
    0
    I wish i could go in to the negative on this one. Horrible game. No quest book. Character not at all customizable. Most of the time you look I wish i could go in to the negative on this one. Horrible game. No quest book. Character not at all customizable. Most of the time you look like a chicken with your head cut off because you have no idea what you are supposed to be doing. I would pay them to take this game back. Full Review »
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Well,For the game of "Astonishia Story" for the Playstaion Portable,It truly proves that with hard work,graphic don't matter.As long as theWell,For the game of "Astonishia Story" for the Playstaion Portable,It truly proves that with hard work,graphic don't matter.As long as the storyline is good. Full Review »