Brave Story: New Traveler PSP

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShockwavePayne
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    This game ROCKED screw what critics said. If your into RPG's this is definetly the game for you. Great Story, graphics, this game has it al. This game reminds me of old school RPG's i can go on forever how good this game is but I rather not. FOR ALL YOU ROLE PLAYING GAMERS OUT THERE BUY THIS GAME YOU WI HAVE HOURS OFThis game ROCKED screw what critics said. If your into RPG's this is definetly the game for you. Great Story, graphics, this game has it al. This game reminds me of old school RPG's i can go on forever how good this game is but I rather not. FOR ALL YOU ROLE PLAYING GAMERS OUT THERE BUY THIS GAME YOU WI HAVE HOURS OF FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    A solid traditional RPG with turn-based combat, outstanding graphics, almost no loading times, a lengthy story, rich characters and high playability. Neither a remake nor a port, Brave Story offers fresh content that has not been seen on other systems before. Definitely one of the most enjoyable RPGs for the PSP.
  3. PeterY.
    Aug 9, 2007
    7
    First of all, lets start off with the good. This game is a truly beautiful game. The graphics are some of the best on the system so far, right up there with Tekken and Monster Hunter, and to think this game has been out in Japan for over a year. The turn based battles are fast paced and there are some gorgeous battle animations as well. Also, the lack of good new RPGs on the PSP makes First of all, lets start off with the good. This game is a truly beautiful game. The graphics are some of the best on the system so far, right up there with Tekken and Monster Hunter, and to think this game has been out in Japan for over a year. The turn based battles are fast paced and there are some gorgeous battle animations as well. Also, the lack of good new RPGs on the PSP makes this game that much more appealing. And, the game loads lighting fast! Now the bad stuff. The music is forgettable as are the characters. Also, the battle system is your typical, bland, turn based RPG, but with flashy graphics. The story is recycled from various anime/rpg plots. And what with the silent protagonist? It's 2007 dammit, give these guys some lines, then maybe I would feel more for him and the storyline. This game does have an interesting crafting system where you can make your own accessories and a bird catching minigame, which is like cutsy cockfighting, but these simply don't do it for me. The sometimes erratic random battles also become annoying at times. This game is also ridiculously easy, you regenerate your BP (Brave Points=Magic Points) when you attack someone, so you almost never have to worry about running out. There are also restore points at every save point. If you're an RPG novice, this is a pretty good choice to get your feet wet. Veterans may want to wait for a deeper game like Jeanne D'Arc or Final Fantasy Tactics. Expand
  4. MattS.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Yes, it's a very traditional JRPG full of random battles and a silent protagonist, but there is just something special about this game. Maybe it's the writing, or the cast of characters, or the world, but I just couldn't put this game down until I finished the main plotline. The difficulty level, while somewhat easy, is perfect for those who don't have 80 hours to Yes, it's a very traditional JRPG full of random battles and a silent protagonist, but there is just something special about this game. Maybe it's the writing, or the cast of characters, or the world, but I just couldn't put this game down until I finished the main plotline. The difficulty level, while somewhat easy, is perfect for those who don't have 80 hours to spend on an RPG. One knock against the game -- While you do eventually enlist 6 characters into your party, I found absolutely no need to use any but the original 3 to win the game. The other reviewer is correct that BP regenerates in battle and is fairly easy to maintain, but seeing as there are no easily available BP boosting items you can buy, it seems like a fair trade off. Once you do win the game, you unlock all of the characters from the original Brave Story manga and are free to go back to the dozens of side missions you may have missed the first time through. While Jeanne D'Arc may be more advanced, it is a strategy game, NOT an RPG. For the time being, Brave Story is the best RPG experience on the PSP, hands down. Expand
  5. EldonTLH
    Aug 27, 2007
    6
    After about 13 hours into the game, I'd say it has all the features needed for an enjoyable Japanese RPG but features alone don't an enjoyable adventure make. Certainly above average (of 5, if you're wondering about the rating) and somewhat entertaining but the official review average really is spot on with this one - seems like fun to play through but as for remembering it After about 13 hours into the game, I'd say it has all the features needed for an enjoyable Japanese RPG but features alone don't an enjoyable adventure make. Certainly above average (of 5, if you're wondering about the rating) and somewhat entertaining but the official review average really is spot on with this one - seems like fun to play through but as for remembering it after a year, most unlikely. Yuno's still the cutest, most whimsical, and most harebrained catgirl ever to appear on an RPG but even from the perspective of a hopeless otaku, that's not enough to save the whole deal. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Great! it's a classic RPG good for the ones that likes the olde RPGs.. it's a simple story but well related characters unique, the only problem i see is that the game does not provide a true challenger it's a very easy the normal battles provides to be very hard, but the boss very easy but the game is exceptional
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    4
    When I looked upon this game for the first time, I tought: meh, maybe it's better than Dragoneers Aria. I was not so far from the truth, because it's slightly better. The story is one thing, full of clishes, retarded MC, non-interesting characters and the crown on this mild goatsh*t: the battle system. For a turn-based RPG fight system, it is essential to give wide strategic possibilitiesWhen I looked upon this game for the first time, I tought: meh, maybe it's better than Dragoneers Aria. I was not so far from the truth, because it's slightly better. The story is one thing, full of clishes, retarded MC, non-interesting characters and the crown on this mild goatsh*t: the battle system. For a turn-based RPG fight system, it is essential to give wide strategic possibilities to the gamer, BS ain't got any. Maybe it's me, but this game is simple and blunt like a rock, with the same level of entertaining, zero character customization and almost 0 interactivity with this fantasy world. This game is empty, there is no better term to it, the only good thing is that I only borrowed it from my friend so I never payed a dime for this waste of bytes. Expand
  8. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    After a few hours of gameplay, I need to say that this game is not bad at all after all. Although everything is simple here, I must say it was fun. The battle system has its advantage, it's doesn't require hard thinking instead of final fantasy, but it's quite interesting. The storyline... Well, I guess it's for child, everything is too good to be true, but somehow it got interest u in it,After a few hours of gameplay, I need to say that this game is not bad at all after all. Although everything is simple here, I must say it was fun. The battle system has its advantage, it's doesn't require hard thinking instead of final fantasy, but it's quite interesting. The storyline... Well, I guess it's for child, everything is too good to be true, but somehow it got interest u in it, and so on. A classic jrpg, in one word Expand

Awards & Rankings

#25 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#13 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Play Magazine
    80
    Saying this game is visually stunning is an understatement. [Aug 2007, p.72]
  2. 73
    It's a solid RPG that's sure to appeal to fans who want a fun yet simple romp through the genre they love. However, Brave Story lacks the ingenuity to make it something I'd play for hours on end.
  3. 80
    It's a great game to be sure. Extremely playable and thankfully portable, it can have you going for hours on end. But seriously, I wouldn't mind if they tried to break out of the JRPG mold a little more.