Chili Con Carnage PSP


Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. It's not often that I get excited about handheld games, particularly handheld action games, but Chili Con Carnage has completely blown me away and changed my view on what Sony's handheld is capable of...As an action packed shooter it's far and away the best the PSP has to offer.
  2. A game that leaves you wanting more is definitely the sign of a good game, and it's also the sign of a perfect rental.
  3. Developers, take note: this is how a handheld shooter is done. Visually pleasing, aurally satisfying and one of the most surprising conversions/upgrades the PSP has seen yet, CCC feels totally at home on the PSP.
  4. 85
    There are faults too of course, it doesn't really offer much new after the first few levels other than changes of scenery and some bigger weapons and the slow motion action can get a bit old hat after a while, but they never detract much from the game as a whole and ultimately if you play it the way that it's clearly meant to be played, as opposed to just blasting through the levels as fast as possible, then you'll be rewarded with one of the best action games on the PSP.
  5. Every time this game was in my hands, I didn’t want it to end. It will make you laugh, feel great about yourself, want to visit Mexico, and mostly wall-run so you can yell “Spicy move!” because you just ran off a wall.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    It's like a "Max Payne" knockoff designed by Robert Rodriguez in the middle of an all-night peyote-bender...It's a stupid, loud, relentless mix of guns and chuckles. [Mar 2007, p.118]
  7. Throwaway, stupid, huge amounts of fun and you won't be able to resist its colourful charms. Just don't expect the novelty to last for more than a few hours.
  8. A strong control system combined with high quality presentation and humour, results in one of the most entertaining titles of its kind on the handheld format.
  9. Pure Magazine UK
    Frantic action and a great sense of humour make this an enjoyable romp. [Mar 2007, p.78]
  10. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    A treat of a game that lives and dies by its simple gameplay. You'll love the intense bullet action but it is repetitive. Worth a look. [Mar 2007, p.108]
  11. You won’t find anything revolutionary about Chili Con Carnage, but that’s the point. Non-stop action peppered with a wacky sense of humor makes this a great handheld game. It’s easy to get over the camera issues, as long as you focus on the fun.
  12. Outrageously fun and packed with a number of memorable action moments, Chili Con Carnage for the PSP doesn’t fail to provide the over-the-top moments that make this game such a treat but is still far from perfect.
  13. Games Master UK
    Bursting with action and complete stupidity. Not as good as "Total Overdose" though. [Mar 2007, p.83]
  14. 77
    There's lots of stuff to go back and do to keep you occupied, so it'll stay in your PSP a while as well, just so long as you don't get bored of shooting dudes in the face.
  15. For fans of "Total Overdose" who own a PSP this is a must buy.
  16. A keeper. There's plenty of action to keep a gamer interested, with a handful of extras beyond the main missions. Overlooking slight control issues, this game is perfect for a quick action fix, done with style.
  17. Play Magazine
    Goofiness serves as the game's great lubricant, helping to keep the ride relatively sputter-free. [Mar 2007, p.65]
  18. What needs to be taken into consideration with Chili Con Carnage is that despite its lack of substance, and tendency to milk the ridiculous for all it's worth, it's the kind of game that can be turned on for a quick burst of action and then thrown aside until the next time it takes your fancy, something which a lot of PSP games have failed to do, and something that encompasses the whole concept of handheld gaming.
  19. Chili Con Carnage occasionally feels like a mess of a game, largely due to the controls, but it's a darned fun mess of a game, and anyone into arcade-style blastathons will find a lot to like.
  20. Chili Con Carnage is light on depth and fairly brief, but it's a raucous good time all the same.
  21. In this day of me-too action games, you could definitely find something worse than Chili Con Carnage.
  22. If you’re not offended by constant references to burritos, fajitas and, erm, chickens, then Chile Con Carnage does demonstrate how a third-person shooter can be fun on the PSP in spite of its controller deficiencies.
  23. The ridiculous stereotypes, somewhat offensive writing, and ho-hum gameplay all manage to come together to be something worth playing.
  24. CCC is a fun shooter romp for your PSP. If you can look past its faults, there is a lot of fun to be had here.
  25. The third-person camera sometimes causes frustration, but otherwise this by-the-book action shooter serves up a spicy helping of mindless bloodshed.
  26. Maybe if the developers had taken a risk and gone for more polish in the combo system and great level design instead of loads of game modes this could have been something really interesting.
  27. Like biting into a jalapeno, this is fresh, frantic and explosive fun while it lasts.
  28. Chili Con Carnage is a game that doesn't take itself seriously, which is definitely a good thing. The problem is that the slipshod controls make you not want to take the entire package seriously. When 90% of your game is about shooting, the shooting and aiming mechanics had better be dead on target.
  29. PSM Magazine
    Of course, mindless shooting can get repetitive, but the game's pick-up-and-play nature is great for playing on the go. [Apr 2007, p.86]
  30. 70
    The storyline is laughable and not always in a good way. On the other hand, you get a pair of entertaining multiplayer modes to entertain those friends with a single PSP in addition to those with a network connection and a system of their own.

Awards & Rankings

#36 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 26, 2013
    One of my absolute favorite games I played on PSP, it's funny and the action is cool, it's not meant to be play through in one seating,One of my absolute favorite games I played on PSP, it's funny and the action is cool, it's not meant to be play through in one seating, otherwise i would think it's short and the special effects might get old soon, it was a great gaming for picking up on my commute to work. Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    What more can I say, this game had brilliant graphics for a PSP game and the humour was actually funny. The moves you pull off with your gunsWhat more can I say, this game had brilliant graphics for a PSP game and the humour was actually funny. The moves you pull off with your guns and combos you find gives this game a unigue fell, but I have to say I did prefer the PS2/Xbox version as its more open world and the graphics are a tiny bit better. But overall My third favourite PSP game in its series, Driver being 2nd and GTA being 1st. Full Review »
  3. BruceC.
    Dec 30, 2007
    I find most shooters on the PSP to have very awkward and cumbersome controls. CCC is a bit different; the controls are fairly simple. You use I find most shooters on the PSP to have very awkward and cumbersome controls. CCC is a bit different; the controls are fairly simple. You use the analog to move and turn your avatar, use the D-pad to switch weapons, and use the square button to shoot. The left shoulder is used to "lock on" to objects and the right shoulder is used for enemies. The graphics are fairly good and the theme is cartoonish violence, so it works fairly well. Most of the enemies are fairly easy to kill and it's not a particularly challenging game. Overall I like it and rate it about an 8 out of 10. Full Review »