Corpse Party: Book of Shadows PSP

Corpse Party: Book of Shadows Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Corpse Party: Book of Shadows is a gory, disturbing and uncomfortably exhilarating tale of mystery, fear and survival.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. 90
    A literary masterpiece that pushes the boundaries of video games being legitimate art with its suspenseful, thrilling, and unique narrative that takes the horror genre to a new level. It is a classic for those Halloween fright nights but just make sure to double check the doors are locked when you turn the lights out.
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    80
    Scary and modern in all the right ways, Book of Shadows preserves the feel of its predecessor while improving on its aged gameplay and graphics.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    75
    Book of Shadows is a very interesting game. I do enjoy good visual novels, and for the most part, this game tells a rather compelling tale. Granted, it won't be for everyone, but if you don't mind a good amount of gore and some really creepy set pieces, then this game will not disappoint.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    Despite its sometimes tedious gameplay, Corpse Party: Book of Shadows is a rare horror game that manages to deliver on its intention to frighten its players.
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    62
    In the end after investing a lot of time I liked Corpse Party: Book of Shadows, but I think most would agree it is merely an average to just above average game that belongs in the “cult favourite” category.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    As a standalone game for newcomers to the franchise, the story will leave you baffled compared to someone who would have experienced Corpse Party, and in that regard, looking at its way of storytelling comes off as a disjointed tale of horror that can give you a gloomy (in the right way) and uneasy time. However, I see it this way – go play the first Corpse Party and see how you feel about it. If you want more, then jump into Book of Shadows and enjoy it for what it is.
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    40
    Corpse Party: Book of Shadows is definitely not for everyone. People who enjoy a heavy dose of Japanese in their horror stories and who don’t mind that they are playing a video game that doesn’t have much game in it will be able to enjoy Corpse Party: Book of Shadows. As for me I found the storyline to be entirely too juvenile and non-sensible.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Was there any mistake when it came to marketing? This is not Corpse Party 2. This entry is for the Hardcore Corpse Party fans playing throughWas there any mistake when it came to marketing? This is not Corpse Party 2. This entry is for the Hardcore Corpse Party fans playing through the first game over and over again. It's a Visual Novel with point and click parts, many hard decisions to make and various endings. So, if you're not familiar with the story of Corpse Party, even some parts are a retelling of the original story, you will be hopefully lost in Book of Shadows like it's protagonists.

    The writing is well written (what's wrong IGN?) and the voice acting is awesome. Of course, Book of Shadows features, like the first game, only japanese voice acting.

    There isn't much to say. If you're fascinated by Corpse Party, dive deeper into the world of hell. A great soundtrack combined with really strange images will make you shiver more than one time. Experience the 7 short stories taking place in an alternate Universe or conclude arcs from the first game.

    So, grab you PSP or Vita (you can even import your save game from the first game and receive a few goodies) and enjoy one of 2013 probably most underrated games. But remember: This is a Visual Novel. So don't blame the game if you was not informed good enough. Oh, and again, you have to play the first part to understand Book of Shadows.
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2015
    9
    Unlike the original Corpse Party, BoS plays more like a visual novel, with some occasional point-and-click first-person exploration. OfUnlike the original Corpse Party, BoS plays more like a visual novel, with some occasional point-and-click first-person exploration. Of course, this means there is much more reading than in the first game, and frankly, some parts do tend to drag on for a while, but overall, the writing is still superb and the scary, gross moments are still present. Overall, I recommend it only if you were a big fan of the first game, as it is not a direct sequel, and more of alternate scenarios playing out before, during and after the events of the first game. So, unless you are very familiar with the original game, you will be very confused. The only reason I am giving it a 9 and not a 10, is because the visual novel aspect was a bit less interesting than the exploration aspect in the first game. Still, great game. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2015
    9
    If you liked the first game and you are okay with reading Visual Novels or books, this game is just as good as the first one, with a godlikeIf you liked the first game and you are okay with reading Visual Novels or books, this game is just as good as the first one, with a godlike ending as well in my opinion. Unfortunately, in my personal opinion, the sequel to the game does not do the first two games justice. I still would wholeheartedly recommend the game to anyone looking to add more to their CP knowledge and just can't get enough of the CP series! Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2013
    6
    I loved corpse party: Blood covered , but book of shadows is.......weak.
    Seal ,and Demise are decent chapters.
    Encounter and Purgatory are a
    I loved corpse party: Blood covered , but book of shadows is.......weak.
    Seal ,and Demise are decent chapters.
    Encounter and Purgatory are a totally waste of time.
    Shangri-La, Mire and Tooth , are just ok.
    Blood Drive is the only chapter i could recommend if you really wanna see what happens after the first game.
    The game is scary but blood covered was better in every aspect.
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    6
    After Virtue´s Last Reward this is a huge step down, but enjoyable nonetheless. The gameplay is stupid though, Play it with a walkthrough andAfter Virtue´s Last Reward this is a huge step down, but enjoyable nonetheless. The gameplay is stupid though, Play it with a walkthrough and you will be fine. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not all that bad, but as a follow up to the first corpse party game it's disappointing. This time around it's a point and click game where you move from room to room with the most generic map system I've ever seen. The ratio between gameplay and pressing X through dialogue is about 20 to 80 percent, sometimes I almost forgot there was any interactivity. The sections you do play are very easy and don't require much thought at all. To add insult to injury, everywhere you go looks the exact same as everywhere else with only a few exceptions, so exploration feels pretty gimmicky. They literally use the same drawing for most of the hallways and even most of the rooms, they're just mirrored like we wouldn't know the difference. The story is equally shallow, at least for most of the scenarios. The first 7 chapters of the game don't even take place in the official canon of the story, and even though the voice acting and writing stay very true to the first game, the stories aren't nearly as motivating. 6 out of 7 of them end horribly no matter what choices you make, which betrays what was so good about the story of the first. The sense of urgency when you or a friend are in danger dies pretty quickly once you realize that the characters are only there as bait for torture porn. And the explanation for it is a joke, basically just 'they die because they're destined to die.' The only chapter that adds anything to the original story is the final one but it's hardly worth going through all the trouble just to unlock it. I will say that it does do a good job of tieing back to the original story and explains a few things, but it's short lived and sequel baits on a cliff hanger. Can't in my right mind recommend it. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    1
    How do you take a game that was already pretty slow, had awful writing and barely any gameplay? Corpse Party: Book of Shadows shows you how;How do you take a game that was already pretty slow, had awful writing and barely any gameplay? Corpse Party: Book of Shadows shows you how; remove almost all elements of gameplay from the previous game, increase the length of the reading ten fold and design a terrible navigation system that is almost as slow as reading the game to begin with.

    How bad is the writing? How much more reading is there compared to the last game? The developers added in a fast forward function simply so you could avoid the actual story and simply get to the decision making parts of the game. That is how bad it is, it's so terrible the developers realized it and added a way to circumvent the only thing that makes a visual novel a visual novel, the reading.

    I was slightly interested in the whole concept of alternative realities and the concept of saving people's lives from the first game that died, but there's less of alternative realities and more of just the same people dying as before.

    I don't know how they managed to make it so much worse then the first one, but they managed to do it. I am glad I didn't actually pay for this game, I would have burnt it in the fireplace in a fit of rage. They could have had something really nice on their hands and they fumbled it up even worse then imaginable.
    Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2013
#1 Most Shared PSP Game of 2013