Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Corpse Party is an adventure game that uses hand-drawn 2D sprite and tile art to tell the story of a group of Kisaragi Academy High School students who are trapped in a haunted elementary school filled with the decaying corpses and tormented souls of countless children who’d mysteriouslyCorpse Party is an adventure game that uses hand-drawn 2D sprite and tile art to tell the story of a group of Kisaragi Academy High School students who are trapped in a haunted elementary school filled with the decaying corpses and tormented souls of countless children who’d mysteriously vanished from the Japanese countryside years, months or sometimes only days prior. Desperately trying to escape and survive, players will experience unnatural, unnerving and decidedly uncensored horrors through the eyes – and ears -- of these frightened teenaged victims. Detailed 2D sprite animations and art stills show the bloody and unsettling fates that await those who enter, and full Japanese-language voice-acting combines with 3D audio support to create a simulated surround sound experience when playing with headphones, offering players a delightfully uncomfortable level of immersion. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    100
    If you own a PSP at all and love a good horror story then I absolutely recommend getting Corpse Party from the PlayStation Network.
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    83
    Corpse Party proves that a minimalistic approach can get some of the best results when it comes to horror. If a little blood gets you weak in the knees, this game is not for you.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    While not fantastic in terms of gameplay, Corpse Party shines as a journey in surviving a world of disturbing horror.
  4. Dec 19, 2011
    73
    Corpse Party has a lot in common with fully interactive point-and-click games. The tone, storytelling and characters make what could have been a plodding experience, truly memorable. It's wonderful that XSeed has brought this over and, hopefully, will do well enough to encourage more of these unique titles to make a North American appearance.
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    Lamentations over wasted time come easily when you consider the unexpected deaths, but the powerful last words of the narrative reminded me of Corpse Party's chilling highlights. Instances of fear and melancholy occur with startling frequency.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    67
    Corpse Party is good at setting an unnerving scene, which is even more impressive considering how silly it looks.
  7. As a game, it's abo - game ever, please try again. [Jan 2012, p.86]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, don't be fooled by the anime appearance.
    This is a true horror game through and through.
    As long as you like survival horror,
    Amazing game, don't be fooled by the anime appearance.
    This is a true horror game through and through.
    As long as you like survival horror, give this game a try.
    A must have title for psp owners.
    Collapse
  2. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    It's already been said here but I'll say it again. One of the best Horror games I have ever played. The story, the dialogue, the characters,It's already been said here but I'll say it again. One of the best Horror games I have ever played. The story, the dialogue, the characters, the many endings, all great. It's genuinely disturbing and even though I beat it almost a week ago I'm still thinking about it. Don't let the top down 16-bit RPG look fool you, this game is scarier then any Resident Evil or Silent Hill. Best 20 bucks you'll ever spend on a game. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Pues a mi si me saco sustos o.o . Estilo de RPG antiguo pero con tantos factores en su desarrollo, el miedo que van generando en losPues a mi si me saco sustos o.o . Estilo de RPG antiguo pero con tantos factores en su desarrollo, el miedo que van generando en los personajes, las decisiones rapidas que hay que tomar, hasta la decision mas casual puede llevarte a un final malo. Pero si sabes moverte con suerte llegaras al final del capitulo......entre comillas final "bueno" Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Astonishingly creepy and shamelessly violent, with equal and fair indifference to all of its characters, Corpse Party is one of the most, ifAstonishingly creepy and shamelessly violent, with equal and fair indifference to all of its characters, Corpse Party is one of the most, if not the single most, most brutal video attacks on your tolerance for real horror. Outstanding writing, gorgeously violent art, and an exceedingly precise soundscape, with a completely unforgiving, yet appropriate difficulty (you, and everyone else around you, *will* be killed, repeatedly, as it should be--who would want a forgiving horror game in which everything is easily escaped?) makes this any horror fan's wettest dream. Spits on pseudo-horror nonsense like Resident Evil, and even Fatal Frame. The Golden Standard for how to terrify the player. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best horror games I'd played for such a long time. Even though Corpse Party is not totally similar to survival horror gamesThis is one of the best horror games I'd played for such a long time. Even though Corpse Party is not totally similar to survival horror games like old Resident Evil and Silent Hills, it involves light puzzle solving, exploration & best of all, a great atmosphere.

    Corpse Party is a must play game for fans of true survival horror games along with visual novel lovers.
    Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Opening Statement:
    As a writer in training, I love stories. I love trying to figure out, what well happen next. Corpse Party, is one of those
    Opening Statement:
    As a writer in training, I love stories. I love trying to figure out, what well happen next. Corpse Party, is one of those games, that kept me guessing the whole way through. It's a game that focuses more on the story, then the gameplay, and it's very anime like. Those of you who hate anime, don't this turn you off of the game. True, that it is very anime like, but it's a true survival horror game.

    Plot Summary:
    It's about these high school kids and their teacher, who are having a farewell party for one of their friends who is moving away. One of the kids, suggests to preform the Sachiko Ever After charm, so that they can be close to each other, even when they are far apart. Something goes wrong, and they get sent to a place called Heavenly Host Elementary School, where a series of murders toke place. People who are sent to the school die, and become part of it, then kill the other people who are trapped their.

    Gameplay:
    It take about 30-40 minutes to start the gameplay. Like I said before, it mainly focuses on the story. What you do in this game, is go around the school, pressing the X button, to interact with objects, to get through the school. However, if you mess up somewhere, then you get something called a Wrong End, which is this game's way of saying "Game Over". However, if you are going for 100%, then you have to get all of the wrong endings.

    There are moments, where the computer AI will chase you, however they are really dumb. It is really hard to get caught by the computer AI. I don't think that this is a bug or something. I think that the creators did this, so that you wouldn't have to worry about getting caught by the AI, as much as other games.

    Music and Voice Overs:
    The music fits the game perfectly. It's both creepy, and memorable. Sometimes, it can even freak you out. They say that music makes a movie, or a video game, and this proves it!

    As for the voice overs, the voice actors do a good job here. I don't think, that they needed to add any English VAs, cause the Japanese VAs do a really good job (I prefer Japanese voice overs anyway).

    Final Thoughts:
    The game may turn some people off, because it's mainly focused on the story, and not the gameplay, and it takes a least half an hour to get to the gameplay in the first place. It's not a problem with me, as long as the story is good enough. I should warn you right now, if you don't like reading, horror games, or only care about the gameplay, then Corpse Party isn't for you. If you do decide to pick the game up, be forewarned, you may get freaked out a couple of times.

    Now, again with my Project X Zone review, I would give this game an 8.4 out of 10, but I can't with this website, so I'm kinda forced to give it an 8. I'm sorry.
    Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2014
    4
    Corpse Party - I saw a reference to this game on STEAM and decided to give it a go. After looking online I managed to find the website for theCorpse Party - I saw a reference to this game on STEAM and decided to give it a go. After looking online I managed to find the website for the game and was able to investigate a little bit more into the game. More importantly the original Corpse Party was actually designed in RPG Maker in the 90's and it's glaring problems are a direct result of that, namely poor writing, bad design and complete lack of game-play.

    I want to be perfectly clear, the website that advertises Corpse Party is incredibly misleading. In it, the game gives you the feeling that it is more of a gruesome, survival horror, adventure, RPG game. Further is misleads people by advertising features such as constantly changing paths, maps or branches of the school.

    The entire game is incredibly static. Do not expect the maps to shift or change on you at any given time. The only time the maps are even remotely altered is when a plot device requires it and even then, the most the maps do is simply redirect your routes, nothing more.

    Beyond that, don't let the idea of having an inventory, save system or even "HP" fool you, this game is the furthest thing from a RPG you'll ever get. It is more of an interactive novel, much like a 'Choose Your Own Adventure' book.

    The problem is, the game is far too much like those books, in the fact you can expect and most likely will experience completely unfair and unannounced deaths that are in no way the fault of player in any sense. Stupid, thoughtless death traps that give no indicators at all are scattered throughout the game, forcing you to start over.

    Speaking of starting over, the save system is fairly limited, few and far between. Expect to be back tracking a lot to save once you understand how annoying and long winded this game is. It wouldn't be so bad if you could just pick up from where you last left off, but when a death sequence takes several minutes to get through and you repeat it several times, it gets frustrating beyond belief.

    There are no in game animations, almost everything is completely static besides character animations and even then, they are stiff and lifeless. The game suffers from an incredible lack of details, which can be especially bad when considering you are dealing with a survival horror adventure game. The game advertises itself as being incredibly gory and gruesome, but that is simply not true.

    Even when considering this as a visual novel, it barely even passes. A lot of the time, writing is dry, long winded and annoying. More often then not, you'll find yourself simply mashing on the 'X' button of your PSP simply so you can get through their bull crap.

    What really sucks is, I've been given the impression that the original 90's version of Corpse Party actually has more game-play and RPG elements then the PSP version. How the hell did that happen?
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers