Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Corpse Party is an adventure game that uses hand-drawn 2D sprite and tile art to tell the story of a group of Kisaragi Academy High School students who are trapped in a haunted elementary school filled with the decaying corpses and tormented souls of countless children who’d mysteriously vanished from the Japanese countryside years, months or sometimes only days prior. Desperately trying to escape and survive, players will experience unnatural, unnerving and decidedly uncensored horrors through the eyes – and ears -- of these frightened teenaged victims. Detailed 2D sprite animations and art stills show the bloody and unsettling fates that await those who enter, and full Japanese-language voice-acting combines with 3D audio support to create a simulated surround sound experience when playing with headphones, offering players a delightfully uncomfortable level of immersion. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    100
    If you own a PSP at all and love a good horror story then I absolutely recommend getting Corpse Party from the PlayStation Network.
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    83
    Corpse Party proves that a minimalistic approach can get some of the best results when it comes to horror. If a little blood gets you weak in the knees, this game is not for you.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    While not fantastic in terms of gameplay, Corpse Party shines as a journey in surviving a world of disturbing horror.
  4. Dec 19, 2011
    73
    Corpse Party has a lot in common with fully interactive point-and-click games. The tone, storytelling and characters make what could have been a plodding experience, truly memorable. It's wonderful that XSeed has brought this over and, hopefully, will do well enough to encourage more of these unique titles to make a North American appearance.
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    Lamentations over wasted time come easily when you consider the unexpected deaths, but the powerful last words of the narrative reminded me of Corpse Party's chilling highlights. Instances of fear and melancholy occur with startling frequency.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    67
    Corpse Party is good at setting an unnerving scene, which is even more impressive considering how silly it looks.
  7. As a game, it's abo - game ever, please try again. [Jan 2012, p.86]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Pues a mi si me saco sustos o.o . Estilo de RPG antiguo pero con tantos factores en su desarrollo, el miedo que van generando en los personajes, las decisiones rapidas que hay que tomar, hasta la decision mas casual puede llevarte a un final malo. Pero si sabes moverte con suerte llegaras al final del capitulo......entre comillas final "bueno" Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, don't be fooled by the anime appearance.
    This is a true horror game through and through.
    As long as you like survival horror,
    give this game a try.
    A must have title for psp owners.
    Collapse
  3. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Awful graphics and extremely outdated gameplay, but definitely a great game. Voice acting and SFX are great, music is superb and the story although full of cliches, is very absorbing and well elaborated.

    You'll be trapped with this game until you finish it.

    RECOMMENDED
    Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    **** me. I just watched Pewdiepie's playthrough of this, and all the words have pretty much been sucked out of my mouth with a five-thousand-watt vacuum cleaner. Whenever such a talented group of writers, coders, producers and artists get together and make a masterpiece...I never can fathom the amount of emotional attachment I acquire with the characters. Naomi, Satoshi, Yuka, Seiko (damn it, the manly tears!) and everyone else are unforgettable characters, with an unforgettable and gruesomely real story behind them.

    Whatever you do in the coming week, play this game. Or watch Pewdiepie play through it on YouTube, I found it just as, or even more enjoyable.

    P.S. I noticed you might die sometimes and would get a 'wrong' ending. You don't want that. Save your game often and try to collect all the information (you should do that anyway, it makes the plot and game that much better).
    Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    Simple graphics with a great story really makes a difference. That's all i'm going to say.



    What? You want me to say something else?
    Okay, umm.......If I was to beat someone with a dictionary is it a psychical or verbal assault? There, that'll keep you occupied for a little while. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    One of the best horror games I have played in a long time. In terms of gameplay it consists of simple puzzles and moments of intense pacman-esque evasion. It's definitely a game that's meant to be played for the story. It's unpredictability and shocking twists will keep you going till the very last chapter. The sound design and voice acting (although in Japanese) is top notch and really sets the mood. Playing with headphones is highly recommended. Being largely a text driven game, it may not appeal to today's ADD Call of Duty gamers. However, for those looking for something unique, original, and truly unsettling it's definitely worth the 20 bucks. Those who say Japanese gaming is dead have clearly not picked up this horror gem of a game. So dust off that PSP and prepare to give the system it's final hoo-rah before Vita's release. Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2014
    4
    Corpse Party - I saw a reference to this game on STEAM and decided to give it a go. After looking online I managed to find the website for the game and was able to investigate a little bit more into the game. More importantly the original Corpse Party was actually designed in RPG Maker in the 90's and it's glaring problems are a direct result of that, namely poor writing, bad design and complete lack of game-play.

    I want to be perfectly clear, the website that advertises Corpse Party is incredibly misleading. In it, the game gives you the feeling that it is more of a gruesome, survival horror, adventure, RPG game. Further is misleads people by advertising features such as constantly changing paths, maps or branches of the school.

    The entire game is incredibly static. Do not expect the maps to shift or change on you at any given time. The only time the maps are even remotely altered is when a plot device requires it and even then, the most the maps do is simply redirect your routes, nothing more.

    Beyond that, don't let the idea of having an inventory, save system or even "HP" fool you, this game is the furthest thing from a RPG you'll ever get. It is more of an interactive novel, much like a 'Choose Your Own Adventure' book.

    The problem is, the game is far too much like those books, in the fact you can expect and most likely will experience completely unfair and unannounced deaths that are in no way the fault of player in any sense. Stupid, thoughtless death traps that give no indicators at all are scattered throughout the game, forcing you to start over.

    Speaking of starting over, the save system is fairly limited, few and far between. Expect to be back tracking a lot to save once you understand how annoying and long winded this game is. It wouldn't be so bad if you could just pick up from where you last left off, but when a death sequence takes several minutes to get through and you repeat it several times, it gets frustrating beyond belief.

    There are no in game animations, almost everything is completely static besides character animations and even then, they are stiff and lifeless. The game suffers from an incredible lack of details, which can be especially bad when considering you are dealing with a survival horror adventure game. The game advertises itself as being incredibly gory and gruesome, but that is simply not true.

    Even when considering this as a visual novel, it barely even passes. A lot of the time, writing is dry, long winded and annoying. More often then not, you'll find yourself simply mashing on the 'X' button of your PSP simply so you can get through their bull crap.

    What really sucks is, I've been given the impression that the original 90's version of Corpse Party actually has more game-play and RPG elements then the PSP version. How the hell did that happen?
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews