• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: May 29, 2007
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 95
    A cognitively rewarding, expertly designed puzzle experience that truly plays like nothing else.
  2. For a game that splits between two different dimensions, Crush ends up feeling a little one-dimensional. However, the concept is undeniably ingenious and it is my sincere hope that a sequel will emerge to take it to the next level and produce a true gaming classic.
  3. 85
    My PSP has never looked (or felt) this good. Do yourself a favor and play this.
  4. Don’t be fooled by comparisons to Super Paper Mario – Crush is its own unique animal, and a puzzle game through-and-through. However, if that’s what you’re looking for, Crush delivers with a fresh concept, a solid presentation and some truly enjoyable dimension-twisting puzzles.
  5. The game is full of charm, from the easily-distinguishable block types and hero in dressing gown, to the sequences that detail the game’s story and a delicate hint mode. [July 2007, p.93]
  6. It's a steep, steep difficulty curve...but extremely rewarding once you conquer it. [Aug 2007, p.84]
  7. There's a genuine sense of achievement and enjoyment when a seemingly impossible level suddenly clicks (or crushes) into place, and the confident way the game uses its central conceit as more than just a gimmick is undeniably reassuring and appealing.
  8. 60
    This, then, is a game to experience. It’s a game to point to, and champion, as an innovator in what it presents to players. It’s one of the most novel games ever made. In bite-sized portions, it really should be played.
  9. Ultimately, Crush stands tall as a successful experiment in game design, offering up a shiny new puzzle concept that could very well set a new standard for future clones.
  10. Puzzle games have always been on the boring side to me. Most puzzle games follow a certain standard. Crush starts its own standard, and I have a hunch that many games will try and replicate it.
  11. Save some rare problems with Danny’s jumps and the viewing of very complex levels do crop up, but they’re few and far between, and they hardly mar the impressive, challenging and marvelously-presented experience.
  12. And the final word must go to that pesky puzzle hook that just won't let your stubborn brain accept defeat.
  13. The game's presentation couldn't be better and the story provides some extra weight along with doses of humor.
  14. 85
    Crush does a great job of turning buzzwords into true and terrific gameplay.
  15. There’s a lot of content here to keep you busy for a long time while you strive for the perfect grades.
  16. A hard-thinking puzzler needing a hard-thinking brain - but it's justifiably rewarding. [July 2007, p.71]
  17. Focused in its style, single minded in its vision and executed with superb finesse, it’s a fantastic example of what can be achieved on PSP with imagination and skill. [July 2007, p.111]
  18. Crush is a one-of-a-kind action puzzle game, and its unique concept makes for a refreshing and bizarre experience.
  19. 90
    With levels that build on each other in terms of complexity (and, thusly, difficulty), the game inspires that kind of "just one more level" feeling of addiction that may result in you freeing Dan from his insomnia but earning yourself a nasty case in return.
  20. There's replayability in Crush in the way of time trials and perfecting scores, but it relies on you wanting to play it in the first place.
  21. The best compl[i]ment possible to give a puzzle game is that the real reward is the playing itself. You don’t need fancy stories, or whiz-bang effects when you’ve got solid, addictive gameplay. And CRUSH has this in spades--not to mention the presentation is quite nice as well.
  22. A very engaging and original puzzler, Crush presents unique gameplay and stages that grow increasingly more complex, but never too difficult. While the controls could be a bit tighter and there could be more environments, it’s still a fun experience from start to finish.
  23. It's hard to find too many faults with a game like Crush; the concept is original and the whole game is expertly done.
  24. 89
    You know you've found a great puzzler when even the earliest levels in the game leave you feeling completely rewarded. Crush accomplishes this feat thanks to its 40 superbly-designed mazes, fantastic art style, and terrific original concept.
  25. 100
    Certainly a real gem for puzzle fanatics, and anyone looking for something really new and really unique for their PSP has gotten themselves a real head turner.
  26. 80
    The control method and lazy design of the later levels threaten to dampen the early enjoyment, but Crush must be praised for trying to innovate, and is thus a worthy purchase for any PSP owner in search of their next puzzle fix.
  27. Don't let the presentation scare you. If ever there was a classic game that screams cult classic puzzler, it's this one. [June 2007, p.94]
  28. 80
    Crush is easily one of the PSP's best games, thanks largely to a fresh premise and highly addictive, brain-teasing gameplay.
  29. Crush delivers in every sense of the word: originality, playability, and visuals--it's easily among the prettiest puzzle games I've ever seen--and will keep your PSP off the charger for many a sleepless night. [June 2007, p.82]
  30. 80
    A puzzle game that we actually like, and that's rare. [Issue#154, p.86]
  31. The most original idea on the PSP since "Locoroco." [July 2007, p.115]
  32. Genuinely innovative puzzler that will change the way you think about the genre.
  33. Our only real complaint is that 40-odd levels weren't enough to satisfy us, but the fact that Crush left us wanting more speaks volumes about its quality. [Sept 2007, p.79]
  34. Overall Intelligent, inventive... Crush's main drawback is its steep learning curve. But that's what brains are for, right?
  35. Crush satisfies the innate gamer need to express the world in easy-to-manipulate numbers and objects.
  36. Puzzles are fiendishly intricate, and it is a thrill when you finish a circuitous, mind-bending route to the exit.
  37. Dr. Reuben’s inaugural experiment is no failure, and just like with all well performed experiments, Crush delivers a satisfactory result and serves to enlighten us on what the bright future holds.
  38. A highly imaginative experience that walks the fine line between compulsion and frustration that any good puzzler should provide. Further refinement on the concept and level design to reduce the emphasis on trial-and-error gameplay would have resulted in a more appealing experience.
  39. Easily one of the best puzzle games ever made. Yes, it's really that good. If you own a PSP, you need this game.
  40. A huge amount of CRUSH is brilliantly playable and consistently enjoyable. It is bursting with character by puzzle game standards and, even considering its shortcomings, is still a PSP release well worth picking up if you are looking for something fresh and stimulating.
  41. I found Crush to be an innovative twist on the platform/puzzle genre. The game is suitable for all ages and includes a hint feature which you can enable or disable in the options menu. My only complaint with the game is that it feels a bit short with only 40 levels.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. ToddS.
    Dec 13, 2008
    7
    It's a good game, I'm not arguing against that. Though, the pros and cons of the game makes it a mixed bag. I enjoyed the unique It's a good game, I'm not arguing against that. Though, the pros and cons of the game makes it a mixed bag. I enjoyed the unique genius puzzle gameplay engine, but I didn't find that too rewarding. The only reward for your hard work is an art gallery. Though, it's fairly lengthly, the only replay value it has is repeating missions. Full Review »
  2. AnonymOus
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    Best puzzle game ever played! And god knows i have played ALOT of game in my life but this one is just fantastic! Enough said!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    Easily the best PSP game I've played in a long time. Very challenging, and most importantly, fun. Aimed precisely at the handheld crowd Easily the best PSP game I've played in a long time. Very challenging, and most importantly, fun. Aimed precisely at the handheld crowd (not a dumbed down port), with levels that are (amazingly) exactly as long as your interest in finishing them. Well done, must buy. Full Review »