Dead Head Fred PSP

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    6
    The presentation oozes style and the gameplay mechanics are well realized and pretty unique. Beyond the core game itself however, the side missions and minigames feel half baked and drag down the fun too often. Most of the quests boil down to 'hey some guy stole my watch and he's hiding in an alley clear across town, can you go kill him and bring it back to me?' And there are tons of theseThe presentation oozes style and the gameplay mechanics are well realized and pretty unique. Beyond the core game itself however, the side missions and minigames feel half baked and drag down the fun too often. Most of the quests boil down to 'hey some guy stole my watch and he's hiding in an alley clear across town, can you go kill him and bring it back to me?' And there are tons of these pointless fetch and delivery quests. If you're going to play it I would suggest ignoring most sidequests unless you need the cash or items. Expand
  2. CarlosP.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    It's games like this that will put the PSP back in the spotlight. The play control is tight. The story and the dialog is wacky cool. It has that lil' old school classic movie monster picture feel with a modern touch. The amount of attacks and weapons is amazing. Definitely a fun and original game! Sony definitely needs to cater to Vicious Cycle (Developer) and D3 (Publisher) and It's games like this that will put the PSP back in the spotlight. The play control is tight. The story and the dialog is wacky cool. It has that lil' old school classic movie monster picture feel with a modern touch. The amount of attacks and weapons is amazing. Definitely a fun and original game! Sony definitely needs to cater to Vicious Cycle (Developer) and D3 (Publisher) and make them happy so that they can keep making great games such as this and push the PSP's capabilities. In order for the PSP too succeed, they need more great original games such as this...and this is the first step. Great game and awesome game engine Vicious Cycle! Buy this game now people, you won't regret it. Expand
  3. penis
    Jul 10, 2008
    6
    on the upside the game is a long game with minigames and side missions, john C mclinley ( Dr Turk from scrubs) plays fred and does good, on the downside the graphics suck, other then john voiceacting sucks, sidemissions are worthless, money is almost worthless, camera sucks, story is stupid, no replay value, no online play
  4. DanC.
    Oct 13, 2007
    1
    The humour is the main selling point. I was really looking forward to this, and the cutscenes make me laugh- but the gameplay is extremely weak and shallow. For God's sake, try to RENT this game before you buy, please!
  5. DesmondH.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    One of the most original games I have ever played.
  6. MarcB.
    Oct 31, 2007
    4
    Ironic, the comment below about "what a PSP game can be when it's not trying to be a PS2 game". I think this is the prime example of a game that fails because it is trying to cram a full-size design into a portable game. Specifically, control is too demanding for the PSP awkward analog nub, making the whole affair very tedious, but worse, the ambitious graphics engine seems to bring Ironic, the comment below about "what a PSP game can be when it's not trying to be a PS2 game". I think this is the prime example of a game that fails because it is trying to cram a full-size design into a portable game. Specifically, control is too demanding for the PSP awkward analog nub, making the whole affair very tedious, but worse, the ambitious graphics engine seems to bring the worst out of display. Everything is very dark, and even the slightest off-angle viewing is hard on the eyes. I put so much attention into trying to hold the PSP just so, I can't even begin to enjoy the game. As for content and gameplay, I have to admit outright I haven't gotten very far in - I simply find the game unplayable. Expand
  7. James
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Finally something worth playing on the PSP. I picked this up yesterday and it's probably one of the funniest games I've ever played. Dr. Cox rocks!
  8. JacobP.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    So this is what a PSP game can be when it's not trying to be a PS2 game. Hats off to the guys who made this; I can see why they took so long to make it. The games looks amazing, even better in some ways than Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops (which is really saying something) and has all new (not to mention fun) gameplay mechanics and hilarious dialogue. Like, really hilarious. Laugh So this is what a PSP game can be when it's not trying to be a PS2 game. Hats off to the guys who made this; I can see why they took so long to make it. The games looks amazing, even better in some ways than Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops (which is really saying something) and has all new (not to mention fun) gameplay mechanics and hilarious dialogue. Like, really hilarious. Laugh out loud type stuff. Most of all, the game is a bargain, selling new for roughly 30 dollars-- do yourself a favour and at least rent the game. Chances are you'll be won over if not by the charm than the great story and gameplay. Expand
  9. BobS.
    Sep 5, 2007
    4
    Pure unadulterated drivel. If you can make it through the ten minute cut scenes, the boring AI and first boss. You might reach the second boss and find that the game goes to sleep on you because you haven't saved and the autosave kicks in. Not only is this game an unfunny version of Ratchet & Clank, it fails horribly at everything it tires to be; witty, original and fun. Keep your Pure unadulterated drivel. If you can make it through the ten minute cut scenes, the boring AI and first boss. You might reach the second boss and find that the game goes to sleep on you because you haven't saved and the autosave kicks in. Not only is this game an unfunny version of Ratchet & Clank, it fails horribly at everything it tires to be; witty, original and fun. Keep your thirty bucks and see if D3Publisher can a) rename their company and b) match the success of Puzzle Quest. Expand
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    The humor is terrific. Which is like 55% of the game. The other part of the game is ok. Decent gameplay, interesting features and unique concept.
  11. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    This game was completely awesome, with fantastic voice acting, fun combat, beautiful graphics, and over 30 hours of gameplay time (for me at least) with tons of minigames and an awesome story. This game is so underrated, i only got it a while ago on psn (for my ps vita) for 4 dollars, and it was incredibly good for such a cheap price, it was unbelievable.

    You owe it to yourself to buy
    This game was completely awesome, with fantastic voice acting, fun combat, beautiful graphics, and over 30 hours of gameplay time (for me at least) with tons of minigames and an awesome story. This game is so underrated, i only got it a while ago on psn (for my ps vita) for 4 dollars, and it was incredibly good for such a cheap price, it was unbelievable.

    You owe it to yourself to buy this game.
    Expand
  12. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    How do I explain this game...
    Well to start out, this is a fun game, and you will get your moneys worth.
    Now lets talk about the game its self. First of all the head switching aspect works well, and also adds different layers to this games fighting mechanic (different enemies are weaker to different heads). However the fighting mechanic is honestly nothing special, it mainly consists of
    How do I explain this game...
    Well to start out, this is a fun game, and you will get your moneys worth.
    Now lets talk about the game its self. First of all the head switching aspect works well, and also adds different layers to this games fighting mechanic (different enemies are weaker to different heads). However the fighting mechanic is honestly nothing special, it mainly consists of attacking then just mashing the X button to win. The controls work well, The atmosphere is ugly, but its purposely ugly. The story is interesting, and will keep you going tell the end. The voice acting is very good, and all the voices were given to the perfect characters, The humor is good if you like dirty humor, The side games are alright, but they are just mainly distractions to give you more to do. Items are mainly just used to sell for money. Quests are nothing special (find this, kill that, go here).
    In the end this game has flaws, but they are not big enough to be a real problem. If you can look past them, you will have a good time. If you have a psp, or a ps vita, I recommend this game.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#15 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#34 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. The game engine is silky smooth and, for the PSP, quite detailed and amazing. You’ll be hard-pressed to find a better-looking game on the PSP. Combat is neither easy nor shallow, and you’ll soon find that with multiple heads in your inventory, Fred can pull off a wide variety of moves.
  2. Beating up enemies and stealing their heads works, but is rarely compelling. Navigating bite-sized environments is easy to do, but almost never offers a sense of exploration or accomplishment.
  3. 80
    One of the most entertaining games to hit the PSP this year.