Dead to Rights: Reckoning PSP

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Jun 28, 2005
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26
Buy On
  1. AceGamez
    90
    A superb single player blast fest with hardly any load times is just what the doctor ordered, and a multiplayer mode made especially for those deathmatch enthusiasts really keeps the longevity of this title well up there.
  2. A port of the latest console game down to the PSP, but for some reason the basic style of the gameplay just works better on this portable medium.
  3. Imagine an aging Max Payne with debilitating rheumatoid arthritis, failing eyesight and prone to fits of epilepsy. That's what you can expect when you play as Jack Slate in Dead to Rights: Reckoning...This game gets no points for trying. Dead to Rights: Reckoning, in no uncertain terms, sucks.
  4. Namco's foray into the PSP platform hits a huge snag, as Reckoning's overly simple and repetitive gameplay takes the skill (and fun) away.
  5. No grenades or rocket launchers, not even a clever mission are to be found along Jack's path. Just guns, dead bodies and pools of blood we've seen before.
  6. There are times when the game is fun, but it simply fails to overcome its numerous shortcomings.
  7. I’ve passed this game around to people who have never even held a PSP before and they have picked up on the gameplay in less than ten minutes and have enjoyed it just as much as I have.
  8. Game Informer
    65
    Perhaps the most damning thing about this game is that its simple nature is almost out of necessity. [Aug 2005, p.106]
  9. Tough aiming, repetitive gameplay and totally uninspired story elements send the game into a downward spiral, one that ends with a very short single-player mode and few extras. This cop should be kicked off the force.
  10. While there's something to be said for a game that cuts to the chase and focuses merely on your ability to lock onto targets and mash the fire button to blast them in the face, Reckoning has shoddy control and some ugly graphical glitches. Its handful of problems really get in the way and make this PSP game short, uninteresting, and not much fun at all.
  11. 50
    If Namco just spent another month or two polishing the camera and targeting, it could have had a rock solid action title under its belt.
  12. If you enjoy blowing stuff up and pretending to be in Hong Kong-style action movie then Dead to Rights: Reckoning is your game.
  13. Gameplay is fast, fun, and frantic.
  14. What we’ve got here is a fair game that I wouldn’t recommend to anyone except for a mindless, young teenager that likes shooting games and puppies.
  15. 50
    I think it's possible to have a success shooter on PSP. But if fundamental elements like a functional camera and control systems aren't there, the game just won't work.
  16. 40
    I really love how shallow this game is, but at the same time Namco should be ashamed for even releasing it since it obviously needed more time to cook.
  17. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    60
    Not even a crime-fighting dog can hide the fact that this is generic shooting with a wonky lock-on system. Distinctly average. [Apr 2006, p.97]
  18. While multiplayer is a nice feature, its novelty wears thin quickly since part of the fun is being in a hectic firefight with several enemies and not just a couple of people.
  19. Play Magazine
    50
    An almost uncontrollable camera. [Aug 2005, p.58]
  20. PSM Magazine
    60
    The game ultimately boils down to mindlessly shooting everybody in sight, which is only compelling for so long. [Sept 2005, p.85]
  21. It's broken, it's brief, and it'll only make you wonder "what if" every time you play it.
  22. A great looking game with no personality.
  23. An abomination of a product that wasn't really all that solid to begin with. When a game that depends on a lock-on system and camera to deliver compelling action can't even get that right, it's just not worth playing, and Reckoning is the very definition of wasted money. Stay far, far away.
  24. 53
    Playing through the game takes only a few hours the first time, making it great for quick gaming spurts. Combining that with the lackluster multiplayer modes and shoddy controls you won’t be going back very often though. It just isn’t worth the headache.
  25. A good time but ultimately a forgettable time. This is fun for the bus ride, but not much else.
  26. 40
    Despite its relative good looks, Dead to Rights: Reckoning is more an exercise in frustration than an enjoyable diversion. Not even the four player WiFi deathmatch mode is enough to save this one from the bowels of the budget bargain bin.

Awards & Rankings

68
19
#19 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    My all time favorite PSP game. As a big fan of the Hong Kong action cinema, I love the spectacular martial arts disarms, executions and theMy all time favorite PSP game. As a big fan of the Hong Kong action cinema, I love the spectacular martial arts disarms, executions and the bullet time shooting. Sure it has some bugs, but so does every game. There's a pretty nice variety of firearms in your arsenal and your dog, Shadow, is also a good "weapon". There is also multiplayer and there are challenge modes as well to keep you attached longer to the game. I recommend it to everybody who likes a good and fun third person shooter, similar to gaming classics like Max Payne or Stranglehold. Full Review »
  2. AnonymousMC
    Jul 1, 2009
    8
    really good, but much too short, a little repetitive and the guns are about the same throughout. a few new guns are cool when u get them,likereally good, but much too short, a little repetitive and the guns are about the same throughout. a few new guns are cool when u get them,like the AK 47 and the heavy machine gun. this game when too fast for me though. there's about 10 missions that take about 5 to 10 minutes each(some are even less). but its still a fun pick up and play and i would recommend trying it Full Review »
  3. $ALEX$$DAGO$
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    This is a really good game for people that like mature games.I traded a game with a friend .That was called Dead to RightsThis is a really good game for people that like mature games.I traded a game with a friend .That was called Dead to Rights Reckoning.I gave he a dirtbike game that he likes.I got the game that I what the game I was talking about.And that how I now about this game. Full Review »