Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. 90
    With a nearly flawless port of the classic title to the PSP, Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness is a game that any strategy RPG fan should definitely own.
  2. If you've got a PSP and are a fan of strategy RPGs, Disgaea is a worthy addition to your collection.
  3. This cult classic has lot nothing--and gained quite a bit--in the translation to PSP. [Nov 2007, p.163]
  4. Though not as hilarious as its PS2 sequel, Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness is the best, most expansive and most addictive strategy/RPG available for PSP.
  5. It's hard to believe a tiny UMD disc can pack this much game.
  6. An unlikely classic, Disgaea is one of the most perfect expressions of freeform strategy gaming it's possible to imagine.
  7. A great port. It was awesome on the PS2 and now even better on the PSP with Etna mode and the various multiplayer modes.
  8. 100
    Part of what distinguishes Disgaea from more run-of-the-mill SRPGs is its wicked sense of humor, which makes just unveiling the story a treat.
  9. Time does the best job of muffling hyperbole but today, years after we first encountered Disgaea, we still feel like shouting from the rooftops.
  10. As finely-presented as it is deep, welcoming to the newcomer, and yet more than ready to run veteran strategy gearheads down into their own personal animated Netherworld.
  11. Games Master UK
    86
    Arguably the greatest and most substantial strategy RPG you'll get on PSP. [Jan 2007, p.69]
  12. 75
    Basically, half of what makes Disgaea unique would seem like cheating in any other game.
  13. 90
    It has enough new content to appeal to owners of HoD, and enough depth to keep even the most skilled SRPG player busy for weeks.
  14. The game really is a niche title that is going to appeal to only a small group. I'm certainly a part of it, but even I feel like the extreme customization gets to be a bit much.
  15. If you're into tactical RPGs at all, or want to see the genre done in a more playful manner than Final Fantasy or Fire Emblem, then this is without a doubt one of the deepest, craziest, most time consuming games you could ever play.
  16. The humor, story, and gameplay are all top notch.
  17. Hardcore Gamer
    90
    A Disgaea veteran who is interested only in the new content may find AoD to not be worth the purchase, but it's a must-buy for any PSP owner who's been yearning for an engrossing strategy RPG. [Nov 2007, p.58]
  18. Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness stands side by side with the likes of Final Fantasy Tactics and Jeanne D'Arc as one of the best PSP games to hit the system in 2007.
  19. AceGamez
    100
    Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness is one of those once in a console lifespan type of games, the kind that set the bar far too high for the remainder of the generation - and even for itself - leaving a new console war to (hopefully) reignite the ingenuity and innovation of developers and lead to the next great genre revolution.
  20. Although it's a remake of a 2003 game, it is well-done. The added multiplayer is a real treat and its charm is everlasting.
  21. Play Magazine
    80
    For portable role playing on the go you can't do much better...okay, "Jeanne de Arc", but that's it. [Oct 2007, p.94]
  22. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    Newcomers will be happy to find a strategic RPG that doesn't take itself too seriously. [Jan 2008, p.115]
  23. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    72
    The new alternate story and head-to-head multiplayer make it even more compelling than the PS2 original. [Dec 2007, p.128]
  24. 85
    Superbly structured strategy gameplay and a wonderfully colourful, humorous and entertaining setting make Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness one of the best strategy RPGs around.
  25. Play UK
    92
    Sheer brilliance. [Issue#161, p.98]
  26. PSM3 Magazine UK
    88
    One of the most polished, deep RPGs ever made, and on PSP it's better than ever. [Dec 2007, p.84]
  27. The two minor gameplay additions and the Etna Mode make this superior to the PS2 original. If you've never played Disgaea before because of difficulty finding it, you have no excuse now.
  28. 88
    Afternoon of Darkness features a fast startup time, even faster game loading times, and almost unbelievably fast level loading times (under 2 seconds), all of which just add to the many reasons why this port is a great fit for the PSP.
  29. Afternoon of Darkness feels at home on the PSP, with its battles short, sweet and addictive in exactly the right way a portable RPG should be. Its innovative nature might no longer be the cutting edge of SRPGs, but it stands alongside Final Fantasy Tactics as one of the best RPGs on the PSP, if not one of the finest titles you can get on a console adrift in cheap PS2 port hell.
  30. I honestly can't recommend Afternoon of Darkness enough. It is everything a SRPG should be, filled to the brim with a staggering amount of gameplay, a great story with absolutely insane characters, killer gameplay that all SRPGs would do well to copy, and with the PSP version, runs, looks and plays better than the original version.
  31. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    90
    So often we see PSP ports that are missing features or don't control well, but Afternoon of Darkness is a shining example of what ports should be. [Holiday 2007, p.80]
  32. 80
    If you like your Japanese RPGs and have a lot of time to spend to get the most from the game, it comes highly recommended.
  33. Overall, I was very very pleased with Afternoon of Darkness. Welcome back to the front of the Strategy RPG pack, Disgaea. We missed you.
  34. 90
    With a myriad of options through character creation, and a new twist on tactical combat with the "geo-system", this may be one of the foremost MUST-HAVE games for the PSP this year.
  35. 90
    Those who’ve never experienced the story and fun on offer should take a look and owners of the original game still owe it to themselves to buy this game.
  36. An awesome game that is a must for every PSP owner.
  37. 90
    Brilliant stuff. Where else can a bubbly fallen angel butt heads with a bratty, ambitious prince hoping to become Overlord of the Netherworld?

Awards & Rankings

3
7
#7 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
3
#3 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 72
  2. Negative: 9 out of 72
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    I began to play this game only in 2012, and i think it's one of the best on PSP. I loved Jeanne d'Arc but Disgaea is much deeper in terms ofI began to play this game only in 2012, and i think it's one of the best on PSP. I loved Jeanne d'Arc but Disgaea is much deeper in terms of gameplay and more attractive because of outstanding humor, character design etc. Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    9
    a great SRPG by nippon itchi . this company knows how to make great SRPG's . the story is entertaining the alot of fun special moves and 100sa great SRPG by nippon itchi . this company knows how to make great SRPG's . the story is entertaining the alot of fun special moves and 100s of hours of gameplay , good voice acting with some deep gameplay. ive never played the PS2 version of this game infact ive never even heard of the disgaea series till i played the 3rd on the PS3 but if you havent as well deffinitly get the PSP version if you have a PSP you get much more extra content . they have added etna mode which gives you Etna as the main charicter and story is told as a what if she killed laharl. the iitem world isnt as good as the 3rd's setup . i also miss the class world because of how easy it is to transfer skills . also staticians seem to do little compared to what they do in the 3rd. still this is the first in the series and just shows you how much they have improved the 3rd . still any SRPG fan should have this game in there collection . Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2017
    9
    It has been a long time since I have put so many hours into a game.

    Honestly, the only negative part I found about the game is that it is
    It has been a long time since I have put so many hours into a game.

    Honestly, the only negative part I found about the game is that it is way too addictive and some places require too much of grinding. :P. Also the item world and climbing 100 floors can get somewhat tiresome.

    Story is great, gameplay is good and also the geopanels make the game interesting.

    I would have liked more side story but I highly recommend this game for JRPG and Final Fantasy Tactics/Ogre battle lovers.
    Full Review »