Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cosmos, the goddess of harmony. Chaos, the god of discord. Reigning from distant realms, the two gods had gathered warriors from all lands to lead them in savage war. Cosmos and Chaos were of equal strength. It was believed the conflict would last forever. However, the balance is now broken. Those who answered Chaos's call created an inexhaustible force. And under vicious attack without relent, the warriors fighting for Cosmos started to fall one by one. The conflict that has continued for eons is now about to end in Chaos's favor. The world has been torn asunder, sinking into a vortex of disorder. As for the few surviving warriors… their fates have yet to be determined. All-new battle system: Action-based battle system combines all-out brawling alongside RPG-based character development in an original system developed by the creators of the KINGDOM HEARTS series. Ultimate cast of characters: Fan-favorite heroes and villains from the entire FINAL FANTASY series come together in one game for the first time in a remarkable new tale with fully-voiced CG movies and real-time events. Fantasy match: Players select their favorite FINAL FANTASY characters, sided with either Cosmos or Chaos, to set the stage for their fantasy match. Series staple battle features: Accessible through “EX Burst”, players can experience gameplay faithful to the originals through memorable battle features such as "Limit Break" and "Overdrive". In addition, longtime fans of the series can enjoy the ability to summon Aeons and options such as the “command battle” system. Community: Continue the experience by trading Friend Cards, creating items and sharing AI characters with other players and even engage in virtual AI battles made possible by the PSP system ad hoc mode. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Dissidia: Final Fantasy manages to marry at least two completely disparate genres into one of the best games of the year. Not only is it exciting and full of fast-paced action, but it's also deep and full of replay value.
  2. There are plenty of characters and each with their own unique storyline. Dissidia will surely last many hours before a FF fan will get bored of it. I highly suggest a purchase.
  3. 89
    This game is a touching tribute to the franchise and a great reward for devoted fans.
  4. Overall A challenging fighter that shows off the PSP's power. Slightly intimidating for non-fans, though.
  5. Final Fantasy Dissidia is all about fan service. It doesn't matter which of the games in the series you're the most attached to - chances are great that you'll find your favourite character, tune or environment in this package. Looking beyond the fan service there's actually a surprisingly deep and fleshed out story mode that will keep you busy for hours on end. There are flaws, such as a terribly wonky camera, but if you're a fan of Final Fantasy this is a must buy. Final Fantasy fan or not, this is one of the best fighting games on the PSP.
  6. A bit too complex to please conventional fighting fans, but the game more than pays off for anyone who enjoys character progression - including anyone who's obsessed with "Final Fantasy." [Oct 2009, p.76]
  7. It seems that any time Square Enix tries to prove to the world that they can make more than super awesome RPGs, they underwhelm.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    When I first saw this game. I thought of it as an adventure rather than a fighting combat kind of thing. So I bought it. When I first tried it. I thought is as a lame game. But when I unlocked more characters and clothing I got hooked up. I wanted more. So I bought the prequel to this game, Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    A reunion of almost all the Final Fantasy antagonists and protagonists, fighting for two "new" gods Chaos and Cosmos - what's more do you need? Yes, the story is lame, but the action is vibrant and lively, the graphics is top notch for PSP, the control is seamless (albeit with some slight learning curve), and the soundtracks are to die for! As a PSP game, it is a must pick, and as a Final Fantasy game, I personally think it could beat up all the games in the franchise. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy Dissidia is a fighting consisting of characters from the first 10 main franchise titles (I-X) and includes some additional characters from XI and XII. The game includes a unique battle system that combines RPG and fighting elements. Both fans of the FF series and fighting fans will surely love this game. With a total of up to 20 characters with 2 additional characters, players may customize their characters with equips and techniques making different combination of attacks possible. Along with that a very long storyline with all sorts of twists and turns never before seen. Fans will surely live the nostalgic life when playing this game. The sound effects and music are revitalize in this game and graphics are clear and crisp. Fans will surely enjoy this perfect fighting RPG classic. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    It's a PSP game and that's a console that Square Enix is still willingly spend that much time and effort into producing high quality games for it. Five major points to talk so it's a simplified version, GRAPHICS: slick nice damn good for a PSP. MUSIC: Nice, especially the Chaos version of the fanfare. GAMEPLAY: Can be repetitive at times but redeems itself with the fast pace action and random button mashing (which is good in this case). CHARACTERS/PLOT: Well, they're Final Fantasy characters so I have my own opinion on certain characters... well, it's a solid cast and plot. REPLAYABILITY: This is my concern point, after finishing every single quest possible for the game... I don't feel compel to replay it, maybe it became tedious after a while... maybe... well, it's still a decent game to own as a self-proclaimed hardcore FF fan. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    ive waited so long for this a final fantasy fighting game with rpg elements this game is amazing with 20 characters from the the first ten games you are sure not to get bored with this awesome game. the only problem with this game is the storyline its a cool concept and tells you why they are fighting but it falls short but thats expected for most fighting games espcially for ones on portable systems. all in all the fighting works great and i have a 100+ hours infested on this game buy it you wont be dissapointed Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    I've never played a Final Fantasy game before. The closest I was to Final fantasy was playing the Kingdom Hearts games. So when I heard about Dissidia and its gameplay, I decided to try out the demo on the PSN, and I actually enjoyed it. So I got the game, and it was pretty sweet. I didn't really care for the plot in this game, so I wasn't really disappointed by it as much as some of you. What was disappointing was the fact that characters would come to the exact location three or four times. Seriously, were those the only areas the characters could explore? Also, the characters' facial expressions weren't as strong as other Square-Enix PSP games like Birth by Sleep and (from what I've seen on youtube) Crisis Core, making them look like puppets instead of actual people. But don't let any of that stuff keep you from buying this game. As my first Final fantasy game, it was a very solid experience that made me really interested in the Final Fantasy series. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Sure, fighting is alright. It's a pretty strategic one. But it is exactly what I hate in all RPG games so far it's too difficult. Sure, I played through Persona 3 Portable and FF Crisis Core and I just happen to get one hit k.o.ed in this game on a mission that has 1 star difficulty while playing on easy mode? Sure, sure, and I also get to hit enemies for 1 courage point at a time but they get to hit me for 20, block and evade each of my attacks? Sure, sure, no problem. I can deal with that. Except, it is not worth my time. I'm pretty sure I don't suck that much and I am also sure that I will not bother to try again. Seriously, most of the people who rated this game 10 are some kind of pros that have been frustrated 100s of time to beat it. Well, no thanks. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?