• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2007
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyuH.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    THE most authentic Dungeons and Dragons game to date. Follows all of the 3.5 rules (which can be confusing to new players) but overall it is a very deep role playing game with loads of character customisation and tons of different ways to play.
  2. AustinM.
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    Great game, the rules are a little difficult to interpret at times, but mostly because of my 2nd edition background. Haven't beaten it yet, but look forward to playing it several times.
  3. Jon
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    A solid game, and one that won't disappoint D&D fans. For those who have never played the pen and paper version, there will seem to be almost an overwhelming assortment of options, especially due to the bare-bones tutorials. Be persistant, and don't be afraid to experiment with the choices each character can present, as each class can provide a wide amount of choices, especially A solid game, and one that won't disappoint D&D fans. For those who have never played the pen and paper version, there will seem to be almost an overwhelming assortment of options, especially due to the bare-bones tutorials. Be persistant, and don't be afraid to experiment with the choices each character can present, as each class can provide a wide amount of choices, especially at higher levels. For those already familiar with D&D....while I agree with one of the above reviews as to the game starting slowly....and while not overly impressed with the storyline as you simply start the game with no introduction, once you get rolling and start leveling up, it's charm becomes hard to resist. For a portable game, it is an impressive feat, basically becoming a D&D minatures game you can ake anywhere. Just about any combat rule in the pen and paper game is available here....it's just that there is a LOT of travelling thru mini-menus for your actions. It's give and take as the designers had to implement some way of providing all these choices, and once you get used to it, it doesn't seem as much as a hindrance as it does when you first pick it up to play. If you're a gamer-do yourself a favor and pick this up! Expand
  4. Shadowcide
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    An excellent game. The transition from the Pen and Paper D&D game to video game has always suffered in some form or fashion when combat was translated. However, D&D Tactics takes the essence of a true 3.5 D&D battle and presents it in close proximity. While I admit that there are problems (namely a poor multiplayer platform, a difficult camera to control, and difficult lists to sort An excellent game. The transition from the Pen and Paper D&D game to video game has always suffered in some form or fashion when combat was translated. However, D&D Tactics takes the essence of a true 3.5 D&D battle and presents it in close proximity. While I admit that there are problems (namely a poor multiplayer platform, a difficult camera to control, and difficult lists to sort through), the precise attention to such things as Attacks-of-Opportunity and Bullrush lead me to conclude that this is an excellent Dungeons and Dragons game. The statement by some of the critics that this isn't for everyone is pretty much implicit in the title: Dungeons and Dragons Tactics. If you are surprised by the fact that it is D&D (with such things as rules), then you probably shouldn't be playing this game. If, however, you are in need of a good D&D game with good graphics, representative sound-effects (for those magic missiles that you will be casting), and excellent D&D rules adjudication, this is definitely the game for you. Expand
  5. Flatliner
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    Firstly , it seems strange that so many reviewers are complaining about the menus and complexity of the game. This is a game based on a generally slow paced and thoughtful pastime, Not Diablo 2 or titan quest type games. I love this game, its cumbersome sure, but as you memorise the menus, and learn to use the functional camera *some games can't even manage that* you will begin to Firstly , it seems strange that so many reviewers are complaining about the menus and complexity of the game. This is a game based on a generally slow paced and thoughtful pastime, Not Diablo 2 or titan quest type games. I love this game, its cumbersome sure, but as you memorise the menus, and learn to use the functional camera *some games can't even manage that* you will begin to play with Elan. Graphics are again, something that seems overly critized, you have 6 sprites on screen and generallly a similar amount of Enemies, so detail was allways going to be on the chopping block. The music suits the game nicely and is not irritating after about 1 listen like many psp games. Overall if you have any soft spot at all for wandering dungeons and backstabbing till the wee hours in bed like me, then this game will not dissapoint. Expand
  6. JS
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    So this game has a rating of 58 on metacritic? That actually pisses me off, since it makes it less likely that they will make a sequel. This game is simply the most fun I've ever had with a PSP game. No, it's not perfect D&D, it's missing multi-classing and a few skills and feats. But it's damn close, and you get more character customization than you're going to So this game has a rating of 58 on metacritic? That actually pisses me off, since it makes it less likely that they will make a sequel. This game is simply the most fun I've ever had with a PSP game. No, it's not perfect D&D, it's missing multi-classing and a few skills and feats. But it's damn close, and you get more character customization than you're going to find in any PSP game anywhere. If you've ever played "Temple of Elemental Evil" game for the PC, this is very similar. The focus here is a little less on role-playing and more on fighting though (that's why it's called D&D Tactics). The game is LONG too. I spent about 92 hours on the campaign and finally finished it. You start at level 1. I don't know what the highest level you can hit, but my party got up to level 19. Even after you do the campaign, you can go through it again, and make some different choices about which dungeons to explore, or whether to go good or evil, so there is a fair amount of replay value. -Graphics are smooth, colorful, and fantastic -Sound is wonderful, and there's even a sound player option so you can play all the music for your own pencil & paper games if you want. -Gameplay would be hard at first if you have no knowledge of D&D, but soon you would pick it up. There are lots of ingame help avaialbe on just about everything. Highly recommended. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. I felt completely confined by the rigid rules, limited skill opportunities, and a between-battle interface that's more complicated than figuring out the rules for grappling. [Aug 2007, p.103]
  2. It may start slowly, but we guarantee you won't want to put it down. [Sept 2007, p.78]
  3. This game could use a little more polish, but it's entertaining for the right people. [Sept 2007, p.62]