• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dungeons & Dragons Tactics Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Faithfully utilizing the Dungeons & Dragons 3.5 rule-set, Dungeons & Dragons: Tactics allows players to take a party of six adventurers into a wide variety of dangerous environments to experience deep and exciting turn-based action. All of the core races and classes are available to theFaithfully utilizing the Dungeons & Dragons 3.5 rule-set, Dungeons & Dragons: Tactics allows players to take a party of six adventurers into a wide variety of dangerous environments to experience deep and exciting turn-based action. All of the core races and classes are available to the player, including two Psionic classes, the Psion and the Psychic Warrior. Players can customize their characters and store as many as their memory stick can handle. Battle many different types of monsters from the Dungeons and Dragons universe. Play with your friends wirelessly in both cooperative and adversarial game modes. Extend the gameplay experience with downloadable content. [Atari] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Dungeons & Dragons Tactics is the best thing to happen to the D&D license since Wizards of the Coast commissioned the first Neverwinter Nights PC game.
  2. 78
    Some hardcore D&D fans will be disappointed by the things left out of the 3.5 ruleset, but any tactical RPG fan who doesn't know about what's been left out or doesn't care will enjoy Dungeons & Dragons Tactics.
  3. This is a really solid SRPG that adheres to the D&D rules and mythos as much as possible without reducing the fun factor. I recommend it for anyone who likes SRPGs in general, and even more so if you're deaf.
  4. I felt completely confined by the rigid rules, limited skill opportunities, and a between-battle interface that's more complicated than figuring out the rules for grappling. [Aug 2007, p.103]
  5. 55
    Dungeons & Dragons Tactics may just have enough for fans but it's otherwise too slow and restrictive for anyone else to be interested.
  6. While this game may have some good points, namely character customization on part with the pen and paper game and solid turn based gameplay, it staggers for life almost everywhere else.
  7. It's just a shame that the developers couldn't balance implementing authentic rules with playability.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. RyuH.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    THE most authentic Dungeons and Dragons game to date. Follows all of the 3.5 rules (which can be confusing to new players) but overall it is THE most authentic Dungeons and Dragons game to date. Follows all of the 3.5 rules (which can be confusing to new players) but overall it is a very deep role playing game with loads of character customisation and tons of different ways to play. Expand
  2. Jon
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    A solid game, and one that won't disappoint D&D fans. For those who have never played the pen and paper version, there will seem to be A solid game, and one that won't disappoint D&D fans. For those who have never played the pen and paper version, there will seem to be almost an overwhelming assortment of options, especially due to the bare-bones tutorials. Be persistant, and don't be afraid to experiment with the choices each character can present, as each class can provide a wide amount of choices, especially at higher levels. For those already familiar with D&D....while I agree with one of the above reviews as to the game starting slowly....and while not overly impressed with the storyline as you simply start the game with no introduction, once you get rolling and start leveling up, it's charm becomes hard to resist. For a portable game, it is an impressive feat, basically becoming a D&D minatures game you can ake anywhere. Just about any combat rule in the pen and paper game is available here....it's just that there is a LOT of travelling thru mini-menus for your actions. It's give and take as the designers had to implement some way of providing all these choices, and once you get used to it, it doesn't seem as much as a hindrance as it does when you first pick it up to play. If you're a gamer-do yourself a favor and pick this up! Expand
  3. JS
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    So this game has a rating of 58 on metacritic? That actually pisses me off, since it makes it less likely that they will make a sequel. This So this game has a rating of 58 on metacritic? That actually pisses me off, since it makes it less likely that they will make a sequel. This game is simply the most fun I've ever had with a PSP game. No, it's not perfect D&D, it's missing multi-classing and a few skills and feats. But it's damn close, and you get more character customization than you're going to find in any PSP game anywhere. If you've ever played "Temple of Elemental Evil" game for the PC, this is very similar. The focus here is a little less on role-playing and more on fighting though (that's why it's called D&D Tactics). The game is LONG too. I spent about 92 hours on the campaign and finally finished it. You start at level 1. I don't know what the highest level you can hit, but my party got up to level 19. Even after you do the campaign, you can go through it again, and make some different choices about which dungeons to explore, or whether to go good or evil, so there is a fair amount of replay value. -Graphics are smooth, colorful, and fantastic -Sound is wonderful, and there's even a sound player option so you can play all the music for your own pencil & paper games if you want. -Gameplay would be hard at first if you have no knowledge of D&D, but soon you would pick it up. There are lots of ingame help avaialbe on just about everything. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. THUDUK
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    In my youth I was an avid D&D player and remember sitting with a bunch of friends designing and exploring crazy dungeons with little lead In my youth I was an avid D&D player and remember sitting with a bunch of friends designing and exploring crazy dungeons with little lead figures we had painstakingly painted to add character to, we used to sketch the characters image on the character sheets with such detail and really began to feel attached to each created...this is one area that does drop one point for me as it would be nice to be able to create the characters face and style more not just the limited set images and heads that this game provides, other than that practically all the character types and skills are squezed into the game. Graphics basically do the job nicely, the lighting in the dungeon is very effective, and the two zoom modes and ability to rotate view is easy and makes gameplay smooth, the chacter effects can be basic at times but as you progress the spell effects become quite varied and more impressing. Sound. Is perfect with some really nice celtic and soft magical type Gothic music, sound effects like dripping water and attack sequences, spells are all fitting to the game play well. Gameplay. Although at first you will find it clunky and slow, this is a D&D game and even playing on the board it tooks ages to even get through one room, so this is in comparison speedy, you get totally used to the turn based controls and will learn to like them after a few dungeons, I really like the way you can attack diagonally, this may sound like a small thing, but you play Jeanne Darc and you will know what I mean. this is one thing that lets JDarc down in my opinion not being able to attack diagonally. Also in D&D you can use this tumble move just after an attack to great effect. Overall. I deduct one point for lack of real character styling and design and another for the clunky controls which actually after a while will become natural, so the score would rise to 9/10 after you get some experience under your belt, and also once your character level up and become more powerful this game excels, just give it some time before condemning this game, be patient and you will find a classic game here. Expand
  5. ALLoGISTIC
    Jan 6, 2008
    8
    So, You've read all the professional reviews and here you are perusing the reader reviews. Presumably, much like myself, you really, So, You've read all the professional reviews and here you are perusing the reader reviews. Presumably, much like myself, you really, really want to like this game and youre looking for a review that addresses your specific concerns. whats with the huge disparity in opinions? 90's and 80's next to 50's and 40's !? Thats not helping you make a decision at all. with such a disparity in review scores, you can only presume this is a title that is going to appeal to a very specific audience only, and the million dollar question(or the $39.99 question as the case may be)does that audience include you?? You may have been led to believe from the title and some of the screenshots to expect a game similar in design and play to japanese style srpg's like Tactics Ogre, FF Tactics, Disgaea and the like only with a coat of D&D paint. However, this is not the case. It is True, like those games you take turns moving characters around a map and dispatching enemies. But, its more of a literal interpretation of the movement and combat rules that comprise an actual session of D&D and the reviewing of the subsequent lists of items, numerical values, and other statistics and descriptions you collect on your character sheets than anything else. this is partially where the menu interface complaints stem from. However, if youve ever spent anytime playing D&D or even just rolling and creating characters for the fun of it, you will find that the menu system is actually pretty functional and gives you access to all the information you could want and more. quite simply if you are a fan of D&D and understand the combat mechaincs already, you will find it will indeed suck you in and provide you with a worthwile and ejoyable gaming experience. That being said, the game makes no attempt to introduce you to the mechanics of 3.5 edition D&D combat, which unfortunately may have been somewhat alleviated by including more detailed combat feedback, such as a combat log. which, would have been nice to see even for us D&D fans. Did you know if you attempt to move away from an enemy who is adjacent to you, he gets to make an attack of oppurtunity? Do you even know what an attack of oppurtunity is?? while the words "attack of oppurtunity" do pop up on screen when it happens, the game never attempts to explain this or any such unique mechanics to you, nor does it gradually introduce them to you through the course of the game as is generally an expected element of modern game design. This is just one example of many such instances in which the game just makes it very difficult for someone unacquainted with D&D to understand and appreciate what is going on. And as such the pacing of turns and elements such as enemies being invisible to you until your character becomes aware of them will baffle unacquainted users and unfortunatley be interpreted ignorantly as design flaws. Overall, the game has a pervaying sense of user-unfriendliness througout all aspects of its design. All that being said, I myself really like this game and underneath it all is a well designed and enjoyable adaptation of the dungeons and dragons game, which for a geek like me, who hasnt played the pen and paper game for well over 15 years(but, still buys and owns the core rulebooks and reads them just for fun) I can say its a game Im happy to add to my collection. It pains me to use this cliche, but its best described as... a diamond in the rough(ugh!, I know. sorry about that) Even for fans of D&D its not without some compaints, as I mentioned earlier it could use more combat feedback. the combat animations, especially for ranged attacks are sometimes difficult to decipher what is happening, thank goodness any damage done floats above a units head to let ya know if an attack hit or missed and the resulting damage. plotting the pathway you want your character to move is dependant on the orientation of the camera, which can be a little frustrating. The customization options available for the 3d models of your characters is pretty limited, but oddly once you start playing you wont notice. on the positive side, all the character artwork, such as the portraits are actually all really nice(which i have to say is a welcome change from the larger selection of ugly and worhtless portraits that appear in the excellent pc rpg neverwinter nights). Also, Its worth noting that the dialogue in the story sequences does not wait for you to press a button before advancing and moves along a tad too quickly and often disappears before you have a chance to read it. Go find that copy of the players handbook youve been keeping on your bookshelf and give yourself a quick refresher course and you will very much enjoy this purchase. I would very much like to see a sequel to this game, as it has so much potential, but unfortunately thats proably unlikely. vote with your dollars. ! Expand
  6. Ezekial
    Aug 17, 2007
    6
    I would recommend this game to D&D fans only. I wish they did something alot better, like the world map menu's and the names of things I would recommend this game to D&D fans only. I wish they did something alot better, like the world map menu's and the names of things are quite hard to understand some times. I just for lots of this game more annoying then fun. It is under par tactics game imo but then again it does have a spark of origionality. Collapse
  7. Jun 15, 2012
    3
    Major interface flaw -- why didn't the programmers add a command to call your 5 other party members to assemble when not in combat instead ofMajor interface flaw -- why didn't the programmers add a command to call your 5 other party members to assemble when not in combat instead of having to control each one turn by turn? This is an utter waste of time.

    Additionally, it's not D&D v3.5 accurate -- e.g. Monks don't get a Wisdom bonus to AC, rapiers aren't light weapons, Mage Armor stacks with any armor, etc.

    Even if this game would normally appeal to D&D fans able to overlook the other flaws, it's lack of rule authenticity will just cause frustration.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews