Dynasty Warriors PSP

  • Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2005
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidH.
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    A very good beat'm up. Fast paced action, lots of characters and lots of enemies. Some minor issues that does not affect to the gameplay. Bad if you are looking for an adventure game, tactical game or a deep history.
  2. Cameron
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    This game has got it all combos are awsome but map wastes up the screen.
  3. DanteA.
    Dec 31, 2005
    9
    this game is a ddictive...you will not i repeat not let go of this game when your used to it...with over 40 characters to choose from and great combos, who wouldnt want a fast-paced game like this...i must admit that graphics are a little bad...but the story and addiction in it offsets the graphics completely.
  4. AgimS.
    May 21, 2005
    10
    Great game.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    Being new to the series, I was blown away by the large scale conflicts and dynamic battlefields. A huge roster of warriors with their own story gives this game plenty of replay value even if the combat differences between them is less than one might hope. The map of the battlefield and the use of a supply bar give each stage a sense of scope. Gameplay is not too complex and instead allowsBeing new to the series, I was blown away by the large scale conflicts and dynamic battlefields. A huge roster of warriors with their own story gives this game plenty of replay value even if the combat differences between them is less than one might hope. The map of the battlefield and the use of a supply bar give each stage a sense of scope. Gameplay is not too complex and instead allows the player to indulge in epic battles between soldiers, captains and generals. This lack of complexity does, however, become the games biggest weakness, with the player eventually becoming bored and craving more depth. Graphically, the game disappoints, with environments and lower class soldiers looking downright embarrassing at times. Expand
  6. Psphunter
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    I think this is a 10 only mainly because i am realy good at this game and this was my frist dynasty warroirs game so now i say get it if u r good at that tybe of game and stay away if your not good.
  7. MarcD.
    Mar 26, 2005
    5
    The visuals are choppy, the controls unresponsive and the sound leaves a lot to be desired. I just couldn't get into this game.
  8. BlakeT.
    Mar 25, 2005
    5
    Don't buy this game! I repeat - don't buy this game. If you are a fan of the console versions, you will hate it. If you have never played it, you will hate it more. The game takes place on a small, TV-sized screen on the left, not taking full advantage of the PSP. Also, the graphics stink! No extra effort went into making this a great PSP game. But, the worst part of it all? Don't buy this game! I repeat - don't buy this game. If you are a fan of the console versions, you will hate it. If you have never played it, you will hate it more. The game takes place on a small, TV-sized screen on the left, not taking full advantage of the PSP. Also, the graphics stink! No extra effort went into making this a great PSP game. But, the worst part of it all? LAG! Can you believe it, the game actually lags. Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    AMAZING....better than the console games. I love the new strategic system!! Amust buy! I love mine and havent put it down in days, even though its in japanese!
  10. N!CL
    Mar 9, 2005
    5
    I have done my reaserch and this game is not so great. Obviously I haven't played it cuz imports cost too much, but this game could have been so much more (literally). They could have had a DW with a full widescreen, but instead they fill a third of the screen with status stuff and a map. They invented the little health bar in the top left corner so you wouldn't need to takeI have done my reaserch and this game is not so great. Obviously I haven't played it cuz imports cost too much, but this game could have been so much more (literally). They could have had a DW with a full widescreen, but instead they fill a third of the screen with status stuff and a map. They invented the little health bar in the top left corner so you wouldn't need to take any more room. I would guess that if your insanely in love with the series that it will be fun, but for the rest of us... just don't even bother. (Check out Wipeout Pure!!!) Expand
  11. MicroshaftWinblows
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    The game is amazing!! There's just not much more to say. it's that good!
  12. LokiStrike
    May 18, 2005
    3
    I really can't see what anyone sees in this game. A newcomer to the series, I felt like there was no point other than mindless slaughter that went on forever. I kept advancing in levels even though I had no idea what my objective was. It got traded in within a week.
  13. Mar 17, 2012
    6
    Its ugly , everything looks nasty in every way, combined with a desperate rock music as a background , makes the pace desperate and amusing. Still, the action or battles ( whatever they are ) have a nice value , and sometimes feels interesting . The AI is laughable , one of the enemies attacked me and then he stood there , starring me like 20 seconds ,after that he did that repeatedly .Its ugly , everything looks nasty in every way, combined with a desperate rock music as a background , makes the pace desperate and amusing. Still, the action or battles ( whatever they are ) have a nice value , and sometimes feels interesting . The AI is laughable , one of the enemies attacked me and then he stood there , starring me like 20 seconds ,after that he did that repeatedly . While I'm not completely pissed off or disappointed this isn't the game you want to have for your PSP . Expand
  14. May 12, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand

Awards & Rankings

#23 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
#34 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. For the promising set-up, it collapses in the heat of battle. Nearly a full third of the PSP’s screen is filled by a clumsy status display, clipping the peripheral vision that would have been so useful in the chaos of a Dynasty scrum. [Feb 2005, p.79]
  2. Weekly Famitsu
    83
    8 / 9 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Dec 2004]
  3. Diehard fans of the series will probably be pleased simply because they can take Dynasty Warriors with them everywhere, though if you haven't been impressed by the series lately, this simplified handheld installment won't do anything to reel you in.