Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. A spectacular boxing game that moves beyond a lot of the systems prior limitations.
  2. It's going to take some time to learn the ropes but there's a deep game with lots of replay value waiting for you when you become one with the control system.
  3. Don’t let any of that bad-mouthing of the control scheme deter you from buying one of the best PSP sports games available today.
  4. Play Fight Night on the PSP and enjoy it, but know that the heavyweight PS2 version is the true champ. [Apr 2006, p.78]
  5. You'll be amazed by the visuals and satisfied by how well its been converted. [Apr 2006, p.80]
  6. Some of the fights, especially early on in your career, are over with in less time than it takes to load the bout. But that aside, this is a title that is fun and addictive.
  7. Fight Night round 3 works as well as could be expected on the PSP. EA Chicago tried its best to work around the lack of the second analog stick.
  8. The portable go-anywhere nature of the PSP game makes it easy to tolerate that version's rough spots. If you like boxing, either version should make you very happy.
  9. Plagued by imbalance, the Round 3 career can serve up over 50 bouts before one goes the distance. The new stun punch – a thunderclap of a haymaker – helps to ensure first to third round knockouts for the vast majority of fights. [Apr 2006, p.82]
  10. A more exciting, more involving boxing experience than this year's PS2 game. [Apr 2006, p.90]
  11. Unfortunately, this is being docked points for its ridiculous scheme that forces you to play online or give ESPN your e-mail address. [Apr 2006, p.132]
  12. 75
    The controls do take a little to get used to but once you have mastered the controls then you are in for a treat.
  13. Depth, and oddly enough, simplicity, have been sacrificed for portability, making this a mixed bag when all is said and done.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. DonnyH.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Great boxing game. Better than some other reviews have given it credit for.
  2. Mo
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Best Game i've played on the psp... i rented it from blockbusters and i had to buy it ASAP! I've had for couple nows and it doesnt Best Game i've played on the psp... i rented it from blockbusters and i had to buy it ASAP! I've had for couple nows and it doesnt get anymore better than this.. amazing graphic, real time movement and absoluate no limitation... 9/10 thats my score. Full Review »
  3. JohnH.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    This game is one of the best PSP games on the market. Awesome graphics, great interface! From your trainer yelling to your cutman helping you This game is one of the best PSP games on the market. Awesome graphics, great interface! From your trainer yelling to your cutman helping you do battle the next round from your own honey of an entoruage who helps recover from knockdowns this game is very detailed. Only drawback is when fight ends in a TKO the game freezes and then a wide shot of the ref stepping in is not very smooth and my hands are sore from playing the game so much. Full Review »