Fight Night Round 3 PSP

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnH.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    This game is one of the best PSP games on the market. Awesome graphics, great interface! From your trainer yelling to your cutman helping you do battle the next round from your own honey of an entoruage who helps recover from knockdowns this game is very detailed. Only drawback is when fight ends in a TKO the game freezes and then a wide shot of the ref stepping in is not very smooth and This game is one of the best PSP games on the market. Awesome graphics, great interface! From your trainer yelling to your cutman helping you do battle the next round from your own honey of an entoruage who helps recover from knockdowns this game is very detailed. Only drawback is when fight ends in a TKO the game freezes and then a wide shot of the ref stepping in is not very smooth and my hands are sore from playing the game so much. Expand
  2. DonnyH.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Great boxing game. Better than some other reviews have given it credit for.
  3. RobertD.
    Feb 22, 2006
    8
    When I first put the game in, I was shocked by how good it looked. These are some of the best graphics I have seen on the PSP. Ther action is fast, the controls are responsive and the fighting is fierce. Though the PSP has a limited number of "real" boxers, it lacks nothing in the "Create a Boxer" mode. I easily give this game an 8.9 and with a larger stable of boxers, it could have When I first put the game in, I was shocked by how good it looked. These are some of the best graphics I have seen on the PSP. Ther action is fast, the controls are responsive and the fighting is fierce. Though the PSP has a limited number of "real" boxers, it lacks nothing in the "Create a Boxer" mode. I easily give this game an 8.9 and with a larger stable of boxers, it could have easily scored in the high 9's. Buy this game. Expand
  4. Mo
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Best Game i've played on the psp... i rented it from blockbusters and i had to buy it ASAP! I've had for couple nows and it doesnt get anymore better than this.. amazing graphic, real time movement and absoluate no limitation... 9/10 thats my score.
  5. RoyJ.
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    a must have if you like fighting non button mashers. i noticed the controls were easier to master and the frame rate was satisfying. Graphics seemed to pop out nicely and the boxers looked great! boxer lineup could have been better. i enjoy the feel of the punches and haymakers. hate to admit it but this game's staying in my psp drive. i actually like not having to use the dual a must have if you like fighting non button mashers. i noticed the controls were easier to master and the frame rate was satisfying. Graphics seemed to pop out nicely and the boxers looked great! boxer lineup could have been better. i enjoy the feel of the punches and haymakers. hate to admit it but this game's staying in my psp drive. i actually like not having to use the dual analog that way i can concentrate on timing my jukes and blocks for counter punches. a perfect psp addition because of the pick up and play feel. response is pretty good sice it seems faster pace than it's older brother.even if your not a boxing fan ....heck who isn't a boxing fan?if you're a fight night gamer always on the go, this a great addition to your psp hardware! Expand
  6. JoseM.
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    A must have game, the best grapics I have seen yet on psp system, The action is real, the boxers look Great. If you love boxing you must go out and get this game right now if you dont already have.
  7. JohnJ.
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    Compared to its consle counterparts, the boxing is smooth. This is one of the best games for PSP to date. Create a boxer and get ready for some serious play time.
  8. JohnL.
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    i was sceptical since i also own the console version of this game. I really enjoyed the button layout. Bottom line. i can consentrate on my combos instead of moving an analog corrrectly. The intensity battles if set to (medium and up) is quite challenging. the boxers pop out nicely on the lcd and it's very clear when parrying a blow or just ducking, I like the sense of momentum. onto i was sceptical since i also own the console version of this game. I really enjoyed the button layout. Bottom line. i can consentrate on my combos instead of moving an analog corrrectly. The intensity battles if set to (medium and up) is quite challenging. the boxers pop out nicely on the lcd and it's very clear when parrying a blow or just ducking, I like the sense of momentum. onto the interface. the lag is barrable but overall the game play is smooth like butter. (maybe a little too fast. The Ai seems to copy the actual boxer's fighting styles. This game had depth finally a psp game i can pick up and play. the create a boxer mode is straight from the console (sculpting features). overall i really enjoy this fighting sim for what it is. even if you are not a boxing fan. Wi fi 2 bucks is nothing.... This is where it gets personal. a bit of lag (depending on connection) but i hear this will be perfected. it's fun learning other fighters' styles. this is huge! real quick to connect. a true gem for the first time around. because i'm always on the road i've been playing this version over my xbox version. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 70
    Despite the pick-up-and-play allure, Fight Night Round 3 can quickly tire out of frustration. The PSP's limited number and close-proximity of its buttons don't do this boxer justice--fitting jabs, hooks, uppercuts, blocks, clinches, special moves, taunts, etc. for fast access just doesn't work well on the system.
  2. A spectacular boxing game that moves beyond a lot of the systems prior limitations.
  3. Some of the fights, especially early on in your career, are over with in less time than it takes to load the bout. But that aside, this is a title that is fun and addictive.