User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    This is another case of a definitive version of a Final Fantasy classic game, much like the PSP rerelease of FF1 (and FF4, which came out recently). The game looks great and improves upon the original version in every way needed. This Final Fantasy is also interesting in that the leveling up is completely unique and different from what is standard in RPGs and Final Fantasys alike. InsteadThis is another case of a definitive version of a Final Fantasy classic game, much like the PSP rerelease of FF1 (and FF4, which came out recently). The game looks great and improves upon the original version in every way needed. This Final Fantasy is also interesting in that the leveling up is completely unique and different from what is standard in RPGs and Final Fantasys alike. Instead of gaining overall experience points and gaining a level after a specific amount has been obtained, the player improves based on what they are using (ie: your hit points increase if you get hit, your strength goes up if you attack, etc). This can be frustrating, especially when you are given a new 4th party member repeatedly who is vastly behind the curve. This is a unique title that is worth a look but might not be for everyone. Thankfully, the difficulty has been scaled back slightly to make things both more accessible and more fun. Expand
  2. KieranSinclair
    Dec 26, 2008
    7
    Here we go again with another remake of a remake, with slightly better rendering this time. This game is something of a rip off to buy at the shop, telling us that Square Enix is getting greedy. A better idea would be to sell a 2-disc set along with the original game, or even better put both games on one disc! Beside all this if you get over the simplicity of the game it is a great one forHere we go again with another remake of a remake, with slightly better rendering this time. This game is something of a rip off to buy at the shop, telling us that Square Enix is getting greedy. A better idea would be to sell a 2-disc set along with the original game, or even better put both games on one disc! Beside all this if you get over the simplicity of the game it is a great one for the road with minimal loding time Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2010
    6
    My first impressions of this game were that the story actually existed this time, and the experience system was changed, as in it was gone. There isn't XP this time, it's a weirder system that works, but you have to get used to it. A lot of reviewers score this game lower than other RPGs because of it, but I don't think it's that big of an issue. In contrast to the first game, FinalMy first impressions of this game were that the story actually existed this time, and the experience system was changed, as in it was gone. There isn't XP this time, it's a weirder system that works, but you have to get used to it. A lot of reviewers score this game lower than other RPGs because of it, but I don't think it's that big of an issue. In contrast to the first game, Final Fantasy II is a lot easier. I beat the end boss on my first try, so obviously I didn't have much grinding to do and that was refreshing. I can't say that everyone's going to enjoy FFII, but I think it's worth a shot if you want to take a look at the evolution of the RPG. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    8
    Final Fantasy 2 Dawn of Souls is truly worth the experience. If you are a huge fan of the Final Fantasy series, this game should be played by all fans, if you are a RPG fan in general but not a huge Final Fantasy fan, take this game with caution as it is actually best suited for those who have a lot of time and patience to grind.
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Final Fantasy II is an enhanced remake of the original Final Fantasy II on the NES and the 2nd Final Fantasy on the PSP system.

    Story: The story starts with 4 friends (Firion, Maria, Guy, Leon) being hunted by the Palamecian Emperor and getting nearly slaughtered, while barely escaping with their lives, they wake up in the house of the resistance with only Maria's brother Leon missing,
    Final Fantasy II is an enhanced remake of the original Final Fantasy II on the NES and the 2nd Final Fantasy on the PSP system.

    Story:
    The story starts with 4 friends (Firion, Maria, Guy, Leon) being hunted by the Palamecian Emperor and getting nearly slaughtered, while barely escaping with their lives, they wake up in the house of the resistance with only Maria's brother Leon missing, the story starts from here on out, trying to thwart the Emperor and toppling him.

    Gameplay:
    The game plays like any other Final Fantasy, running around in towns talking to people gets you information while traversing the overworld or some of the many dungeons gets you into fights with monsters, a feature not seen in any other Final Fantasy game however is the level-up system, in my opinion a pain in the back...

    The system works by increasing whatever you're using the most, say you attack a lot, then your Strength/Weapon Proficiency go up, if you cast Blizzard a lot, your MP/Intelligence/Blizzard spell will go up, etc etc... the problem with this system is that you'll need a lot of grinding getting your characters where you want them to be, fun for some, not so much for others...

    There's also a new kind of conversation system, where someone would say something important (marked in red) and as a response you can "Learn" that keyword, later asking other characters about this keyword, in turn they might provide you another one, some keywords progress the story or give answers to plot questions.

    Last but not least, there is some extra content in the Shrine of Souls and the Arcane Labyrinth.

    Controls:
    Everything you expect from a first generation Final Fantasy game, movement is mapped to the D-Pad and the Analog stick does nothing as do the shoulder buttons on their own, however if you press R1 O you open the world map, triangle opens the menu and X usually gets you talking or has you inputting commands while O cancels stuff.
    I do kinda regret you cannot walk diagonally, I'm assuming it was too much of a hassle to change from the original NES version

    Graphics:
    The graphics have gotten a much improved bump from the original and a crispier look then the PS1/GBA versions, all characters have their own distinct look, the overworld looks a lot better and everything just looks right!

    Music:
    Another bump in the music department, from the NES version it's a big step, from the PS1/GBA version, it's kinda the same music but better quality, the tracks from Nobuo Uematsu are as strong as ever and come to life with the better quality, there's even some added tracks not found in the original NES version.

    Positives:
    + Battles are fun typical FF style.
    + The music has gotten even better with the enhanced treatment.
    + The game looks better then ever!
    + Extra content

    Negatives:
    - The level-up system is horrendous...
    - Barebones story, I know this is just the story from the NES, but extra narrative would be nice.

    Conclusion:
    Worth a play as a Final Fantasy fan, but surely the weakest of the main series, while Firion and the Emperor are strong characters to keep you going, for me the flaws of the leveling system overweighs all.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2015
    5
    *taps desk while sighing heavily* So Final Fantasy 2 supposedly the only Final Fantasy game in existence to be considered worse then Final Fantasy 13...do I agree with that...NO but is it my favorite game ever ....again NO

    But why well let's find out First off the good: 1.Graphics just like FF1 the sprite work is SUPERB 2.The Music BY GOD THIS SOUNDTRACK IS SOOOOOO GOOD 3.The
    *taps desk while sighing heavily* So Final Fantasy 2 supposedly the only Final Fantasy game in existence to be considered worse then Final Fantasy 13...do I agree with that...NO but is it my favorite game ever ....again NO

    But why well let's find out

    First off the good:
    1.Graphics just like FF1 the sprite work is SUPERB
    2.The Music BY GOD THIS SOUNDTRACK IS SOOOOOO GOOD
    3.The Story is a different departure

    THEN THE BAD:
    1. Completley backwords character development system
    FOr example to raise your agility and HP you need to take damage understandable right
    YES
    But basic mooks don't deal a hole lot of damage
    which means *builds up screaming voice*
    YOU HAVE TO BEAT UP YOUR OWN FRIGGING PARTY MEMBERS TO INCREASE THEIR HP
    UGGGGHHHHHHH

    2. The bonus dungeons are open from the very beginning and are centered around the key phrases you know at the time (which are only 3 making it unwinnable as of now)
    Even better due to the way the entrances are placed on the overworld map you'd think "oh to get through to the other side of the mountain I just go through here fight some mooks and be on my way" NO YOUR WRONG when in fact the real way to go is just slightly to the left

    3.TEDIOUS GRINDING
    now this is another common complaint that I do and don't agree with due to the level up system there is so much grinding it puts FF5 and FF8 to shame

    ALl in all this game isn't horrid but it's not amazing either but I still had a good time with it so you know go ahead and buy it you might like it yourself

    NORMAL SCORE: 6.0/10.0
    METACRITIC SCORE(If I could give an official one): 66/100
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    This is definitely one of those rather "different" final fantasy games. This game probably plays more like the saga series, but with a linear storyline that most final fantasy games come with. There's a couple additions that add some new flavor to the game but for the most part not much has changed from the gba version.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. 80
    These complaints aside, Final Fantasy II is yet another great addition to the PSP's slowly improving library and really shows off the care and attention that Square Enix puts into its remakes. [Aug 2007, p.88]
  2. Ultimately, Square Enix really ought to have put this and the first game on one UMD... [Aug 2007, p.82]
  3. 50
    While the storyline and plot are more exciting than what we saw in the original Final Fantasy, the rest of the game is pretty damn bland, with the soundtrack being the game's one glimmering moment.