Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    95
    At the mere mention of the name Final Fantasy IV, I was all over the opportunity to review this game. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy of all time and easily one of the greatest RPGs ever made. It has memorable characters, awesome music and a story that is truly exceptional. You would be crazy not to pick up the Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection for PSP. Doesn't matter if you've played it a few times or a hundred, this is a RPG for the ages.
  2. May 3, 2011
    90
    This game contains one of the best Final Fantay games with an epic story and soundtrack. The gameplay is traditional and can be really challenging, still it's probably one of the best Final Fantasy compilations of the past years. There isn't one bad aspect of the classic game, instant buy.
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    90
    Final Fantasy IV: Complete Collection is exactly what the long-time followers desire, even if the control shows its age and The After Years isn't the timeless classic FFIV will always be.
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    If you haven't enjoyed this game before, this is the best way to discover the most influential game in the series.
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    90
    Clearly, Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is the ultimate purchase for Final Fantasy IV fans. Even if you're already experienced with the core Final Fantasy IV experience, there's still so much to see and do here that it'll be hard not jump back in.
  6. Apr 8, 2011
    90
    Final Fantasy IV celebrates his 20th birthday with this gorgeous collection, that includes a "new look version" of the original game, The After Years sequel, a new section called Interlude and a lot of bonus materials that will drive you crazy.
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    88
    There has never been a better time to jump on the FFIV bandwagon. The extras and lower price point more than justifies the content and quality in this collection. More added value is included with the purchase of the game as it ships with a download code for Dissidia 012: Duodecim (a new skin for Cecil) and character cards. Fans and newcomers should eat this one up.
  8. May 15, 2011
    85
    Overall, Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is a solid package, especially with an MSRP of $29.99. Even though it isn't the definitive version of the game, it is a solid way into the franchise and the best way to experience The After Years.
  9. Apr 19, 2011
    85
    Final Fantasy IV's latest collection is very much what the name says - a compilation of every chapter seen so far, including the original storyline and also The After Years. There's a cheap Interlude that last for three of four hours and a couple artworks that just make it. It's the 'definitive' collection, and thus the better choise to pick for those willing to enjoy the real JRPG essence.
  10. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    If you've somehow managed to overlook Final Fantasy IV over its numerous incarnations, this is the best way to get the whole experience. Though not every facet is airtight, The Complete Collection is an addictive mix of traditional RPG mechanics, character-focused narrative, and pure nostalgia.
  11. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    If you've never experienced old school Final Fantasy, this is the perfect way to get acquainted.
  12. May 25, 2011
    84
    Regardless of how may iterations of Final Fantasy IV you have played over the years, this one lives up to its namesake. It is indeed the most complete collection of the Final Fantasy IV experience that has been released yet.
  13. May 25, 2011
    83
    No matter whether you were there from the beginning or just now playing the game for the time, Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection has something for everybody. With its action-packed story, memorable characters and strong narrative, there's a reason people continue to celebrate this game twenty years later. Even though the bonus content doesn't come close to matching the original game, there's more than enough to love about this $30 collection!
  14. Apr 21, 2011
    83
    Nothing new, but what's here it's top notch, from the Active Time Battle System to the gloomy story of Cecil. Don't miss it if you're a JRPG fanatic.
  15. May 9, 2011
    82
    Final Fantasy IV was a game I thoroughly enjoyed as it brought back many fond memories I had of playing the game on the PSone and the DS. Not much has changed but for fans who have held out or sat on the fence about giving it a try, this game is the only FFIV game you'll need for good ol' Final Fantasy nostalgia.
  16. Apr 27, 2011
    82
    Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is a fantastic package for those that haven't played the game before.
  17. May 8, 2011
    81
    Well worth it for RPG newcomers or diehards wanting to complete their FF lore. [June 2011, p.85]
  18. May 24, 2011
    80
    There may be some disappointment at the lack of new content, but the inclusion of The After Years and the high-resolution visuals make Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection a great release for the PSP.
  19. An involving story. [June 2011, p.103]
  20. May 10, 2011
    80
    FF IV, one of the best episodes of the Final Fantasy saga, is back in top shape, offering the original game, visually remade, its followup, and a brand new "Interlude" scenario linking the two. And you will enjoy this complete story with beautifully redesigned graphics. Those who have already experienced the first FF IV may wonder if it's worth replaying it again... but if you're a really big fan, we'll say yes!
  21. May 10, 2011
    80
    Final Fantasy IV is still one of the best game in the series. The expansions and visual improvements turn this edition into the ultimate edition of this gorgeous game – at least for those who take a gameplay experience over the visuals.
  22. May 5, 2011
    80
    A massive, beautifully collected, exceptional value for money anthology of the Final Fantasy IV universe, yet one that will do nothing to convert non-FF fans.
  23. 80
    The best and most definitive way to play the game.
  24. 80
    The best-yet version of Final Fantasy IV.
  25. May 2, 2011
    80
    Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is the perfect compendium for one the most appreciated titles of the franchise, three games in one that stands the test of time.
  26. Apr 28, 2011
    80
    Final Fantasy IV's gripping story and fast-paced combat make this sizeable collection fun from start to finish.
  27. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    For those that haven't played the game before, then Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is a fantastic package that contains one of the greatest RPGs to grace the Super Nintendo and its two not-as-great sequels.
  28. Apr 22, 2011
    80
    FFIV on PSP is a delicious remake with tons of options. Too bad the character design is meh.
  29. Apr 21, 2011
    80
    A fine achievement. [Issue#204, p.88]
  30. Apr 19, 2011
    80
    FFIV stands completely on its own so if you look at it as a PSP release of one of the greatest RPGs with some extra bonus content thrown in, it's an easy sell.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    This is the definitive version of Final Fantasy IV, despite The After Years and Interlude not being quite as good as the original classic RPG.This is the definitive version of Final Fantasy IV, despite The After Years and Interlude not being quite as good as the original classic RPG. I found the DS version of FFIV to be entertaining, but the graphic style just didn't do it for me, and I feel that since this PSP rerelease is a more refined 2D art style, it is the more visually appealing game between the two. The actual FFIV still holds up and this is the best version of it with extras for fans (viewing the extra games as extras here) Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Before I begin, let me establish my background as a gamer. I started at 8 ('84) with a nes, but didn't get into the rpg scene until aboutBefore I begin, let me establish my background as a gamer. I started at 8 ('84) with a nes, but didn't get into the rpg scene until about 2005 with FFX on PS2 and also played about 1/4 way through FFXII. I've played about 80% of all zelda titles, and plan on completing all of them, as well as the FF series. That is why these PSP remakes are a Godsend. The extremely crisp updated graphics make every town an absoulte pleasure to explore, and the level of detail doesn't leave much for the imagination to correct - no hard, jagged 8-bit style steps here, just crisp, rounded edges. As far as gameplay, I'm am absolutely thrilled it is all intact and untouched so because I get to experience what made it a classic in the first place. All in all, if you missed out first time round, get all the psp remakes, and if you don't have a psp, then this should be reason enough. Peace yall. Full Review »
  3. Jan 4, 2015
    6
    The combat I found to be very standard, really nothing to get excited about.
    The story I really loved, until I didn't. Without going into
    The combat I found to be very standard, really nothing to get excited about.
    The story I really loved, until I didn't. Without going into spoilers, quite a ways into the game the pull a few "Just kidding! They didn't REALLY die!" cards in a row. It just took all of the emotional impact out of the game for me as anytime anything bad happened I was just waiting for it because they did it so many times.
    Also, I only really cared for the original IV. IV-2 & 3 were both just quite lackluster and I didn't even bother finishing 3 after about 20 hours spent on it.
    IV is worth getting and playing through if you've played many other Final Fantasy titles and would like to see the rest.
    Full Review »