Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    95
    At the mere mention of the name Final Fantasy IV, I was all over the opportunity to review this game. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy of all time and easily one of the greatest RPGs ever made. It has memorable characters, awesome music and a story that is truly exceptional. You would be crazy not to pick up the Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection for PSP. Doesn't matter if you've played it a few times or a hundred, this is a RPG for the ages.
  2. May 3, 2011
    90
    This game contains one of the best Final Fantay games with an epic story and soundtrack. The gameplay is traditional and can be really challenging, still it's probably one of the best Final Fantasy compilations of the past years. There isn't one bad aspect of the classic game, instant buy.
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    90
    Final Fantasy IV: Complete Collection is exactly what the long-time followers desire, even if the control shows its age and The After Years isn't the timeless classic FFIV will always be.
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    If you haven't enjoyed this game before, this is the best way to discover the most influential game in the series.
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    90
    Clearly, Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is the ultimate purchase for Final Fantasy IV fans. Even if you're already experienced with the core Final Fantasy IV experience, there's still so much to see and do here that it'll be hard not jump back in.
  6. Apr 8, 2011
    90
    Final Fantasy IV celebrates his 20th birthday with this gorgeous collection, that includes a "new look version" of the original game, The After Years sequel, a new section called Interlude and a lot of bonus materials that will drive you crazy.
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    88
    There has never been a better time to jump on the FFIV bandwagon. The extras and lower price point more than justifies the content and quality in this collection. More added value is included with the purchase of the game as it ships with a download code for Dissidia 012: Duodecim (a new skin for Cecil) and character cards. Fans and newcomers should eat this one up.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Before I begin, let me establish my background as a gamer. I started at 8 ('84) with a nes, but didn't get into the rpg scene until about 2005 with FFX on PS2 and also played about 1/4 way through FFXII. I've played about 80% of all zelda titles, and plan on completing all of them, as well as the FF series. That is why these PSP remakes are a Godsend. The extremely crisp updated graphics make every town an absoulte pleasure to explore, and the level of detail doesn't leave much for the imagination to correct - no hard, jagged 8-bit style steps here, just crisp, rounded edges. As far as gameplay, I'm am absolutely thrilled it is all intact and untouched so because I get to experience what made it a classic in the first place. All in all, if you missed out first time round, get all the psp remakes, and if you don't have a psp, then this should be reason enough. Peace yall. Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    A wonder game. Updated sprites an interlude and and new content. This iteration is the kind of reboot this generation of FFs need. They did it with I and II and I am glad they did it to IV. Now we just need a PC version. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    This is the definitive version of Final Fantasy IV, despite The After Years and Interlude not being quite as good as the original classic RPG. I found the DS version of FFIV to be entertaining, but the graphic style just didn't do it for me, and I feel that since this PSP rerelease is a more refined 2D art style, it is the more visually appealing game between the two. The actual FFIV still holds up and this is the best version of it with extras for fans (viewing the extra games as extras here) Full Review »