User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 56
  2. Negative: 6 out of 56

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    Final Fantasy IV is an amazing game, often considered one of the best RPGs of all time. The Comple Collection on PSP not only offers a remastered version of the original game, but it also includes Final Fantasy IV: The After Years and The Interlude, which links the story of the two games. Now, I'm not saying that The AFter Years and The Interlude are amazing games, but I'm giving thisFinal Fantasy IV is an amazing game, often considered one of the best RPGs of all time. The Comple Collection on PSP not only offers a remastered version of the original game, but it also includes Final Fantasy IV: The After Years and The Interlude, which links the story of the two games. Now, I'm not saying that The AFter Years and The Interlude are amazing games, but I'm giving this collection a 10 because of the original game. For any fan that wants to play full story of the 4th entry in the series, or anyone who wants to try it, get this. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    A wonder game. Updated sprites an interlude and and new content. This iteration is the kind of reboot this generation of FFs need. They did it with I and II and I am glad they did it to IV. Now we just need a PC version.
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    This is the definitive version of Final Fantasy IV, despite The After Years and Interlude not being quite as good as the original classic RPG. I found the DS version of FFIV to be entertaining, but the graphic style just didn't do it for me, and I feel that since this PSP rerelease is a more refined 2D art style, it is the more visually appealing game between the two. The actual FFIV stillThis is the definitive version of Final Fantasy IV, despite The After Years and Interlude not being quite as good as the original classic RPG. I found the DS version of FFIV to be entertaining, but the graphic style just didn't do it for me, and I feel that since this PSP rerelease is a more refined 2D art style, it is the more visually appealing game between the two. The actual FFIV still holds up and this is the best version of it with extras for fans (viewing the extra games as extras here) Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    0
    Was having so much fun up to the Interlude, what is that garbage? Reminds me of that horrible addon to the PSP Final Fantasy II. Just another frustrating Square Enix filler. I really don't like Square after these silly handheld games. I give it a 0 just for that ridiculous part.
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    I would rate it higher but I really feel that some of it could have been more polished for the remake. I actually got this for my vita and believe that its a truly epic game. No experience with the game is the same. I experimented with equipment, made tactics to get the most gill, explored and found myself really happy with the whole game. There is so much for me to do and it feels like aI would rate it higher but I really feel that some of it could have been more polished for the remake. I actually got this for my vita and believe that its a truly epic game. No experience with the game is the same. I experimented with equipment, made tactics to get the most gill, explored and found myself really happy with the whole game. There is so much for me to do and it feels like a huge game. If you love RPG's... buy this. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Final Fantasy IV Complete Collection is amazing enhanced collection pack made by Squareenix. It contains a fully fledged High resolution remake of Final Fantasy IV, a Prologue story which is exclusive to the PSP version and a Remake of the Wii VC's FFIV After Years. No matter how much it costs, this game is worth it as it will be a great purchase for old FF Fans and lovers of the FinalFinal Fantasy IV Complete Collection is amazing enhanced collection pack made by Squareenix. It contains a fully fledged High resolution remake of Final Fantasy IV, a Prologue story which is exclusive to the PSP version and a Remake of the Wii VC's FFIV After Years. No matter how much it costs, this game is worth it as it will be a great purchase for old FF Fans and lovers of the Final Fantasy IV Fandom. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    An good traditional final fantasy game with a decent story, reasonable combat and this edition with the interlude and the after years story makes this a nearly 50 hour title. The only bad points are it's a little to easy and it seems like some characters sacrifice themselves without reason.
  8. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Still one of the best Final Fantasy games. The improved music still sounds great, the graphics have been enhanced, but the extra stuff just isn't that good. It provides some backstory, but that's it, really.
  9. Mar 12, 2012
    8
    Now THIS is a proper remake of a classic game. While it does have its quirks, and a few glitches (I walked through a few walls and managed to walk on the ocean at one point in addition to some grammar mistakes), the game's timelessness is well-preserved and the classic feel of it is retained with a fresh coat of paint applied with the updated graphics. If anyone has not played the originalNow THIS is a proper remake of a classic game. While it does have its quirks, and a few glitches (I walked through a few walls and managed to walk on the ocean at one point in addition to some grammar mistakes), the game's timelessness is well-preserved and the classic feel of it is retained with a fresh coat of paint applied with the updated graphics. If anyone has not played the original FF IV on the SNES or the poor port on the GBA, then by all means, this is the definitive version to pick up. Highly recommended! Expand
  10. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    If you are new to turn-based RPGS, this might be the best introduction to the genre for a portable system. After many, many years, I finally revisited my very first RPG remake and had a wonderful time playing it and its new successors. I was maybe 6 at the time playing on a emulator. Despite all the wonderful new games out there now, I still rather sat down and enjoyed this piece of history.
  11. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Before I begin, let me establish my background as a gamer. I started at 8 ('84) with a nes, but didn't get into the rpg scene until about 2005 with FFX on PS2 and also played about 1/4 way through FFXII. I've played about 80% of all zelda titles, and plan on completing all of them, as well as the FF series. That is why these PSP remakes are a Godsend. The extremely crisp updatedBefore I begin, let me establish my background as a gamer. I started at 8 ('84) with a nes, but didn't get into the rpg scene until about 2005 with FFX on PS2 and also played about 1/4 way through FFXII. I've played about 80% of all zelda titles, and plan on completing all of them, as well as the FF series. That is why these PSP remakes are a Godsend. The extremely crisp updated graphics make every town an absoulte pleasure to explore, and the level of detail doesn't leave much for the imagination to correct - no hard, jagged 8-bit style steps here, just crisp, rounded edges. As far as gameplay, I'm am absolutely thrilled it is all intact and untouched so because I get to experience what made it a classic in the first place. All in all, if you missed out first time round, get all the psp remakes, and if you don't have a psp, then this should be reason enough. Peace yall. Expand
  12. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is amazing! I realize that it isn't as hard as the other Final Fantasy's, that hasn't been changed, but it doesn't have to be. The graphics are absolutely amazing, both in and out of battle, and the story is very well put together. But as always, the world map is where it's at. The world map is huge, and complex enough to make you have to search,Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is amazing! I realize that it isn't as hard as the other Final Fantasy's, that hasn't been changed, but it doesn't have to be. The graphics are absolutely amazing, both in and out of battle, and the story is very well put together. But as always, the world map is where it's at. The world map is huge, and complex enough to make you have to search, but not so complex as to leave saving and quitting in the middle of nowhere. This game is amazing, even better than Dissidia 012, and is one of the best games on the PSP. If you get any PSP game this year, this is the one to get. If you like RPG's you will absolutely adore this. If you don't like RPG's you will still love it, because it is absolutely stunning. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    65
    As a historical piece, it is practically unparalleled. As a modern game, it is rife with issues that would never be tolerated. In the end, it is a great addition for fans and collectors, but of very little value to new gamers.
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    95
    At the mere mention of the name Final Fantasy IV, I was all over the opportunity to review this game. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy of all time and easily one of the greatest RPGs ever made. It has memorable characters, awesome music and a story that is truly exceptional. You would be crazy not to pick up the Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection for PSP. Doesn't matter if you've played it a few times or a hundred, this is a RPG for the ages.
  3. May 25, 2011
    84
    Regardless of how may iterations of Final Fantasy IV you have played over the years, this one lives up to its namesake. It is indeed the most complete collection of the Final Fantasy IV experience that has been released yet.