Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy IV: Complete Collection contains both Final Fantasy IV and The After Years in one collection.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    95
    At the mere mention of the name Final Fantasy IV, I was all over the opportunity to review this game. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy of all time and easily one of the greatest RPGs ever made. It has memorable characters, awesome music and a story that is truly exceptional. You would be crazy not to pick up the Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection for PSP. Doesn't matter if you've played it a few times or a hundred, this is a RPG for the ages.
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    90
    Final Fantasy IV celebrates his 20th birthday with this gorgeous collection, that includes a "new look version" of the original game, The After Years sequel, a new section called Interlude and a lot of bonus materials that will drive you crazy.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    If you've never experienced old school Final Fantasy, this is the perfect way to get acquainted.
  4. Apr 28, 2011
    80
    Final Fantasy IV's gripping story and fast-paced combat make this sizeable collection fun from start to finish.
  5. May 10, 2011
    80
    Final Fantasy IV is still one of the best game in the series. The expansions and visual improvements turn this edition into the ultimate edition of this gorgeous game – at least for those who take a gameplay experience over the visuals.
  6. May 23, 2011
    75
    That said, FFIV is still one of the best RPGs of all time, and if you STILL haven't played it and don't own a DS, now is your chance. Even without the graphical update, the greatness of the game shines through and is one of those that everyone should play before they die.
  7. May 12, 2011
    42
    FFIV is still the same ol' game, as classic and playable as ever, but SE expecting you to pay for it once again (along with the joke that is Interlude and the hit-or-miss After Years) is outright greedy.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    If you are new to turn-based RPGS, this might be the best introduction to the genre for a portable system. After many, many years, I finally revisited my very first RPG remake and had a wonderful time playing it and its new successors. I was maybe 6 at the time playing on a emulator. Despite all the wonderful new games out there now, I still rather sat down and enjoyed this piece of history. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    A wonder game. Updated sprites an interlude and and new content. This iteration is the kind of reboot this generation of FFs need. They did it with I and II and I am glad they did it to IV. Now we just need a PC version. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Before I begin, let me establish my background as a gamer. I started at 8 ('84) with a nes, but didn't get into the rpg scene until about 2005 with FFX on PS2 and also played about 1/4 way through FFXII. I've played about 80% of all zelda titles, and plan on completing all of them, as well as the FF series. That is why these PSP remakes are a Godsend. The extremely crisp updated graphics make every town an absoulte pleasure to explore, and the level of detail doesn't leave much for the imagination to correct - no hard, jagged 8-bit style steps here, just crisp, rounded edges. As far as gameplay, I'm am absolutely thrilled it is all intact and untouched so because I get to experience what made it a classic in the first place. All in all, if you missed out first time round, get all the psp remakes, and if you don't have a psp, then this should be reason enough. Peace yall. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Final Fantasy IV Complete Collection is amazing enhanced collection pack made by Squareenix. It contains a fully fledged High resolution remake of Final Fantasy IV, a Prologue story which is exclusive to the PSP version and a Remake of the Wii VC's FFIV After Years. No matter how much it costs, this game is worth it as it will be a great purchase for old FF Fans and lovers of the Final Fantasy IV Fandom. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    I would rate it higher but I really feel that some of it could have been more polished for the remake. I actually got this for my vita and believe that its a truly epic game. No experience with the game is the same. I experimented with equipment, made tactics to get the most gill, explored and found myself really happy with the whole game. There is so much for me to do and it feels like a huge game. If you love RPG's... buy this. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    An good traditional final fantasy game with a decent story, reasonable combat and this edition with the interlude and the after years story makes this a nearly 50 hour title. The only bad points are it's a little to easy and it seems like some characters sacrifice themselves without reason. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    0
    Was having so much fun up to the Interlude, what is that garbage? Reminds me of that horrible addon to the PSP Final Fantasy II. Just another frustrating Square Enix filler. I really don't like Square after these silly handheld games. I give it a 0 just for that ridiculous part. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?