Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2007 PSP Game of the Year] Originally released in 1997, Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions is a portable update on the classic turn-based strategy game that gave birth to the world of Ivalice. In development exclusively for the PSP system, FINAL FANTASY TACTICS: The[Metacritic's 2007 PSP Game of the Year] Originally released in 1997, Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions is a portable update on the classic turn-based strategy game that gave birth to the world of Ivalice. In development exclusively for the PSP system, FINAL FANTASY TACTICS: The Lion War features PSP system exclusive content not found on the original classic including all-new CG sequences, all-new jobs, new 16:9 widescreen presentation, new head-to-head multiplayer and new storyline elements that refine the genesis of the IVALICE ALLIANCE. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    The core tactical gameplay is the real gem here, and its quality still shines 10 years after its first release. It's grinding, demanding gameplay that presumes a level of dedication and competence that many modern games don't, and it's all the better for it.
  2. Combine its lengthy single-player experience with the new co-op and head-to-head modes, and you can’t help but love this classic reborn.
  3. A true PSP system seller if ever there was one. The sheer amount of content coupled with the in depth battle system and epic story provide a game that will keep you busy on-the-go for months.
  4. With more than seventy hours of tactical RPG battling, intricately woven story and an army of characters to build up, Final Fantasy Tactics is an immensely addictive and rewarding experience, even for those who managed to import a copy of the PSone original.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    89
    Epic, tactical and polished - this will work your brain. [Nov 2007, p.82]
  6. Hardcore Gamer
    85
    While the flow of battles are definitely slower by today's gaming standards, the strategic depth is still far better than most games released today. [Nov 2007, p.60]
  7. 70
    War of the Lions is a good game, but players who've never played Final Fantasy Tactics might find it a bit old and cumbersome, while veterans may find the new game a little scant on new content.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time and THE best game on the PSP hands down. The story is like no other, it grabs you from start to finishOne of the greatest games of all time and THE best game on the PSP hands down. The story is like no other, it grabs you from start to finish and the endearing characters make you cling to their every move. 10/10 Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2015
    10
    One of Square Enix masterpieces. No other RPG besides Tactics Ogre, had such a complex and deep story. One of the most complex games ever madeOne of Square Enix masterpieces. No other RPG besides Tactics Ogre, had such a complex and deep story. One of the most complex games ever made in terms of classes, abilities, equipment and real time tactics. A full exploitation of the Final Fantasy Universe, but with the most sanguinary, greedy and power seeking story posible ever written on any RPG. A must, a jewel and a visionary video game. I still cannot believe why a sequel to the WOTL have never been consider, and its a true deception the way Square Enix has developed since that era, when this game and FF VII ruled the world. Expand
  3. CharlieM
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Let us see, I have sunk 190 hours into and I am still finding things to do, the replayability borders into the insane, The main story willLet us see, I have sunk 190 hours into and I am still finding things to do, the replayability borders into the insane, The main story will take about 30 or so hours to complete, then level your party to 99 takes quite a bit of time. Finally getting Mastered Dark Knight is one of the greater feats of this game. A level 8 Onion Knight is the other. A master of magics with an Arithimatics special ability.There is just so much to do after you beat the game, there is even an added dungeon called Midlight's Deep where you can learn the fabled Zodiarc summon. A new multiplayer mode with hundreds of great items, some exclusive. Grab a friend and play, or for the extremely hardcore, just get a second psp, maybe you need an upgrade anyways? If you are a completionist this game will keep your plate full for a long long time. Anyone who gives this game an actual zero is just plain ignorant, especially if they claim this game was their favorite game. This was one of my favorite games from the Psone and I welcomed the new victorian english dialogue, it made the playthrough more interesting, instead of guessing every line. I enjoyed 12 as well, props to putting in *Spoilers* Balthier! *Spoilers* Anyways if you give it anything less then like a 4 you are just plain donkey and an attention who.re trying to purposely bring one of the greatests games of all times rating down just because you can. Expand
  4. GautamM
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    Ok i have played a whole lotta srpgs...disgaea,jda,ffta...i tried playing fft for the the 1st time and it just irritated me...the graphics Ok i have played a whole lotta srpgs...disgaea,jda,ffta...i tried playing fft for the the 1st time and it just irritated me...the graphics werent half as good as disgaea or jdc,the gameplay seemed too tedious blah blah blah..i actually gave it a chance for a long long LONG time...i would have quit most other games a long time ago..but when i finally got the hang of it...i cudnt put it down...the job system,the storyline and com to think of it..even the watered down graphics seemed to charm me in ways i didnt think it cud...love this game...very hard and yet very addictive...could have been more streamlined and made up to date with maybe better graphics but i live it all the same. Expand
  5. GautamMahajan
    Apr 22, 2009
    8
    Ok...So I finally finished playing the entire story in under 30 hrs..without the bonuses and secrets....and yes it was a fantastic game...theOk...So I finally finished playing the entire story in under 30 hrs..without the bonuses and secrets....and yes it was a fantastic game...the first srpg i completed and just very very deep and addictive.But more than a fair share of problems popped up.firstly the graphics are truly dated considering the power of the PSP and there is still a lot of slowdown during spells.The story arc went to very infantile in the last few hours and i found the story very difficult to follow because of the sheer number of characters and events.But to be fair,there is a neat chronicle section that can help you rewatch all the awesome new cutscenes and storyline.I also felt the difficulty arc was a joke.the first 8-10 hours i felt like i was going through some sick sadist's idea of a joke.it was THAT hard.i remember having to level grind 8-9 levels more to beat a certain boss character somewhere in the middle of the story line.but after i got a couple of storyline characters and after all the powerlevelling the ending felt like a joke.I beat the final boss in less than 10 minutes counting both forms.Inspite of all this,i still felt it was compelling and very very well made albeit they could have definitely improved it a LOT more in 2007.recommendation for all srpg fans.for people new to srpgs play jeanne d'arc or even ffta first to get the hang of the genre and then come back to fft. Collapse
  6. JakeF-A
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    The original was favorite game ever when it came out ten years ago and I've been addicted to Tactical RPG ever since. However, alot of The original was favorite game ever when it came out ten years ago and I've been addicted to Tactical RPG ever since. However, alot of great TRPGs have come out in those ten years and I'm not sure if it's still tops. I just finished Jeanne D'Arc before playing this and I have to say the graphics there are much more impressive. The job system here is great, and the level of challenge is fantastic (hard) which is what we like. However the game does seem slow and it's so frustrating how hard it is to see what you are doing in the battles! The game really feels a little rushed, or maybe there saving the smoother interface for FFT 2 which comes out soon. Overall I would say great for anyone who hasn't played it, but maybe hold off if you played the original. There's little new here. Also, it must be noted that Disagea and the other NIS games really re-wrote the genre. Expand
  7. HosenmangelWerner
    Sep 29, 2007
    0
    This game is too hard without cheats!

See all 45 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
2
#2 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007