FlatOut: Head On PSP

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    A rag-doll requiem of destruction, so gratuitous that it defies moral probity. Like all the best shock and awe titles, the vice is polished so sweetly you'll barely notice you've gone to hell. [Apr 2008, p.105]
  2. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A stupendous game you really must own, even if you don't like cars. [Apr 2008, p.107]
  3. Games Master UK
    85
    It's no racing revolution but this is solid, playable and highly entertaining. [Apr 2008, p.76]
  4. 85
    It's easily one of the better PSP racers out there, the potent mix of high-speed racing and spectacular crashes setting it apart from the more clean cut thrills found in WipeOut and Ridge Racer.
  5. FlatOut: Head On gives you a lot of enjoyable racing for a portable game.
  6. Yes, technically it’s a port of FlatOut 2, and a pretty belated one at that, but just because it’s the least visually impressive version of the game doesn’t make it the least technically accomplished.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    80
    Between its buckets of content and excellent presentation, FlatOut offers more than enough reasons for extreme race fans to buckle-up for its PSP debut. [May 2008, p.82]
  8. It’s hard not to love a title that piles on all the game modes (including multiplayer) and makes the racing element actually fun.
  9. If you enjoy a taste of destruction and dirty moves in your races, then Head On is the perfect choice.
  10. Aside from the races in FlatOut mode, FlatOut: Head On is one of the most genuinely fun and entertaining racers I've picked up in a long time.
  11. Play UK
    79
    Top visuals, and some lovely particle effects create the illusion of a triple-A title. [Issue#164, p.95]
  12. 77
    The PSP iteration of the franchise has issues with texture resolution, frame rate and, most importantly, the physics fidelity (which affects handling), but none of these issues keep the game from ultimately being a fun ride.
  13. 75
    FlatOut is fun and different enough that it manages to stand out.
  14. FlatOut: Head On follows the same basic formula as the rest of the series, but the PlayStation Portable version is the current definitive package.
  15. Game Informer
    75
    FlatOut manages to plow through wrecked cars and almost anything else in its way, but this problem remains as a last obstacle. [May 2008, p.99]

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2008
#21 Most Shared PSP Game of 2008
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 16, 2016
    8
    Flatout Head On is Flatout Ultimate Carnage on Xbox 360 . I played in Ultimate Carnage and Head On . In Flatout Head On good graphics for PSPFlatout Head On is Flatout Ultimate Carnage on Xbox 360 . I played in Ultimate Carnage and Head On . In Flatout Head On good graphics for PSP game and many cars . In this game are many crashes . Flatout Head On one of the best Racing Game on PSP . This is a very good Racing Game and in this game there is a good career and there are trucks . 8/10 . Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rateThe game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10 Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    The game could have been a bit better. For me the killer point is frame rate. it is sluggish and jumps up and down. Damaging a car is not asThe game could have been a bit better. For me the killer point is frame rate. it is sluggish and jumps up and down. Damaging a car is not as ps2 or pc versions. It is simpified here but still good. Full Review »