• Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Oct 26, 2005
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZemZega
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    GitS is a step up from Coaded Arms & a fun game, cut scense are a little bland but the campain is loads of fun & the mulityplayer is the best i've played on the PSP. the load times are a tad long but still within aceptable lines. My biggest qualm with this game was that you need two copes to play multiplay without ergecting the disk
  2. LyleB.
    Nov 9, 2005
    8
    It's a fun game, definitely feels a little rushed and unpolished though. It is better than Coded Arms. Gamespy's "lame story" comment is ridiculous. The game's story is VERY similar to watching an episode of the anime, of which I am a pretty big fan. The lock-on feature makes the PSP's controls workout alright, but they are still a bit clunky. I'm not sure a It's a fun game, definitely feels a little rushed and unpolished though. It is better than Coded Arms. Gamespy's "lame story" comment is ridiculous. The game's story is VERY similar to watching an episode of the anime, of which I am a pretty big fan. The lock-on feature makes the PSP's controls workout alright, but they are still a bit clunky. I'm not sure a non-anime fan would care for it - you probably won't mind the gameplay, but the cutscenes will just seem wierd to you if you're not into the genre. Bottom line - If you are an anime fan, you'll probably like it, but wish it spent a little more time getting cleaned up before shipping. Oh - and the load times (and frequent amount of loading in general) stink. But that seems to be a PSP thing, hopefully someone will start figuring out how to fix that in future games. Expand
  3. EdmondD.
    Jul 25, 2008
    9
    It was a good game. The plot for this game is reminiscent of the anime, which is a plus for fans of the anime. I don't mind the load times at all, although they could be a hassle if you are in a hurry. The controls take a little while to get used to, but I found it easy to learn.
  4. PaulC
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    Wow! They finally made a good fps on the psp. This game is light years ahead of Coded Arms. The environments are large and wide open. The level design is what really sets this game apart. Great variety in all the levels and the lock on feature for aiming really works well. If you are looking for an fps on the psp,you can't go wrong with Ghost in the Shell.
  5. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    A fun first person shooter, varying missions, lots of weapons, an interesting story told with lots of cutscenes and good voice acting. The Tachikoma Robot that can be comanded and even piloted by the player is a nice addition not commonly found in other games of this genre. Use of cover, caution, stealth and the right choice of weapons will get the job done. Charging in with guns blazingA fun first person shooter, varying missions, lots of weapons, an interesting story told with lots of cutscenes and good voice acting. The Tachikoma Robot that can be comanded and even piloted by the player is a nice addition not commonly found in other games of this genre. Use of cover, caution, stealth and the right choice of weapons will get the job done. Charging in with guns blazing will usually get you killed quickly unless you are piloting your heavily armed & armored Tachikoma buddy. Graphics are nice, (gun) sounds could have been done a bit better. Controls are ok (game is playable even without auto-aim) I liked it, and i'm not a fan of the anime :-) Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    This game was fun.For fans of the anime,this game is portable and versatile and will provide players with the same voice acting and quality like the anime and can compliment it's PS2 counterpart.Overall,this game will hook you and keep you playing till the end. Bandai keep up the good work!! 10/10
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Precise aiming on the run is a little dicey on the PSP, and the loading times can be extraneous, but it's a small price to pay to get Motoko and company into your mobile unit. [Oct 2005]
  2. 62
    The gameplay isn't smart, the customizing RPG elements aren't very complex, and the story isn't presented with the kind of flair that Shirow Masamune's manga has inspired in film, on TV, or even in previous videogames.
  3. Holy Crap! Someone actually made an FPS game on teh PSP work. [Dec 2005, p.139]