God of War: Chains of Olympus PSP

God of War: Chains of Olympus Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 592 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 PSP Game of the Year] Unleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa,[Metacritic's 2008 PSP Game of the Year] Unleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa, Cyclops, the Hydra and more, while solving intricate puzzles in breathtaking environments. Driven by pure revenge, nothing can stop Kratos from achieving absolution. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. 100
    The PSP hasn’t yet seen a game with this much polish, this much visual punch, or this much bloody satisfaction. Everything feels meaty, be it the clash of weapon on flesh or the substantial amount of gameplay depth and environmental design. Not only is Chains of Olympus a worthy addition to the God of War franchise, it also stands on its own as a triple-A title in the PSP library.
  2. AceGamez
    100
    God of War: Chains of Olympus takes almost everything that's awesome about its older siblings, including the sex scene mini-game, which has become a series standard, and miniaturized it to fit on the PSP.
  3. It really can't be overstated how much of a technical accomplishment this really is.
  4. God of War: Chains of Olympus is a fantastic game and a worthy addition to any PSP owner’s collection.
  5. Ready at Dawn have done an admirable job of mimicking everything that made the action of the series so great.
  6. God of War: Chains of Olympus will probably not bring much change to the franchise. This games reaches a high level when it comes to PSP standards. Although the game has a weak storyline and a few bugs, it feels glorious to play.
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    At the halfway mark, Chains is so tremendous, striking an almost perfect beat of difficulty spikes, weapon upgrades and stupendous visual reveals, that you have to question its endurance. And, sadly, it flounders right on cue. [Apr 2008, p.92]

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 89
  2. Negative: 5 out of 89
  1. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated very beneficially which makes the combat easy to pick up and play and the amount of depth you get is enormous. Some may say it's too short or it lacks the craft of its PS2 bretherans but those are absurd remarks. Ready at Dawn have provided a masterpiece. As for the action, I wouldn't have it any other way. Expand
  2. JohnY.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. Perhaps the best game for psp. Along with Final Fantasy Crisis Core. Don't listen to all these guys whining about This game is amazing. Perhaps the best game for psp. Along with Final Fantasy Crisis Core. Don't listen to all these guys whining about the controls. OF COURSE ITS NOT GOING TO PLAY LIKE A PS2 GAME FOOLS!!! It's a handheld system with one analog stick. You're just stupid if you don't like this game. Rate the ps2 games and get out of the psp forums. AWESOME GAME. Expand
  3. BrendanM.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game on the psp, with stunning graphics and an amazing story line.
  4. SixDemonBag
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games on PSP hands down. I bought this game and was shocked how close to a PS2 experience I recieved. It didn't This is one of the best games on PSP hands down. I bought this game and was shocked how close to a PS2 experience I recieved. It didn't feel like a handheld at all, the only difference from the console versions was the difficulty, which was a bit easier and had less tedious sections for Chains of Olympus. On top of all that the story, while not vital to the series, was engaging and addicting. This game is proof of why God of War is awsome. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    i love god of war. i just wanted to get that out of the way. i got this game not 1 day ago and it lags like nothing else. i mean it doesn'ti love god of war. i just wanted to get that out of the way. i got this game not 1 day ago and it lags like nothing else. i mean it doesn't break the game or ruin the experience but its majorly distracting. but everything else is good! Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2016
    8
    Game: God of War Chains of Olympus
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Sony/Ready at Dawn System: Playstation Portable (PSP) Total Score: 80/100
    Game: God of War Chains of Olympus
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Sony/Ready at Dawn
    System: Playstation Portable (PSP)
    Total Score: 80/100
    Value Score: 8/10

    • Story: 7/10
    • Characters: 7/10
    • GamePlay: 8/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 7/10
    • Length: 6/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 9/10

    Pros
    +Puzzles were well made
    +Visuals max out the platform's most potential
    +Gameplay is well balanced and modified for portable experience
    +Post game content consists of harder difficulties, challenges, costumes and developer videos

    Cons
    -Very Short, takes at least 5 hours
    -Very small amount of boss battles
    -Controls can be somewhat frustrating due to the PSP's analog
    Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    0
    All of the hype and great ratings brought me towards the game and the horrible system and simple bosses brought me away from the PSP. SimplyAll of the hype and great ratings brought me towards the game and the horrible system and simple bosses brought me away from the PSP. Simply said, this game offered no challenge and the random sex scene in the game proved to be pointless. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.

Awards & Rankings

1
2
#2 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2008
1
#1 Most Shared PSP Game of 2008